We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect canyoning experience with amazing guides!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Canyoning

Costa Canyoning
Highway 34, Uvita, Costa Rica
506 8309 3747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 activities in Uvita
Type: Canyons
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We here at Costa Canyoning are stoked to share with you an experience of a life time! Come rappel 6 different breathtaking waterfalls down our warm tropical canyon! With over 12 years of international Canyon guiding experience, we know how to get you down fun and Safe! "probably, The Best waterfall tour in Costa Rica"
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect canyoning experience with amazing guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently went on a canyoning tour with Scotti and crew in Dominical, Costa Rica. We had an amazing time! It was a perfect mix of adventure and sight seeing and a great way to discover all the beauty that Costa Rica has to offer. The waterfalls were amazing just to look at, but it was so cool to be able to use them as our little play ground.

Scotti and crew were so much fun and made us feel so comfortable. They were well organized and they put safety first. They took photos through out our adventure too and even made a CD for us! At one point, my sister needed a little extra help and Scotti and crew were super supportive and talked her through the obstacle. And we all had an exceptional time!

We ended the trip with a quick dip in the river, some home made salsa, fresh pineapple and a refreshing beer. They really thought of everything!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff is so fun! Bob and Fujiyama-san thank you for the great time. Price is $90 pp and is well worth it. several water fall repells. I think the highest rapell was around 75 feet. The canyon is beautiful and the people make you laugh. Meeting point is in at Adventure sports in Uvita. It is just off the main highway may be 50 feet. There are ATVs around the building.

Salsa and beer after! Then they give you a photo CD.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and Exhilarating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were looking for a unique adventure in Costa Rica and Costa Canyoning did not disappoint. Our intimate tour included just the two of us and our guides Bob and Fujimoto, who were knowledgeable, patient and so much fun. Having never rappelled before, they offered training and coaching down a series of six waterfalls, the tallest and last being over 80 feet in height There were some tough parts of both the rappel as well as through the “boulder scrambling” so make sure to wear clothes that can get wet and dry quickly as well as good sport sandals that provide solid traction. The trip was topped off a dip in the swimming hole and a slide down a natural waterslide. Upon returning to their office, we were offered fresh pineapple, chips & salsa and beers, a great way to top off an awesome morning. And we can relive our memories with the fabulous photo CD they gave us! A must do in Uvita!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Exploring, Great Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our 5th method of exploring the jungle... we loved going down the riverbed, over rocks and stones, down waterfalls and cliffs, across bowls of cool water. With no trail, and only accessible this way, the experience is intimate and the most isolated we felt in Costa Rica. Highly recommend it as an alternative to the other methods (foot, horse, 4x4 quad, and even the zip line)... by far!
p.s. Bob is the Bomb. Even though he is a Hokie.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
2 reviews
“a definite 5 rating from the NYers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Scotti, Bob and Fujimoto.. yes Fujimoto..... were amazing guides for our canyoning experience. They met us and gave us a run down of the day. We then hopped in to a 1970's land cruiser and headed to the canyoning site. We repelled down 5 different waterfalls. I personally am a bit scared of heights but Bob was there to lead me down step by step until I got it! The canyons were beautiful and the water was perfect. Scotti and Bob really got to know us and were great to hang out with for the day.
The last waterfall was the best. You repel through the waterfall and it's just an amazing experience. Our last stop was a water hole that had a natural water slide. It's was a ton of fun. When we got back to "camp" we were given freshly made salsa, pineapple and beer. Great way to end off our amazing canyoning experience

They also give you a CD of all the pictures they take throughout the day!

We loved EVERY second of the day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Canyoning also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Costa Canyoning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Canyoning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costa Canyoning to your Saves list