We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the horses run!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho La Merced

Rancho La Merced
Refugio de Vida Silvestre, Uvita, Costa Rica
50627714582
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 19 activities in Uvita
Type: Equestrian Trails
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Let the horses run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic horseback ride in the surf of Playa Hermosa as the sunset. Beach was empty enough that we could let our horses gallop. Hector was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable and low-key. We saw howler monkeys, toucans, and a parrot just en route to the beach. On the way back, our horses walked us through pastures that were ablaze with the tiny lights of lightning bugs. Just sublime. I'll never forget it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must!!! Amazing tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Thank you Rancho La Merced for our amazing horseback tour! My family of 18 went on a tour with them and all of us loved it! We first rode through the jungle/rain forest then finished our tour riding on the beach. The horses were very well behaved. We had 2 young children riding and they had a blast! I have been on horseback riding tour in other places but this was my favorite it was so beautiful and relaxing. The tour guides were very nice and friendly. They even allowed us to feed the horses bananas that we had brought after we were done with our tour. Thank you for such an amazing tour! Muchas Gracias!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The staff at Rancho La Merced are the best I have experienced with determining experience and skill level as they assign each guest a horse. My daughter-in-law, 8 year old granddaughter and I enjoyed a leisurely ride (along with two other guests and our guide) to the waterfalls. The swim in the waterfalls area was so refreshing and the scenery was spectacular.

I fully expected my granddaughter to be ready for the ride to end within 15 minutes of starting out but she made the entire trip without any hesitation even when going into the river! She will never forget this trip!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great horse riding tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have booked this horse riding tour through Cabinas Los Laureles. We could choose between two tours, one along the sea, one into the mountains. We chose the beach tour which was very nice. The horses are in good shape and are well taken care of. Also helpful guides.

Visited: November 2010

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience for riding and seeing birds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We rode to a waterfall through a primary forest. Not only was it cool and pleasant, but we saw some incredible birds thanks to the observant eyes of our guide, Heraldo. We saw a spectacled owl, a beautiful 3 meter snake, a very large green iguana, a red-capped manakin, a blue-crowned manakin, and a violaceous trogan, not to mention the beautiful butterflies and insects! The horses appeared clean, well fed and healthy! It was a great experience! We highly recommend it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho La Merced also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rancho La Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho La Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.