We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Whales and Dolphins

Save Saved
You added Hotel Whales and Dolphins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Whales and Dolphins
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Km. Sur de Playa Dominical, Jardines del Morete | Uvita de Osa 1 Puntarenas, Uvita 4030, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Uvita B&B and Inns
Ojochal,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We ventured to Whales and Dolfins for a coffee and stayed for lunch. Food was good and price reasonable. This property has recently changed owners. Tim and Tiffany a Canadian couple from Ontario have purchased it and are making many improvements; upgrading the rooms, pool area, gardens etc. They are friendly and hospitable and want their guests to have a positive experience. We went back for a wonderful Thanksgiving Buffet dinnner and thoroughly enjoyed it. The view is unbelievable and the sunset has to be seen! Service was great with staff who spoke English.

Mary C

Room Tip: all rooms have spectacular 360 degree of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've been in Costa for a year now. Once you live here you find that friends love to come and visit. Well, during one such visit, we rented a car and drove south. Decided to venture up the road and visit Whales & Dolphins to see what it was about. Really must have a 4 wheel drive to get there. Glad we did not meet any traffic coming down because the road in most places is not wide enough to accommodate two vehicles passing. Once to the top...the view was great. Bought a few beers and sat by the pool bar. Talked to a few folks that said the rooms were not worth the money but the view is killer! I can attest to the view but not to the hotel. Staff at pool bar was nice, prices are expensive but it's on top of a mountain with a $200 view

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Without a doubt, the view from the Wales and Dolphins is the best I have ever experienced. The monkeys, Tucans, and butterflies were a wonderful sight, and I could have spent my entire trip sitting by the pool and looking out over the wale's tail at the ocean. Dolphins were abundant, and the ocean was warm and inviting.

Room Tip: all rooms had ocean view and private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel has a awesome view, the restaurantt is not quite good, and the rooms not so fancy

I really love the view though, so prefer it than other hotels in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I always read review & think "get a grip people" but this place was tired , in poor shape and the manager was a joke. The staff was great & deserved a better manager. We arrived to a room that was like a blast furnace when we opened the door. The lamp shade was ripped & hanging off. Picture frames were broken,water stains on walls, a/c leaked so bad we had to put a waste pail under it & then a towel to soften the noise. The manager walked around with his shirt off smiling ,what a putz!!!!, he should have been checking room conditions & maybe turning ac's on if he knew guests were arriving.ECO lodge NOT!What a joke. (If you want to visit a real ECO lodge go to Savegre Mountain Lodge...we stayed here earlier & it was beyond our wildest expectations. ) Receptionist at Whales & dolphins didn't know a thing about booking tours, couldn't speak English, she was really sweet though. We felt sorry for the staff as they were great & deserved a better place to work at.Food was NOT 4 star , after 1 meal we ate all our meals out in town , those were all great.

Room Tip: Go to Savagre Mt. Lodge o experience a real ECO lodge.To the other owner in Argentina- get a real ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orotina, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Having stayed at Cusinga Eco Lodge nearby this was considerably different. This is not particularly "Eco", it's a hotel with great views, but don't expect nature trails or much in the way of and "Eco" message. There are birds and animals galore but that's because of where they are rather than any special effort on their part. The rooms are adequate but a bit tired and maintenance is haphazard. A water leak in the room above us took 24 hours to fix, thank heavens it was coming down onto the balcony not into the room! I stood next to the wi-fi router on my block and got no useable signal! The principal problem when we were there was the level of staffing. One poor girl was manfully (womanfully?) trying to wait on all the tables in the restaurant and run the bar at the same time. Luckily for her the food in the restaurant was poor (mine was overcooked and uninspired the only time I tried it, a friend said her pasta was adequate) so very few people went back a second time. She was there until late at night and turned up, bleary eyed but cheerful at 7 am for breakfast where, again, she was alone. Breakfast was okay but not brilliant. There were other staff about but they were very thin on the ground. They were far more friendly and helpful than we had a right to expect, given they seemed to be terribly overworked. In summary - the view was fantastic, the pool was lovely (helped by the view) the employees were really nice despite all the problems they had, but resources seem to be a problem and standards suffered accordingly. I couldn't reccomend it as it stands today.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Simeulue, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Indeed, the view is spectacular, the room was very satisfactory, the staff is very friendly (but also very slow), but the manager really ruined our stay! She does not speak one word of English so the receptionist had to translate our (very serious) complaint but she didn't seem to bother at all, very annoying. The food is average. And although we had a deal with the receptionist to stay for 2 extra hours after the normal check out time (mind you, we were the only 2 guests in the hotel at the time), they tried to charge us 50 USD for the extra 2 hours. This was never mentioned in advance so we did not pay the extra amount. This really topped it off for us, we stayed in 10 different hotels in Costa Rica but this was without a doubt, the worst experience ever!

Room Tip: first building, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Whales and Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whales and Dolphins

Address: 17 Km. Sur de Playa Dominical, Jardines del Morete | Uvita de Osa 1 Puntarenas, Uvita 4030, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whales and Dolphins 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is dramatically located on a bluff overlooking Ballena Marina Park, the pacific coast and Cano Island, This national park includes the largest coral reef on the pacific side of Costa Rica. This wildlife sanctuary protects different species of whales and dolphins together with other marine life. We can offer you the best of both worlds: rich rainforest combined with abundant marine life. Walk into the "green world" of immense biodiversity right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Whales and Dolphins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whales And Dolphins Ecolodge
Whales & Dolphins Ecolodge Hotel Uvita
Hotel Whales And Dolphins Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Whales and Dolphins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.