We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent morning surfing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodhi Surf School

Bodhi Surf School
La Flor de Bahia, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
506 8712 8919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Activities in Uvita
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bodhi Surf School offers surf lessons and clinics, yoga classes, vacations, and retreats for individuals, families, and small groups. Our goal is to teach you the theory, proper technique, and safety to have you surfing or doing yoga independently. Bodhi Surf is committed to incorporating sustainable business practices into our everyday operations. We love to share information on our area, both on the community of Bahia Ballena and the Marino Ballena National Park where we give our lessons. We also offer service learning for organized student groups interested in finding out more about Costa Rica. Above all, we aim to “awaken your inner surfer” and provide you with unique experiences that you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent morning surfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I had a great time during our surf lesson with Bodhi Surf. My wife had surfed a few years back in Costa Rica and San Diego, but this was my first attempt. We both were up and surfing in just a few minutes. Travis was a great instructor and very patient with us. He even gave a great dinner recommendation (BBQ Chicken pizza at La Fogata).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you Raiderjake for visiting us! We enjoyed surfing with you, chatting about life and learning about your great work back home. Keep up the great surfing and let us know when you'll be back out to Costa Rica for some more tropical water and waves. All the best - Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Travis and his crew did an amazing job teaching my group how to surf, and they also taught us a lot about Costa Rica. They were friendly, patience, knowledgable, and encouraging. Not only can I now surf, but I also have a new found respect for the ocean and its inhabitants. Overall, the experience was something that I will never forget, and I highly recommend Bodhi Surf School!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for sharing your positive energy Brandy M. It was a pleasure having you surf with us! We truly hope you continue to surf and protect our oceans resources. All the best on your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Class trip to Bodhi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Travis is not only an amazing teacher, but he is also a committed community leader. I was very impressed with his patience, guidance, and dedication while helping our class learn about surfing, the environment, and volunteerism. If you want something more from your vacation, something that you can take home with you and value and put into action in your own life, then this is without a doubt the place to be.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and energy to come and visit us with your class A R. Helping to facilitate a positive and challenging learning experience for your students was very rewarding for us and we hope to have you visit every year! Pura Vida from Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect for learning to surf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I had never surfed before, but quickly took to the waves thanks to Travis and Bodhi Surf School! We were amazed at how friendly and helpful Travis was before, during, and after our lesson. He has a great attitude and made it easy for us to be up and surfing in no time. The beach was great for beginners and we didn't have to worry about anything - we were able to just have fun and surf. Travis also provided rash guards for us, which was really nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for the generous comments aknight! Sharing the surfing experience with you and your wife was a blast. We are so glad you were able to visit the area and even happier to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your surf lesson. - Cheers from Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Travis (the owner) and his family are absolutely amazing people who truly care about both providing an awesome surface experience and protecting the environment. I had the privilege of experiencing surfing with Bodhi Surf while on a study abroad trip and I and all of the other students on the trip LOVED it. Travis and his assistants were patient as we learned and also very knowledgeable. I highly recommend to anyone looking to experience this beautiful place!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Pura Vida Amber G! Your positive words keep us motivated to continue providing quality surfing experiences that connect you with nature. Your classmates were so kind and respectful to our local community and we hope you return again in the near future. Saludos from Team Bodhi Surf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi Surf School also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bodhi Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodhi Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.