We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refduge

Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refduge
Km. 159 Costanera Sur, Uvita, Costa Rica
+(506) 2743-8032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Activities in Uvita
Type: Equestrian Trails
Attraction Details
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm not a horse back rider, but this was a very cool experience. We "walked" to the beach and then let the horse run a little along the beach. A little scarry for a first timer but exhilirating. Our guide stopped, scaled a coconut tree and brought down a couple coconuts to drink. I'd strongly suggest doing this.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Horses are well cared for.
Guide was great (Evaristo)..and very knowledgeable!
Beach is pristine, and fantastic for riding.
I'll do this again!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

the tour was really organize, quiet, horses are nice, the tour was just amazing and relaxing, our tour guy Evaristo was friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must do-sunset ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took the sunset ride through the ranch and saw momkeys and then out to the beach to watch the sunset. Simply spectacular! Returned to the ranch under the light of a full moon. It was all picture perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not much to look at...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The horses that we rode were not the most pretty or fancy, but they were happy and healthy. We rode 20 minutes on a trail to the beach, through pastures and a pond. Our horses happily went through the mud with no hesitation. We heard parrots and saw an iguana and some birds. As soon as we got to the beach, our horses wanted to run. We walked and trotted through the water, and then cantered and galloped along the sand. Our horses were Riela, a small grey mare and Gitano, a pinto gelding. Our horses had a lot of fun cantering and galloping. My daughter Clara and I raced along the beach. It was so much fun! Our horses were scruffy but happy. After we rode back, we were allowed to help put the horses away. My horse crazy daughter got to hose off her pony. They gave us free cookies and lemonade as part of the tour. Again, our horses looked like scruffy old horses who would just plod along, but they were great and well trained without being "push button". The horses do not look like they belong in the show ring, but they are happy, healthy, sound, and love to run.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refduge also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refduge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refduge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.