We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Exhilarating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Canyoning

Costa Canyoning
Highway 34 | 600 Meters East of Bcr at Suenos Tranquilos Hotel, Uvita, Costa Rica
+506 8309 3747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Activities in Uvita
Type: Canyons, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We here at Costa Canyoning are stoked to share with you an experience of a life time! Come descend 6 different breathtaking waterfalls down our warm tropical canyon! With over 12 years of international Canyon guiding experience, we know how to get you down fun and Safe! "Probably, The Best waterfall tour in Costa Rica"
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and Exhilarating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were looking for a unique adventure in Costa Rica and Costa Canyoning did not disappoint. Our intimate tour included just the two of us and our guides Bob and Fujimoto, who were knowledgeable, patient and so much fun. Having never rappelled before, they offered training and coaching down a series of six waterfalls, the tallest and last being over 80 feet in height There were some tough parts of both the rappel as well as through the “boulder scrambling” so make sure to wear clothes that can get wet and dry quickly as well as good sport sandals that provide solid traction. The trip was topped off a dip in the swimming hole and a slide down a natural waterslide. Upon returning to their office, we were offered fresh pineapple, chips & salsa and beers, a great way to top off an awesome morning. And we can relive our memories with the fabulous photo CD they gave us! A must do in Uvita!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Exploring, Great Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our 5th method of exploring the jungle... we loved going down the riverbed, over rocks and stones, down waterfalls and cliffs, across bowls of cool water. With no trail, and only accessible this way, the experience is intimate and the most isolated we felt in Costa Rica. Highly recommend it as an alternative to the other methods (foot, horse, 4x4 quad, and even the zip line)... by far!
p.s. Bob is the Bomb. Even though he is a Hokie.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
2 reviews
“a definite 5 rating from the NYers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Scotti, Bob and Fujimoto.. yes Fujimoto..... were amazing guides for our canyoning experience. They met us and gave us a run down of the day. We then hopped in to a 1970's land cruiser and headed to the canyoning site. We repelled down 5 different waterfalls. I personally am a bit scared of heights but Bob was there to lead me down step by step until I got it! The canyons were beautiful and the water was perfect. Scotti and Bob really got to know us and were great to hang out with for the day.
The last waterfall was the best. You repel through the waterfall and it's just an amazing experience. Our last stop was a water hole that had a natural water slide. It's was a ton of fun. When we got back to "camp" we were given freshly made salsa, pineapple and beer. Great way to end off our amazing canyoning experience

They also give you a CD of all the pictures they take throughout the day!

We loved EVERY second of the day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Sheer fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like to explore and are up for adventure this trip is amazing!! Scotti and Bob were experienced and cautious guides who helped you gain confidence as you bouldered down river and rappelled down a series of six waterfalls in the Costa Rican jungle, ending up in a great swimming hole with a natural water slide. The heat and humidity of the jungle are offset by the refreshing water. The scenery was spectacular. The guides blended fun and safety. There is no better way to explore a river!! This was sheer adventure!! Exhilarating fun! Great Valentines Day activity to do with my adult kids (24,32 & 35). When the day is over you will want to sign up to go again the next day!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“What an adventure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you to Scottie, Bob, Fujimoto and Cisco. We had an amazing time with you guys on this trip. The canyon is majestic and the repelling is extreme. This trip is the perfect combination of adventure and tranquility. You truly are working in paradise. Thank you again for the great memories. And if I’m not mistaken this should be review #100. Happy Pizza Party Bob =)

Adam&Christine

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Canyoning also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Costa Canyoning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Canyoning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.