We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, upbeat hostel by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flutterby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flutterby House
Save
You added Flutterby House to your Saves list
150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A cozy, upbeat hostel by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Flutterby House is just about the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The dorms, kitchen, and bathrooms were impeccably clean and well-equipped. What make this place special are all the extras--sofas, library, games, ping pong, slackline, bike rentals, in-house bar with well-priced drinks, and best of all, towels are free to borrow! The hostel is less than five minutes walking from the beach, perfectly situated for exploring the Whale Tail sandbar. The staff was also exceptional--super knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Mike and Holly treated us like family, and everyone genuinely cared that we had a great stay. I recommend this place to everyone looking for a safe and comfortable place to stay in Uvita.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
64
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Flutterby was a cool experience, treehouses are fun to climb up into. The rooms were clean for what they were but bugs were everywhere. We had a mosquito net with a big gap in it and be it my imagination or not, I felt like ants were all over me throughout the night. Most hostels we have loved and made some cool friends and acquaintances but here we did not feel very welcome into the "group" of staff who ran the place. Things I enjoyed: scenery and close beach walk. Hammocks and a few fun activities for entertainment (wire walk and ping pong).

Things I wasn't impressed with: the unwelcoming vibe, bathrooms and showers all disconnected from rooms, and bugs were unavoidable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I planned to stay just one night at Flutterby House, but just had to extend our stay.
You feel good the moment you arrive there and you feel surrounded by like souls and nature. We woke with the birds and listened to the magic of their song combined with the haunting sound of the howler monkeys going by in the jungle just outside of the property. We went whale watching and swam in the warm, healthy sea. Took long walks in peace and quiet. We ate excellent organic food from the farmer's market nearby. We slept like babies in our tree house. You will want to extend your stay, too, and be tempted to never leave this very special place on the planet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent two nights at Flutterby. This place is so super cute, clean, cheap and fun. The staff are friendly, the vibe is amazing. It is very close to one of the prettiest beaches we have seen in Costa Rica. Expect to make many new friends from around the globe. This is definitely a place we can recommend and will never forget!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

They were full when we arrived but let us camp under cover! We had the best time lounging in the beautiful gardens on hammocks! We think we were spoilt a bit as we never found accomodation like it in the rest of our 5 week trip! Their recycling, cleanliness and ability to cater for your every need is exceptional, we cannot comment on the rooms as we camped but we were made extremely welcome and spent most evenings propping up the bar! A fabulously friendly and beautiful place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here while in Uvita and it is by far the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed! The kitchen was Great even had staples avviable to use which is so nice! Nice property and maintained immaculate and the staff was very nice and helpful. Really cool dorm rooms treehouses lots of showers! Great beach a nice waterfall near by to ride the bike and hike to. Bike and surfboards to rent close to a market and ATM. If your planning on viewing Uvita this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Walk on the whales tail at low tide, see a sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We knew an architect once named Malcolm Wells who spoke passionately about sharing the Earth with other species. Flutterby is an eco village that strikes a happy and soul nourishing balance with nature. You know that for sure when the howler monkeys pass through the trees overhead at dawn, singing in a voice that might come from the depths of the planet. In the true spirit of Costa Rica, it's also a peace village, where people come from all over the world to share the spirit of goodness that unites us, if we give it a chance.
The nearby beach is free and magnificent, but if you are there in late summer or early fall, do splurge on a whale watching trip, as we did. We will treasure our memories from the few days at Flutterby. Also, the staff was incredibly caring and helpful. Well done!

Room Tip: Tom's cabin has its own kitchen. We shopped at the nearby Uvita organic farmer's market on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flutterby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flutterby House

Address: 150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flutterby House, Hostel by the Sea is a hostel located 18km south of Dominical, Costa Rica at the edge of Marino Ballena National Park. Treehouses, cabins and dorm rooms are spread over our property giving it the feel of The Swiss Family Robinson Movie meets The Ewok Village. We are 5 minutes walking from the beach and are sustainable and eco-friendly. The Flutterby House is so named because we believe people need and appreciate a home away from home. Long-term travelers and short-term vacationers alike come here and feel safe and comfortable and are able to rejuvenate while also exploring all our beautiful slice of the planet has to offer. Hammocks suspended between mango trees, indoor and outdoor lounge spaces, a well-stocked and open kitchen, bouldering wall, and slack line are all available on site. As well as edible gardens, surfboard rentals and lessons, bicycle rentals and our new Flutterbar!! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flutterby House Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flutterby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.