We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite views in a quiet area of Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite views in a quiet area of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The website warns you to make sure you have a 4x4 vehicle and you definitely need it! After a drive up a very steep and bumpy driveway and than a climb up 3 sets of stairs, you are rewarded with a breath-taking view of the Pacific-a true oasis of peace and quiet. There is an infinity pool that overlooks the ocean.
The owners Cindy and Thomas as well as Edgar are welcoming and very helpful. Thomas provided excellent suggestions for exploring Uvita and the its beaches.
Breakfast is wonderful-flavorful and well-prepared. (There are 4 options.)
One downside is that there is no restaurant on-site for lunch or dinner. I missed this when I researched our stay here and was counting on a relaxing dinner and drinks at the lodge when we arrived-not to happen. They will arrange for dinner to be delivered to you (we did not do this.)
Rooms are equiped with a kitchenette-hot plate, microwave and refrigerator.
There is no a/c-just fans and it can get pretty hot and humid.
Loved the jungle shower.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
159
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Tiki Villas is a unique gem. We have been to Costa Rica on several other occasions and this is among the top places we have stayed. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. But that's not what makes this place great. It's so special because of the entire sensory experience that envelopes you while there. Waking up to the sunrising, birds chirping in the tree outside the balcony and breathing in the fresh, sweet air is simply amazing. I haven't felt that relaxed or rested in a long time and wish I was back enjoying the view from the mountaintop.

The morning breakfast is wonderful, the pool is beautiful, the animals that come by to visit are great and the feeling you get at Tiki Villas is memorable.

It's also worth noting that we stayed in three different locations during our trip. Tiki Villas was the least expensive and we had the best time at it.

We had a few bumps while we were there--a problem with a leaky AC and a power outage--but they were resolved quickly and our hosts did everything to make sure we had a good time.

This is a special part of Costa Rica and if you are the kind of person that wants rowdy nightlife and a ton of other tourists around, this isn't the place. But if you are looking for a laid back slice of paradise, this is it!

Like everyone else has said, the driveway is a bit ridiculous. We breathed a sigh of relief each time we made it up the driveway and it's the one hitch in an otherwise glorious stay.

Writing this review is making me wish I could go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There's little I can add to the previous reviews. We are pretty much budget travelers, and I had high expectations for TikiVillas from the website. But WOW! I was just blown away by the beauty of this place. The rooms were incredible, the public area and pool were gorgeous with incredible views. Tomas and Cindy were lovely hosts that gave good advice for tours. If ever we are traveling in the part of the country again, we will definitly stay here. I highly recommend Tikivillas. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Although air conditioning isn't required, we did use it on one night pretty much just to take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for three night in January, and I wish we could have stayed longer. TikiVillas totally lived up to my expectations, which were based on all the positive reviews here on TA.

The whole complex has a nice Bali-feeling, and my girlfriend loved it from the moment we arrived. The rooms are very clean, and showering outside is nice. The view from your bed is awesome, I actually set my alarm clock at 5:30 AM to watch the sunrise each morning! As mentioned in other reviews, I takes a while before you get used to the jungle sounds.

Thomas and Cindy were perfect hosts, friendly and always there for you. Thomas makes tasty cocktails, and we drank a lot of them while socializing in the infinity pool :)

As said before, the only thing that's missing is the option to have diner at this awesome property. This will be fixed next month, or so Thomas told me. Anyway, we got take-away food for two nights and ate it at TikiVillas, with Thomas supplying us with plates, glasses and cutlery.

Summarizing: I wish I was still there...

Room Tip: Choose villa 5, it has the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for over a week at this wonderful location, and can echo all the positive comments made by other reviewers.

The villas are located about half way between Dominical and Uvita. They are accessed via a very steep 300 metre unmade track from the highway. The track is quite rough and does require a good 4x4 vehicle. We found the first couple of ascents quite daunting, but steep drives appear to be a common factor for any property along this stretch of coast that has an ocean view.

Once you get to the parking area there are three sets of steep steps to the main building. All of this is made worthwhile by the spectacular ocean and jungle views from the main building terrace.

There are five bungalows, all of which are set in very private locations with good views. We had bungalow 3 which I believe is the highest and furthest from the main building, and because of this probably has the best all round situation. Our bungalow was furnished to a high standard, and we loved the open air shower that is accessed via a sliding glass door from the bathroom. Each bungalow has a terrace with views into the surrounding jungle and ocean. Between the bedroom and balcony there are louved doors that pull back to allow the room to be fully open to the elements. You can have the doors open all night, but we preferred to pull them back with the sunrise.

If you're a light sleeper like me then be prepared to be woken early by the jungle dawn chorus. There is an amazing array of bird, insect and monkey calls that kick off at around 5am. Add the sound of the waves crashing in Playa Hermosa and you get an amazing natural soundscape. You do get occasional traffic noise from the highway but on the whole this tends to be drowned out by the sounds of waves crashing on the beach.

The owners work hard to provide a very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is served at almost any AM time to suit guests, and includes a nice mix of fresh fruit, cooked options, bread etc. The main building, pool area and bungalows are all kept spotlessly clean. Obviously being in the jungle there will be occasional problems with bugs, but apart from a few kamikazi cicardas we had no problems ourselves.

Playa Hermosa is a 15 minute walk from the villas. This is a beautiful long sandy beach which seems quite safe, has very few people on it, plus lots of interesting wildlife.

The main building includes an infinity pool that allows you to indulge in that magnificent ocean view. The pool never seemed to get that busy.

I'd say that having a car/4x4 is almost mandatory for this location. You can get taxi's to ferry you around the various attractions but they are expensive. e.g. a taxi ride to Ojochal is $69 one way.

Room Tip: Bungalow 3 has the highest and most private location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This spot is amazing! It's perched on the mountain side, overlooking the ocean. For this reason I would recommend a 4x4. It feels quite remote, but infant close to the beach and the town of uvita.

The villas are a great size and decorated in a Bali feel. There is an amazing outside shower (as well as one inside) which is very refreshing after a day of fun in the beautiful costa rican sun. The beds are amazingly comfortable, and we slept wonderfully in our fan room. We were sceptical about whether we would be cool enough at night but we were perfect.

Thomas the host is very charming, and can't do enough for you, he kindly offers drinks in his gorgeous infinity pool, which is a great place to meet and chat with the other guests.

There currently isn't a restaurant at the villas, but the setting is perfect to enjoy the breakfast provided. Every morning we opted for the typical costa rican breakfast of pinto, eggs, plantain and a selection of fruits. Delicious!

Thomas can recommend some great restaurants in the area, we tried marina ballena and citrus, both yummy!

Our stay was truly amazing, and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Year as part of a 3 week trip to Costa Rica and wished we could have stayed longer. The bungalows and the setting were really stunning with views of the sea and of the jungle. The rooms were very private and had been designed and built with obvious intelligence, creativity and attention to detail to make the best use of space and the views of the surrounding landscapes.
Both the owners were very attentive and warm without being at all intrusive. As others have mentioned they work hard to make you feel at home and take care of any problems. It is amazing how clean and insect-free the rooms were considering that they are basically in the jungle and open to the elements. Do bear in mind however that the odd 'visitor' is inevitable however we found that Thomas was very capable of removing unwanted 'guests' and if you're interested as we were, he is also quite knowledgable about them.
We didn't have a car and used a taxi to get to and from TikiVillas which worked fine. A tip here is to visit the local supermarket in Uvita on the way to stock up on a few supplies. The bungalows come with a small fridge and a kitchenette so bringing some provisions with you will prevent you having to take unneccessary taxi journeys to and from the town. However, if you do have a car, bear in mind that Uvita is less than an hour from Manuel Antonio national park and from our experience is a much better deal than any of the places in Quepos. So, if you were planning on venturing further north then TikiVillas could still work as a good base.
Finally, we stayed at a number of high-end hotels and lodges while in Costa Rica, some of which were double the price of this one however TikiVillas at least matched up to these other places and represents real value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Address: 12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa near Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.