We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people and a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodhi Surf School

Bodhi Surf School
La Flor de Bahia, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
506 8712 8919
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 19 activities in Uvita
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bodhi Surf School offers surf lessons and clinics, yoga classes, vacations, and retreats for individuals, families, and small groups. Our goal is to teach you the theory, proper technique, and safety to have you surfing or doing yoga independently. Bodhi Surf is committed to incorporating sustainable business practices into our everyday operations. We love to share information on our area, both on the community of Bahia Ballena and the Marino Ballena National Park where we give our lessons. We also offer service learning for organized student groups interested in finding out more about Costa Rica. Above all, we aim to “awaken your inner surfer” and provide you with unique experiences that you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“great people and a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We centred our holiday to Costa Rica around 5 days of surfing and yoga with Bodhi. From prompt, helpful, and friendly responses (via Skype and email) before our trip, custom and frequent itinerary changes while we were in CR, to fantastic surfing and yoga sessions, Bodhi was wonderful.
Gibran got us both standing on our boards on the first day and offered great tips and advice through all the sessions. With the warm water, beautiful scenery, and friendly teaching, we really enjoyed the surfing, hanging out, and chats on the sea. It felt like we were being taken out to surf by a patient, experienced, friend who wanted to share an activity he loved with us.
With one of us certified as a yoga teacher and the other a complete yoga novice, we thought the yoga sessions with Pilar might be a bit difficult to plan. However, set in the most beautiful yoga "studio"/platform, we both got a lot out of the sessions. Pilar teaches lovely, gentle sequences (great when you're a bit stiff in the shoulders from surfing), has a good knowledge of alignment and theory, adds a touch of yoga philosophy (which so few teachers do), and makes each session varied enough to make each session a different experience. The home-mixed essential oil neck massage is a great touch too! She was also amazing with organising add-on activities and itinerary changes on a seemingly daily basis throughout our stay.
Travis has been working with local organisations and initiatives for nearly a decade. We really appreciated having a chance to speak with him about some of the questions nagging us and getting a perspective on things from someone who has been a part of the Uvita and broader Osa community's development.
Other than the above, what made Bodhi stand out for us were the team's genuine interest in making sure we had a great time, their warmth and friendliness, their professionalism while maintaining a low key atmosphere, and their particular interest in pairing with and supporting initiatives that have a true social and/or environmental benefit. With "eco" and "sustainable" terms being bandied about, especially in CR, Bodhi really puts in an effort to avoid "greenwashing" initiatives.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achandrahuff, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much, iming l, for sharing your experience with us in the Costa Ballena area. We had a great time hanging out with you guys: doing yoga, surfing, talking about what you guys are doing/ what we are doing/life, etc. We are so glad that you had a special experience here and sincerely hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, keep on surfing and yoga-ing!

-Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great surfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As a costa Rican I love surfing.While Surfing with Travis I have learned many skillfull moves and have improved a lot since my last classes.If you are looking for a adventure and a great time you got to come surf with Travis.Cheers

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We really appreciate your positive vibes felipe g. Teaching you how to surf is pure pleasure and we hope you come back again and again as you have in the past. It is great to see you make such great progress. Keep in touch and let us know when you'll be around this part of Costa Rica again. Thanks so much! - Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platanillo, Costa Rica
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really helpful, and really fun. Not to mention, you can't beat the location. Can't wait to get out in the surf again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We were stoked to have you join in on some group surf lessons Eve B! We also appreciate your volunteer work with Marino Ballena National Park officials and hope to see you in the water again! Thanks for the positive energy! All the best from Team Bodhi Surf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Terrific Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I am an old dude (66) and never been surfing, so I ventured in with my two 30-something daughters. Travis was patient and encouraging, and I had a marvelous time. I would love to do the surfing again. Not only did we do the surfing, but Travis is a community-minded entrepreneur, and we did a two hour community tour the same afternoon. I would highly recommend the brief but interesting exposure to the community.
Travis and his wife, Pillar, also helped plan our entire week in the Uvita area. We did a marvelous one day adventure on horseback to a gorgeous waterfalls, and another day did snorking and a nature hike with Bahia Aventuras. Both were amazing experiences. Pillar and Travis' suggestions and planning made all the difference for our family having an amazing experience in the Uvita area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you Dennis W for your inspiring words! Surfing with you and the family was a wonderful experience. We really appreciate your interest in learning more about the community and enjoyed planning and coordinating your other tours in the area. We are so happy to learn that our suggestions and planning made all the difference for your family having an amazing experience. See you again next year!!! Cheers to all! - Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent morning surfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I had a great time during our surf lesson with Bodhi Surf. My wife had surfed a few years back in Costa Rica and San Diego, but this was my first attempt. We both were up and surfing in just a few minutes. Travis was a great instructor and very patient with us. He even gave a great dinner recommendation (BBQ Chicken pizza at La Fogata).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Raiderjake for visiting us! We enjoyed surfing with you, chatting about life and learning about your great work back home. Keep up the great surfing and let us know when you'll be back out to Costa Rica for some more tropical water and waves. All the best - Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi Surf School also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bodhi Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodhi Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.