We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Whales and Dolphins

Save Saved
You added Hotel Whales and Dolphins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Whales and Dolphins
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Km. Sur de Playa Dominical, Jardines del Morete | Uvita de Osa 1 Puntarenas, Uvita 4030, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Uvita B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but experienced a wonderful time at the bar and restaurant. Johnny greeted us and introduced himself before he took our drink order. The kids played in the pool while we enjoyed the sunset and spectacular view of the Whale's Tail at Marine Ballena down below. We had such a great happy hour, we decided to stay for dinner. The food, service, view and experience was wonderful. The place is easy to get to up a steep road about 3 minutes from the Coast Highway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

While we did not stay at the hotel we sure did enjoy the restaurant and bar! Very nice people and superior service in the edge of a remote juggle. The property has recently and still is being renovated by own Tim Fenton and family. The property has the feel of luxury with a personal touch. The staff is beyond excellent, friendly, knowledgable. English, no problem.

The view of the Whale Tail sand bar from their mountain top lookout is the best view to be had in Uvita. A cool breeze washes this mountain top all day and the night sky is filed with stars.

The rock road is well maintained and in fact I found it fun. Who wants to be on a paved highway when in the jungle!

If your looking for that special home for retirement or just a get-a-way Tim will be more than happy to show you the properties near by. His legal and major resort management background offers a local view of properties and opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We did not stay here because we prefer smaller resorts but we did go here 2 nights in a row for sunset cocktails. The view is incomparable! The staff was great. We were the only ones in the whole place because we were just before the busy season, but the staff nonetheless made us feel very welcomed. I loved that the staff was taking pictures of the sunset too! Some things in life never grow old. I'm sure you would enjoy a stay here, but you must at least go for sunset.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had no trouble with the road/driveway,but it was dry during our stay. We liked the pool area the best. The view from the room,pool,and grounds was outstanding. The hotel grounds were beautifully landscaped. The nachos and breakfast were delicious (fried eggs a little overdone).
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was great,everything worked well. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: we liked the top floor,great view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

rainy season is a challenge if you want stay in this hotel. it takes a while to get up to the hotel on a slippery road. it was a good hotel but we tought the price was a bit high if you looked at condition the room was in (just some extra look at detail in bath and bedroom)...the view did it all....we got to enjoy it a little befor the rain. the sunbeds were broken..pool was good and again the view did it. staff tryed very hard to make our stay a good one... later on we learned that the owners are doing all they can to make something out off this hotel and they have been working really hard to make it look a lot better than when it did when they started....only two years ago.....i hope that they can focus on the rooms as much as they did on the pool lobby and restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were totally impressed with everything this hotel had to offer. The food was amazing as well as the staff. Johnny is a very attentive member of the truly sincere staff members.
The owners Tim and Tiffany are so accommodating and we will be back.

Room Tip: All units have A/C choose an ocean view and perhaps see some whales from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in this area a few times, this was our first visit to Whales and
Dolphins. We were pleasantly surprised by the amenities,cleanliness, comfort, value, hospitality, as well as the incredible view of Whales Tail. Johnny was especially accommodating, making sure we had an early breakfast ( due to departure flight in San Jose) well before the regular breakfast was available. This hotel will be tops on my list for our next visit to the area,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Whales and Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whales and Dolphins

Address: 17 Km. Sur de Playa Dominical, Jardines del Morete | Uvita de Osa 1 Puntarenas, Uvita 4030, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whales and Dolphins 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is dramatically located on a bluff overlooking Ballena Marina Park, the pacific coast and Cano Island, This national park includes the largest coral reef on the pacific side of Costa Rica. This wildlife sanctuary protects different species of whales and dolphins together with other marine life. We can offer you the best of both worlds: rich rainforest combined with abundant marine life. Walk into the "green world" of immense biodiversity right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Whales and Dolphins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whales And Dolphins Ecolodge
Whales & Dolphins Ecolodge Hotel Uvita
Hotel Whales And Dolphins Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Whales and Dolphins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.