We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING. Welcoming. Accommodating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
“AMAZING. Welcoming. Accommodating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our last stop in Costa Rica before heading home. Wish we could have stayed longer. Clean, gorgeous views, welcoming staff, beautiful pool and amazing service. Couldn't recommend it more. Breakfast was great and delicious. The waterfall nearby was also fun and cheap! Highly recommended from both my fiancé and I.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Malary! Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to host you both at TikiVillas. We hope to welcome you both again at TikiVillas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
159
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the great fortune to discover TikiVillas as a wedding reception venue. Most importantly our new son in law’s family booked all the rooms and were happy that we chose this place to have them stay during the 4 days of the Indian wedding celebration. We had 140 guests come from all over the world. They all were asking us “how did you discover this awesome place! It couldn’t have turned out any better. Our new in laws loved the accommodations and found them well designed and beautifully appointed in a style fitting for the location. The owners, Thomas and his wife Cindy, were extremely helpful in setting up the reception at the hotel´s beautiful bar and lounge area. Thomas helped tend the bar for us and even did the honor of lighting the fire works off at midnight since it was a New Years eve wedding.
The villas are surrounded by jungle but you still have a breathtaking over the top view of the ocean, since all building were build up on pillars or on the highest area on the hill. The only problem was that the driveway up to it is very steep and may require 4 wheel drive to reach if you’re an inexperienced driver. I made it up fine in our Toyota without ever needing to put it into 4 wheel drive. I understand they are working on remedying this issue by the construction of an additional parking lot.
Great place to get way into the jungle in style.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Judgesbrar, thank you so much for your wonderful and kind review. It was a pleasure hosting the reception and guests. We are so pleased you chose TikiVillas for your special occasion! Thank you! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Tikki Villas in 2012, and vowed to return, which we did in July 2013. Our memories were correct....this is a unique, unforgettable place. Of the many places we have stayed in Costa Rica, this is among the best!

Upon arriving, we were greeted in a heavy rainstorm with very welcome umbrellas in the parking lot ( site is correct, you MUST have 4wd) and recovered from our drive from La Fortuna with fresh banana coladas. Richard and Minor provide the same superior level of service as Thomas and Cindy, The views from the infinity pool, rooms, and lounge areas are fantastic! The bed is comfortable, the indoor/outdoor shower options perfect. The daytime views and wildlife are spectacular, the nighttime sounds of the forest unforgettable. The breakfasts deserve particular mention....Gallo Pinto is a must!!!

We are now counting down the days till our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Riorico, thank you so much for your kind review and it was a pleasure to host you again at TikiVillas! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as in 2012! We very much look forward to seeing you again at TikiVillas! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don’t even know how to start this review - it all feels like a dream now! We arrived in the middle of an intense rain storm, having driven all the way from La Fortuna. It was a long day and the storm made it very difficult for driving, but we finally made it up to Tiki (yes, you really need 4x4 to get there!) At first glance, our villa looked beautiful, but we couldn’t really see the view because of the rain. The first thing we did was head to the bar for a drink. We had our first banana coladas from Richard (absolutely delicious) and chatted with a lovely British couple, also on their honeymoon.

The next day we awoke to beautiful weather and we could finally see the amazing view of the rainforest and the Pacific Ocean! The weather stayed nice (with just a couple of rain showers) for the rest of our stay. The breakfasts were delicious. The drinks were amazing. The villas were beautiful. They have kitchenettes, which were adequate enough to cook simple meals (just don’t leave any food out because we did have some sugar ants). The infinity pool was out of this world, and every time we used it we had it completely to ourselves! We awoke to the sounds of howler monkeys, watched white-faced monkeys playing in the trees, and saw toucans flying past our villa. TikiVillas is the most beautiful place either I or my husband have ever stayed at, and I can’t imagine we will ever find a nicer place.

The town of Uvita was exactly how my husband had imagined Costa Rica to be like. Bumpy rocky roads to the beach, surfers hanging out, just a small quiet town. The beaches were gorgeous and practically empty. We paid $1 each to hike to a beautiful waterfall (that my husband was crazy enough to jump off of!) We ate at a wonderful little restaurant called Soda Ranchito Doña María. We took an early morning walk along the Whale’s Tail.

And what can I say about Richard? He was the greatest! He helped us with everything and he was such a nice guy. He drew maps for us, booked our whale watching trip, served us breakfast, made us drinks, answered all of our questions, etc. And on our last morning there, my husband mentioned that we have seen so many coconut trees around, but haven’t been served coconut anywhere. Richard would not have that, so he walked down to a coconut tree on the property, hacked down some coconuts, and came back up with an armload of them. He cut them open and placed straws in them for us to drink the water! We hope to visit again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
DearSarahS0891, thank you very much for your detailed review. We are so flattered for all your kind words about TikiVillas. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope to welcome you both again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at TikiVillas for seven nights and had a wonderful time! The grounds and infinity pool are beautiful. The villas are nice, we stayed in # 5, which was extremely clean, but I think some of the amenities could be updated-not really a complaint, just me being a little picky. I love the privacy the lodge offers- we had it to ourselves almost the whole time and were able to see toucans and howler monkeys right off our balcony. If you are not open to an outdoorsy setting, this may not be the place for you. We loved it though and slept with our doors off the balcony open every night. The other reviewers are right-Richard provides amazing service and was so kind and knowledgeable; he made us feel special and we are grateful to have met him.

Some notes about the area-we did a day trip to Corcovado (arranged by Richard) and saw a lot of wildlife, including: humpback whales, scarlet macaws and squirrel monkeys. We also did a zip line excursion at Hacienda Baru (Richard again) which was a good time and were able to also see plenty of flora and fauna. The guides on both trips were very passionate and knowledgeable. We really liked the beachs at Whales Tail and the one closest to the lodge. We also had a fantastic time at a waterfall about a 10 min drive away.

Overall, it was about as close to a perfect vacay as you can get :) I miss it already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear utdjenn, thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the service, location and your stay. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope to welcome you both again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! I would recommend this place to anyone spending time in Costa Rica. Each lodge has a fantastic view and excellent facilities. The bar and pool area are perfect for hanging out if you manage to drag yourself away from your room. The service provided by everyone you might interact with is first class - friendly without being too interfering. Within our first two hours of staying there we had seen capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys and a toucan! Breakfast is delicious, cocktails as good as I've ever tasted, what more can I say? This place will not disappoint!
Top tips: we had our own transport and I'm not sure how easy it would have been to explore the area without it. As suggested by the owners, you will only make it up the entrance drive with four wheel drive.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear andy k, It was a pleasure to host you both and thank you for your wonderful review! Indeed Uvita area is best enjoyed with your own rent a car. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and cocktails and got to see so much wildlife on our grounds! We hope to welcome you again soon! Pura Vida! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Tiki villas offers all of my favorite things about Costa Rica. I've traveled to costa rica many times and this trip was one of the best. Tiki villas setting within the jungle attracts all sorts of wildlife. The toucans were great to watch every evening while relaxing in the pool. The rooms are spacious, clean and romantic. The owners, Thomas and Cindy were excellent hosts and very informative. I will try to spend time here on all of my future trips to costa rica.

Room Tip: I chose a room without an Ac and loved the open air concept and the fan provided kept it comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tracy E, Thank you for your review! As such a frequent traveler to Costa Rica we are so pleased you enjoyed TikiVillas! We hope to welcome you back soon! Pura Vida! Cindy & Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Address: 12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa near Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.