We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Website is misleading.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Cascada Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cascada Verde to your Saves list
Hostel Cascada Verde
Bejuco | entrada por tanque AyA, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly Cascada Verde Eco lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible. Website is misleading.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This place is not at all like the website they have. My husband and I had one of the worst nights sleep of our lives here due to the ceiling of the room being partially open to the outside. Light from a hallway light kept shining into our room through a large open area above the door making it impossible to sleep. My husband would turn the light off, and then someone would promptly turn it back on. Also, the walls were paper thin. We had to sleep under a bug net which is not the end of the world...it just wasn't what I had expected. We originally booked 2 nights but got out of there after 1 agonizing night. The man at the reception desk was creepy and didn't really speak English. The whole place felt unsafe and weird. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Manager at Hostel Cascada Verde, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guests of Cascada Verde!
We are so sorry that some of you had a bad time at the hostel...
It is under new management now!
We - Julie, Stephan and our daughter Luzie - are your new hosts
and we will do our very best to make your stay at Cascada Verde as wonderful as possible.
It is such a magic spot!
And the website is working now, too...
Please visit us again some day to see if you like it better this time!
All the best,
Julie, Stephan and little Luzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
44
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We totally agree to the previous post of Minnie M. We also booked this lodge in advance via hostelworld and were dissapointed about the current owner/staff which obviously changed during the last year. We booked a private room with bathroom and paid partly in advance but on our arrival only a room with shared bathroom was available and they said hostelworld is responsible for this fault without any apologize. We were there on christmas and booked a 'special' dinner for $30p./P which was served at 22:45 (it was supposed to be around 8p.m.) which we found way too expensive since it was only main dish which was salad an chicken or pork. Also there were people who expected vegetarian food and were not informed about the change.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Manager at Hostel Cascada Verde, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guests of Cascada Verde!
We are so sorry that some of you had a bad time at the hostel...
It is under new management now!
We - Julie, Stephan and our daughter Luzie - are your new hosts
and we will do our very best to make your stay at Cascada Verde as wonderful as possible.
It is such a magic spot!
And the website is working now, too: www.cascadaverde-costarica.com...
Please visit us again some day to see if you like it better this time!
All the best,
Julie, Stephan and little Luzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We see a lot of great reviews of this place (which was the reason we came here), but we experienced that there is a new owner at the Cascada Verde lodge.

First, we would like to emphasize that Cascada Verde is a very nice place with great rooms, a beautiful yoga deck with a nice view and beautiful surroundings. We had a good time the days we were there, but it wasn't as expected. We paid our 7 nights stay in advance, from monday to monday.

We booked a week via hostelworld.com, because if you book a week or longer you get a nice discount. Otherwise we would have only booked for 3-4 days. So we booked a week, and the price was +/- 11 euro per person per night via hostelworld.

Then we saw on the website of Cascada Verde that the week's discount was not valid from 15-31 december, and we had booked from 12-19 december (first 13-20 but we changed our mind to a day earlier). So we emailed the owner to ask whether our reservation was valid for this period. He said it was not valid and because of the high season we have to pay $45 per night for a room. This is almost twice as much as before! But we thought the lodge would be very nice and accepted that the high season prices were much higher.

The whole period we were staying there, there was only one other room occupied out of 11 rooms. We asked why this was the case and the volunteers (really nice guys) answered that the real high season still had to begin. So we felt a little bit weird about paying the higher price. Anyway, this wouldn't have been a problem for us if the stay was as we expected. We expected some things that were on the paper flyer we picked up at a hostel in San Jose, and on the Cascada Verde website. For instance, the flyer and/or website say:

-free daily yoga
-belly dance & meditation classes
-tai-chi & chi kung classes
-massage only $25 an hour
-inexpensive vegetarian meals
-spanish classes available
-permaculture garden

These are all things that were not available at the Cascada Verde. So in our opinion, we paid much more but received less. Therefore, after 4 nights, we decided that we wanted to move on travelling to another place. There were 3 people from the US who left on thursday, at least two days earlier than they planned (but they were smart enough to pay per day). So we are sure we are not the only ones who had a problem with the state of the stay/lodge as it was now. Moreover, half of the time there was no water available. There was no emergency water supply. The kitchen was unhygienic.

So concluding, already on Thursday morning we decided to leave. We asked someone to call the boss to make our complaints but he was constantly not available. Then it was Friday and the people said that the owner was coming to the lodge that day. We decided to wait for this but he did not come at all. So we emailed the owner on Friday to explain the situation. Until now, we haven't received ANY answer to our email, and did not get our money for the 2 last nights back. This is especially disappointing; that things are not going the way they should, we can understand, but the owner not communicating with us at all is insulting to us. Someone in charge should ALWAYS be available in a place like this.

We hope that the new owner will fix these problems and if so, this place definitely has the potential to become a nice retreat place.

If you are looking for a nice room and nothing else: go here. If you are looking for a holistic retreat center: don't go here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, Manager at Hostel Cascada Verde, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guests of Cascada Verde!
We are so sorry that some of you had a bad time at the hostel...
It is under new management now!
We - Julie, Stephan and our daughter Luzie - are your new hosts
and we will do our very best to make your stay at Cascada Verde as wonderful as possible.
It is such a magic spot!
And the website is working now, too...
Please visit us again some day to see if you like it better this time!
All the best,
Julie, Stephan and little Luzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Me and my friend had stayed here for on week in June and it was really fun. The room was very nice. On the first morning we have heard the howler monkeys. It was incredible. But we just have heard them for the first days. The view from the yoga deck is beautiful, you can really see the ocean.
The area around the lodge is so great, You are looking on a lot of great plants, its a view in the Jungle. You can see the howler monkeys, lizards and some frogs. A little nationalpark,
We had here a great time and so much fun. Andres, the owner, was a tourguide in Costa Rica. So he helped us planning our tours and he had a lot of insider information for us.
Its a great place to stay in Uvita.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I had the good fortune of being steered to Cascada Verde in Uvita. This lodge is perched up above the town, nestled within a dense, tropical forest pulsing with life. From my hammock, I could hear a chorus of birds, frogs, toads, and even howler monkeys. The lodge itself is a beautiful piece of architecture. It is wooden, tastefully designed and totally open to the fresh air. The owner, Andres, is lovely and helpful and made me feel at home, as well as hooking me up with a great tour package to Corcovado National Park. If your travels bring you to Uvita, don´t miss this awesome experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We worked near Uvita for the last 2 months, after we finished we decided to stay around here to explore more the area, we found this beautiful lodge recommended by some friends, the place is super clean, hiden in the jungle and just 3 minutes walk from a beautiful waterfall, rooms are rustic and very clean, staff is wonderful, the speak very good english and french, howler monkeys in the morning, tucans flying around, nice fresh water swimming pool, the lowest point is that it is not too close to the beach but you can take a taxi (5 minutes ride), we were very happy we stayed here as we very enjoyed our time.
We are looking forward to come back...
Thank you Guys!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Hi,
my boyfriend and I went to cascada verde and..WE LOVED IT! We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but we stayed for 7! They have very good rates for weekly or monthly stay. It is very quiet, clean, beautiful and surrended by the jungle. You have the cascada Uvita just 3 minutes walk from the lodge, an other one at around 40 minutes walk from the hostel wich is an wonderfull place, the fresh water swimming pool is super nice, they also have a lot of nice and big chilling area just to relax, to read a book,.... It is not next to the beach but it is easy to get a ride. Rooms are very very nice, all in bamboo! And the most important thing, it is very clean! The staff was very helpfull with us, tryed to give us the best recommodation for the rest of our trip.
We ll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Cascada Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cascada Verde

Address: Bejuco | entrada por tanque AyA, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly Cascada Verde Eco lodge)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenidos a Cascada Verde!Welcome to Uvita de Osa!Willkommen in Costa Rica!Cascada Verde is a unique traveler's spot with beautiful rustic rooms (private rooms and shared) - and spectacular jungle views are included! Surrounded by tropical nature, with monkeys and tucans in our garden Cascada Verde offers you a magic, family and eco friendly environment where you will feel like home away from home.Our hostel is ideally located in Uvita: A little up the hill in the middle of the jungle and still only 15 minutes walk from town and 5 minutes walk from a beautiful waterfall plus restaurant! We offer a big and fully equipped communal kitchen, free wifi, plenty of space plus hammocks to chill out and relax, meet new friends from all over the world, play cards, read (book exchange), watch wildlife, enjoy the jungle's sounds...We, a young family from Berlin, Germany, are looking forward to meet all of you very soon!Hasta luego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Cascada Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Cascada Verde Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cascada Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.