We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay and discover Uvita and surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Ballena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalows Ballena
Save
You added Bungalows Ballena to your Saves list
300 m North from Marino ballena National Park | Bahia, 100 metros sur del restaurante Los Delfines, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Oranjestad, Aruba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful place to stay and discover Uvita and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very nice, clean and luxury bungalows to enjoy and relax. A great swimming pool with seats inside. Nice patio's with BBQ were we enjoyed some lovely evenings.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

Don't forgot to make a horseback ride with the nice neighbor through the woods and over the beach. We saw monkeys and toucans and we had a very nice swim at a beautiful Poule at a waterfall.

We would love to come back sometimes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were a party of eight adults and two children (two and five years) who rented a bungalow and the apartment. Both were better than expected, bungalow with full kitchen and cozy veranda where we all got a place to dine. The hotel area was small but well planned with a playground and swimming pool with water slide which the kids loved. We were well received and everyone was very nice and helpful. Located just a few hundred meters from the entrance to Marino Ballena National Park with a beautiful beach with calm waves where even the kids could swim. We are very pleased!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

Great lodging and great people, I reccommend Ballena Bungalows to families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the bungalows in May 2011. Our two boys (6 & 8yrs ) loved the pool, the slide and Adrian the owner. The bungalow was spacious, very clean and had lovely hand crafted locally made furnishings. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could need. We made delicious fresh mango smoothies every morning with the blender provided. We planned to stay 1 night on our way to Irazu volcano and ended up staying 3 nights, we would have stayed longer if we were not coming to the end of our trip. We wished we would have had the opportunity to use the BBQ patio's around the pool. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great just a couple of minutes walk to the National park with it's beautiful long beach.
We'd love to return some time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent a nice two nights in a huge bungalow. There was a kitchen, living room, and two bedrooms. A lot more than we needed, but we took advantage of the well equipped kitchen and bought some groceries and cooked.

The National Park (and beach) are a short walk away. The hotel was fairly empty, so most of the time we had the pool (which is very nice) to ourselves.

I think it is a good value for a family as there is lots of sleeping space and you can make your own meals. As a couple, it would have been nice to have a bar or restaurant.

Overall, a pleasant surprise though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

+ superb accomodation
+ luxury tv fridge kitchen
+ nice pool open till 10 pm
+ playground

- noisy (especially apartment, which is in same building as reception) noisy because everthing is made of wood and swimming pool is open till 10 pm
- waterslide too fast for children beneath 8 yr.
- parking lot, sometimes transformed in garage or car wash by and for staff en local people
- is it normal that staff is using swimming pool as well??

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalows Ballena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Ballena

Address: 300 m North from Marino ballena National Park | Bahia, 100 metros sur del restaurante Los Delfines, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bungalows Ballena Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Ballena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.