We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - basic stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flutterby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flutterby House
Save
You added Flutterby House to your Saves list
150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Gangtok, India
1 review
“Great location - basic stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If your expectation about this place is fancy then the place is not for you. The place is located just a 5 mins walk from the great beach, I am sure you would never get bored and it has a GREAT kitchen.

Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
52
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've been staying at the hostel for two years now. It is the best lodging available in Uvita. Excellent volunteers, friendly owners, great food and drinks. THE great location is one of the best parts about it. There are great rental prices, an awesome yoga teacher named Jessie, they enforce the no smoking policy, are eco friendly, I slept great in Tom's cabin, loft, howler house, and front cabins. Really can't say enough about the place. Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delsbo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a true gem for those who seek a place with good vibrations. A lot of effort is made to make the guests feel safe and surrounded by friendly faces. I loved the fact that there were just one wall in the dorm, moscito nets covered each bed. Super in this climate, where concrete wall rooms gets too hot. They serve organic food for a descent price, there is a bar to hang out in and music is played throughout the awaken hours. I was planning on staying two nights but ended up with a weeks stay! I saw several others doing the same thing. Just a few minutes from the amazing Uvita beach wich is not at all crowded. Surfing is good, snorkling is great when it comes to variety of fish. The bottom is a bit dull, but the fishes are in all colours. In Flutterby you can rent snorkling equipment, bikes and surf boards.

Room Tip: I prefered the dorms without walls, since it is hot in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very big and lush garden with all kinds of dorms and private-huts, everything looks amazing and the owners are doing a great job for the environment. Beach is very nearby (everything else is quite far, but the hostel serves good food and drinks), you can rent bikes and everything is clean (a few cockroaches in our bedroom though). The owners are very nice, although the atmosphere can be a little 'American', if you know what I mean. Which didn't bother us at all, very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Flutterby House is the best hostel I've had the privilege of staying at! Pam and Kim have built an awesome environment for travelers and surrounded themselves with an excellent staff to support their next-level hostel. There's tons of activities and lots of great people to make your stay incredible. Also, if you get a chance, take a surf lesson with Rama - he's an outstanding teacher.

Room Tip: Can't beat staying in a tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Cascada Verde was a weird one for us. The great reviews inspired us to visit this hostel in the middle of nowhere for some tranquility. The volunteers are really sweet but they have a click forming where they socialize together away from all the backpackers, partying the night away on their private deck. The grounds are beautiful, and are close to the beach, but they are really far from any grocery stores. They do have a restaurant and a communal kitchen which is great. We stayed in the tree house which was sweet. I do praise their environmentally friendly practices, I think that's great.

Room Tip: The treehouse was cute, and more private as there are only 3 beds up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to stay in Costa Rica, this is the place! All of the staff are extremely friendly and all speak English, so there is no worry if your Spanish is a bit rusty! Although it is a bit hot, this place is the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flutterby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flutterby House

Address: 150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flutterby House, Hostel by the Sea is a hostel located 18km south of Dominical, Costa Rica at the edge of Marino Ballena National Park. Treehouses, cabins and dorm rooms are spread over our property giving it the feel of The Swiss Family Robinson Movie meets The Ewok Village. We are 5 minutes walking from the beach and are sustainable and eco-friendly. The Flutterby House is so named because we believe people need and appreciate a home away from home. Long-term travelers and short-term vacationers alike come here and feel safe and comfortable and are able to rejuvenate while also exploring all our beautiful slice of the planet has to offer. Hammocks suspended between mango trees, indoor and outdoor lounge spaces, a well-stocked and open kitchen, bouldering wall, and slack line are all available on site. As well as edible gardens, surfboard rentals and lessons, bicycle rentals and our new Flutterbar!! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flutterby House Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flutterby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.