We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bodhi surf school, great people, great palce!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodhi Surf School

Bodhi Surf School
La Flor de Bahia, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
506 8712 8919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 activities in Uvita
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bodhi Surf School offers surf lessons and clinics, yoga classes, vacations, and retreats for individuals, families, and small groups. Our goal is to teach you the theory, proper technique, and safety to have you surfing or doing yoga independently. Bodhi Surf is committed to incorporating sustainable business practices into our everyday operations. We love to share information on our area, both on the community of Bahia Ballena and the Marino Ballena National Park where we give our lessons. We also offer service learning for organized student groups interested in finding out more about Costa Rica. Above all, we aim to “awaken your inner surfer” and provide you with unique experiences that you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
san diego
2 reviews
“bodhi surf school, great people, great palce!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

bohdi surf has picked the perfect spot, bahia, for their endever!! my family and i keep returning to this lovely area, the beach has the most beautiful views. looking back from being out on the waves or one the whales tail you see gorgeous, dramatic forested mountains coming down to meet the shore. the waves are consitent and perfect for learning how to surf. travis and gilbran provide a perfect entry to the area..for surfing.they know all the breaks so they can match a spot to your ability and keep it fun and interesting...nice boards. the locals are delightful, i can't wait to go back, again:-)

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
We totally agree with you!!!! Bahia is a wonderful and lovely spot. And that is exactly why Bodhi Surf does more than just teach the basics of surfing. The South Pacific coast has some of the country’s most bio-diverse and important terrestrial and marine conservation areas. We want our guests to experience Bahia Ballena-Uvita, be exposed to the sport of surfing, and leave with a profound sense and understanding that it is important for places like Bahia Ballena to be developed in a responsible way. We look forward to your return to this lovely place we call home!

Sincerely,

Team Bodhi Surf - "Awaken your Inner Surfer"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Vito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I had an amazing time. This was my first surfing experience I will definitely do it again. The instruction was great and they were very patient and helpful.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for your visit to Bodhi Surf. It brightens our day to learn that you truly enjoyed your surfing experience and that you will be returning. Keep on surfing and we shall see you in the water soon!

Sincerely,

Team Bodhi Surf - "Awaken your inner Surfer"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I did a 2 day surf clinic with Travis in Uvita and it was a great experience. I had never surfed before in my life and he had me catching some waves and standing up on the board in no time. Travis is super passionate about not only surfing, but Costa Rica, the ocean, his community and giving back to others. I learned a great deal about the area from his insights. The goal of the two day clinic was to be able to take what I learned and be able to go out surfing on my own from here on out and that goal was definitely met. I would recommend surf lessons from Bodhi Surf to any of my friends. Plus the beach he takes you to is not at all crowded, extremely beautiful and with a gentle beach break that does not pound you into the ground like up in Dominical.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thanks for joining us on our 2-Day Surf Clinic. Our main goal is to transfer our surfing knowledge and skills to you as soon as possible in a fun, safe, and dynamic way. After mastering the beachside instruction and surfing for two days our clients should feel confident enough to rent a board and hit the waves independently. From your review, we feel assured that we are completing that mission. It also pleases us to know that you enjoyed learning about the area, as we hope to instill an appreciation for this small town that Bodhi Surf calls home.

Visit soon,

Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We are both in our fifties and on the spur of the moment whilst on holiday in Costa Rica booked a surfing lesson with Travis. Neither of us has ever been near a surf board before but it was absolutely incredible - we both managed to stand up on the boards for a few seconds. Travis was a brilliant teacher and explained what we had to do in a straightforward way as we practiced on the beach. Then off we went into the waves - the water was warm and wonderful and it was just such an thrilling experience. We also had a video taken of us which is definitely worth doing. I can thoroughly recommend surfing with the Bodhi Surf School to anyone, no matter what age or level of fitness. It really was one of the highlights of my life!

Visited March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Your enthusiasm to learn how to surf and positive attitude is what made your surf lesson so wonderful. Thanks for being such attentive students. It was thrilling to watch you pop up and see the BIG smiles from the pure joy that surfing provides. One reason we love surfing is because we believe that it can be practiced by just about anyone, young or old. Kids as young as three years old as well as adults in their seventies have the ability to ride waves....so keep on surfing and continue to share the stoke! We can't wait to surf with you again.

Cheers,

Team Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best surf lessons in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Travis took us out for an early morning surf lesson. What a wonderful experience! You find nobody at the beach, nobody in the water - it's just you and the waves :-)
My boyfriend an me wanted to learn how to surf the green waves properly and we succeeded within no time! Our boards were in excellent conditions and Travis turned out to be an excellent instructor as well (also in comparison to other places we have been) - we even learned new facts about the surrounding Marino Ballena National Park and the ocean itself.

We couldn't think of a better place for beginner / intermediate surfing with its sandy beachbreak and perfect sized waves. It was pure pleasure!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodhiSurfSchool, Owner at Bodhi Surf School, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
We were so excited to get up early to catch a sunrise surf class with you! There is nothing more stunning then surfing the sunrise with great surf students. For us, the ocean is a living classroom and teaching you what we know and love brings us great joy! We appreciate your visit and can't wait to hear back from you with regards to your new surfing hobby and adventures.

Best,

Bodhi Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi Surf School also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bodhi Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodhi Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bodhi Surf School to your Saves list