We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top-notch hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A top-notch hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My review comes a little late but, as they say, better late than never! My boyfriend and I stayed in villa No 4 at TikiVillas twice during our Costa Rican trip in July 2013 and we loved it. It was a welcome break after ‘roughing it’ a little in Osa and makes for a great stopover on your way from Osa to SJO or Manuel Antonio or the Caribbean coast. The Uvita area itself is certainly worth exploring by itself as well.

The hotel is excellent by any standards. It is set on a serene hill overlooking the coastline below. It provides an incredibly relaxing experience in an intimate atmosphere. The villas are beautifully appointed and have private kitchenette areas. Each villa comes with its own balcony and sea view. In addition to an indoor bathroom one might also enjoy an outdoor shower surrounded and protected from view by lush greenery. Everything is spotlessly clean. There’s AC and free wi-fi and free, secure parking. On top of that, the guest can have a dip in a beautiful infinity pool located in the breakfast/bar/reception area, which is a lot of fun especially if the weather gets bad.

The room price includes a delicious breakfast a la carte. I highly recommend opting for the traditional Costa Rican breakfast – it’s great! Regardless of your preference, the service starts with a fresh fruit salad and a glass of juice as well as tea/coffee/cocoa.

Finally, a good part of what makes the hotel so good is definitely its staff! Everyone there, but especially Richard and Jesus are super professional, helpful, and very friendly! They made us feel welcome and were full of helpful advice. They are a great bunch.

While visiting you should visit Marino Ballena National Park and take a long walk along the gorgeous beach at low tide. I also loved visiting the nearby Baru Reserve – it’s excellent for wildlife watching.

You’ll need to rent a car to get to the hotel, and you will also need a car to go get some dinner, but there are plenty of restaurants within a very short ride.

The only problem I can think of is that sometimes the Internet connection fades away inside the villas, but it’s always strong and fast at the reception were you can be seated comfortably and serve the Web all you want.

Overall, everything from the staff and the setting to the premises themselves was perfect and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hola curious_traveler_PL!
It was a pleasure to host you! Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our installations, service, staff and the area! The wi-fi repeater has been replaced and provides a more reliable connection. You will be pleased to know that TikiVillas opened its Jungle Blue Restaurant in the guest club house in addition to breakfast we now offer our guests Lunch, Dinner as well as snacks. We hope to welcome you again soon toTikiVillas! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
159
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been traveling to Costa Rica for over 20 years and had heard that this Lodge had changed hands. Although it was the rainy season the staff was very professional and the breakfast that was included with the casita was excellent. I must same I am a snob when it comes to atmosphere and this property does an excellent job with their lighting both on the property and their rooms. Would definitely plan on staying there again soon. One minor complaint which they cannot control was there was a little road noise.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a beautiful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Whitney R, thank you for your review it was a pleasure hosting you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the service, lighting and all the little touches. TikiVillas is as always from the start, run and operated by Cindy & myself. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our last stop in Costa Rica before heading home. Wish we could have stayed longer. Clean, gorgeous views, welcoming staff, beautiful pool and amazing service. Couldn't recommend it more. Breakfast was great and delicious. The waterfall nearby was also fun and cheap! Highly recommended from both my fiancé and I.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Malary! Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to host you both at TikiVillas. We hope to welcome you both again at TikiVillas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the great fortune to discover TikiVillas as a wedding reception venue. Most importantly our new son in law’s family booked all the rooms and were happy that we chose this place to have them stay during the 4 days of the Indian wedding celebration. We had 140 guests come from all over the world. They all were asking us “how did you discover this awesome place! It couldn’t have turned out any better. Our new in laws loved the accommodations and found them well designed and beautifully appointed in a style fitting for the location. The owners, Thomas and his wife Cindy, were extremely helpful in setting up the reception at the hotel´s beautiful bar and lounge area. Thomas helped tend the bar for us and even did the honor of lighting the fire works off at midnight since it was a New Years eve wedding.
The villas are surrounded by jungle but you still have a breathtaking over the top view of the ocean, since all building were build up on pillars or on the highest area on the hill. The only problem was that the driveway up to it is very steep and may require 4 wheel drive to reach if you’re an inexperienced driver. I made it up fine in our Toyota without ever needing to put it into 4 wheel drive. I understand they are working on remedying this issue by the construction of an additional parking lot.
Great place to get way into the jungle in style.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Judgesbrar, thank you so much for your wonderful and kind review. It was a pleasure hosting the reception and guests. We are so pleased you chose TikiVillas for your special occasion! Thank you! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Tikki Villas in 2012, and vowed to return, which we did in July 2013. Our memories were correct....this is a unique, unforgettable place. Of the many places we have stayed in Costa Rica, this is among the best!

Upon arriving, we were greeted in a heavy rainstorm with very welcome umbrellas in the parking lot ( site is correct, you MUST have 4wd) and recovered from our drive from La Fortuna with fresh banana coladas. Richard and Minor provide the same superior level of service as Thomas and Cindy, The views from the infinity pool, rooms, and lounge areas are fantastic! The bed is comfortable, the indoor/outdoor shower options perfect. The daytime views and wildlife are spectacular, the nighttime sounds of the forest unforgettable. The breakfasts deserve particular mention....Gallo Pinto is a must!!!

We are now counting down the days till our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Riorico, thank you so much for your kind review and it was a pleasure to host you again at TikiVillas! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as in 2012! We very much look forward to seeing you again at TikiVillas! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don’t even know how to start this review - it all feels like a dream now! We arrived in the middle of an intense rain storm, having driven all the way from La Fortuna. It was a long day and the storm made it very difficult for driving, but we finally made it up to Tiki (yes, you really need 4x4 to get there!) At first glance, our villa looked beautiful, but we couldn’t really see the view because of the rain. The first thing we did was head to the bar for a drink. We had our first banana coladas from Richard (absolutely delicious) and chatted with a lovely British couple, also on their honeymoon.

The next day we awoke to beautiful weather and we could finally see the amazing view of the rainforest and the Pacific Ocean! The weather stayed nice (with just a couple of rain showers) for the rest of our stay. The breakfasts were delicious. The drinks were amazing. The villas were beautiful. They have kitchenettes, which were adequate enough to cook simple meals (just don’t leave any food out because we did have some sugar ants). The infinity pool was out of this world, and every time we used it we had it completely to ourselves! We awoke to the sounds of howler monkeys, watched white-faced monkeys playing in the trees, and saw toucans flying past our villa. TikiVillas is the most beautiful place either I or my husband have ever stayed at, and I can’t imagine we will ever find a nicer place.

The town of Uvita was exactly how my husband had imagined Costa Rica to be like. Bumpy rocky roads to the beach, surfers hanging out, just a small quiet town. The beaches were gorgeous and practically empty. We paid $1 each to hike to a beautiful waterfall (that my husband was crazy enough to jump off of!) We ate at a wonderful little restaurant called Soda Ranchito Doña María. We took an early morning walk along the Whale’s Tail.

And what can I say about Richard? He was the greatest! He helped us with everything and he was such a nice guy. He drew maps for us, booked our whale watching trip, served us breakfast, made us drinks, answered all of our questions, etc. And on our last morning there, my husband mentioned that we have seen so many coconut trees around, but haven’t been served coconut anywhere. Richard would not have that, so he walked down to a coconut tree on the property, hacked down some coconuts, and came back up with an armload of them. He cut them open and placed straws in them for us to drink the water! We hope to visit again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
DearSarahS0891, thank you very much for your detailed review. We are so flattered for all your kind words about TikiVillas. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope to welcome you both again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at TikiVillas for seven nights and had a wonderful time! The grounds and infinity pool are beautiful. The villas are nice, we stayed in # 5, which was extremely clean, but I think some of the amenities could be updated-not really a complaint, just me being a little picky. I love the privacy the lodge offers- we had it to ourselves almost the whole time and were able to see toucans and howler monkeys right off our balcony. If you are not open to an outdoorsy setting, this may not be the place for you. We loved it though and slept with our doors off the balcony open every night. The other reviewers are right-Richard provides amazing service and was so kind and knowledgeable; he made us feel special and we are grateful to have met him.

Some notes about the area-we did a day trip to Corcovado (arranged by Richard) and saw a lot of wildlife, including: humpback whales, scarlet macaws and squirrel monkeys. We also did a zip line excursion at Hacienda Baru (Richard again) which was a good time and were able to also see plenty of flora and fauna. The guides on both trips were very passionate and knowledgeable. We really liked the beachs at Whales Tail and the one closest to the lodge. We also had a fantastic time at a waterfall about a 10 min drive away.

Overall, it was about as close to a perfect vacay as you can get :) I miss it already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear utdjenn, thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the service, location and your stay. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope to welcome you both again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Address: 12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa near Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.