We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Save Saved
You added TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spectacular Season Saving
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for three night in January, and I wish we could have stayed longer. TikiVillas totally lived up to my expectations, which were based on all the positive reviews here on TA.

The whole complex has a nice Bali-feeling, and my girlfriend loved it from the moment we arrived. The rooms are very clean, and showering outside is nice. The view from your bed is awesome, I actually set my alarm clock at 5:30 AM to watch the sunrise each morning! As mentioned in other reviews, I takes a while before you get used to the jungle sounds.

Thomas and Cindy were perfect hosts, friendly and always there for you. Thomas makes tasty cocktails, and we drank a lot of them while socializing in the infinity pool :)

As said before, the only thing that's missing is the option to have diner at this awesome property. This will be fixed next month, or so Thomas told me. Anyway, we got take-away food for two nights and ate it at TikiVillas, with Thomas supplying us with plates, glasses and cutlery.

Summarizing: I wish I was still there...

Room Tip: Choose villa 5, it has the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
154
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for over a week at this wonderful location, and can echo all the positive comments made by other reviewers.

The villas are located about half way between Dominical and Uvita. They are accessed via a very steep 300 metre unmade track from the highway. The track is quite rough and does require a good 4x4 vehicle. We found the first couple of ascents quite daunting, but steep drives appear to be a common factor for any property along this stretch of coast that has an ocean view.

Once you get to the parking area there are three sets of steep steps to the main building. All of this is made worthwhile by the spectacular ocean and jungle views from the main building terrace.

There are five bungalows, all of which are set in very private locations with good views. We had bungalow 3 which I believe is the highest and furthest from the main building, and because of this probably has the best all round situation. Our bungalow was furnished to a high standard, and we loved the open air shower that is accessed via a sliding glass door from the bathroom. Each bungalow has a terrace with views into the surrounding jungle and ocean. Between the bedroom and balcony there are louved doors that pull back to allow the room to be fully open to the elements. You can have the doors open all night, but we preferred to pull them back with the sunrise.

If you're a light sleeper like me then be prepared to be woken early by the jungle dawn chorus. There is an amazing array of bird, insect and monkey calls that kick off at around 5am. Add the sound of the waves crashing in Playa Hermosa and you get an amazing natural soundscape. You do get occasional traffic noise from the highway but on the whole this tends to be drowned out by the sounds of waves crashing on the beach.

The owners work hard to provide a very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is served at almost any AM time to suit guests, and includes a nice mix of fresh fruit, cooked options, bread etc. The main building, pool area and bungalows are all kept spotlessly clean. Obviously being in the jungle there will be occasional problems with bugs, but apart from a few kamikazi cicardas we had no problems ourselves.

Playa Hermosa is a 15 minute walk from the villas. This is a beautiful long sandy beach which seems quite safe, has very few people on it, plus lots of interesting wildlife.

The main building includes an infinity pool that allows you to indulge in that magnificent ocean view. The pool never seemed to get that busy.

I'd say that having a car/4x4 is almost mandatory for this location. You can get taxi's to ferry you around the various attractions but they are expensive. e.g. a taxi ride to Ojochal is $69 one way.

Room Tip: Bungalow 3 has the highest and most private location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This spot is amazing! It's perched on the mountain side, overlooking the ocean. For this reason I would recommend a 4x4. It feels quite remote, but infant close to the beach and the town of uvita.

The villas are a great size and decorated in a Bali feel. There is an amazing outside shower (as well as one inside) which is very refreshing after a day of fun in the beautiful costa rican sun. The beds are amazingly comfortable, and we slept wonderfully in our fan room. We were sceptical about whether we would be cool enough at night but we were perfect.

Thomas the host is very charming, and can't do enough for you, he kindly offers drinks in his gorgeous infinity pool, which is a great place to meet and chat with the other guests.

There currently isn't a restaurant at the villas, but the setting is perfect to enjoy the breakfast provided. Every morning we opted for the typical costa rican breakfast of pinto, eggs, plantain and a selection of fruits. Delicious!

Thomas can recommend some great restaurants in the area, we tried marina ballena and citrus, both yummy!

Our stay was truly amazing, and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Year as part of a 3 week trip to Costa Rica and wished we could have stayed longer. The bungalows and the setting were really stunning with views of the sea and of the jungle. The rooms were very private and had been designed and built with obvious intelligence, creativity and attention to detail to make the best use of space and the views of the surrounding landscapes.
Both the owners were very attentive and warm without being at all intrusive. As others have mentioned they work hard to make you feel at home and take care of any problems. It is amazing how clean and insect-free the rooms were considering that they are basically in the jungle and open to the elements. Do bear in mind however that the odd 'visitor' is inevitable however we found that Thomas was very capable of removing unwanted 'guests' and if you're interested as we were, he is also quite knowledgable about them.
We didn't have a car and used a taxi to get to and from TikiVillas which worked fine. A tip here is to visit the local supermarket in Uvita on the way to stock up on a few supplies. The bungalows come with a small fridge and a kitchenette so bringing some provisions with you will prevent you having to take unneccessary taxi journeys to and from the town. However, if you do have a car, bear in mind that Uvita is less than an hour from Manuel Antonio national park and from our experience is a much better deal than any of the places in Quepos. So, if you were planning on venturing further north then TikiVillas could still work as a good base.
Finally, we stayed at a number of high-end hotels and lodges while in Costa Rica, some of which were double the price of this one however TikiVillas at least matched up to these other places and represents real value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR COLRADO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a great place stay. The location is on a mountain side, with a open view of the jungle 10 feet away, and about 20 feet in the air.The whole front of the villa opens to the jungle and ocean view. Very neat and well kept. The bed is great and we had A.C. A small kitchen for some cooking, and wonderful outdoor shower. Many steps, not handicap friendly. Tomas cannot care enough about his guests. He waits on you hand and foot. GREAT! We had drinks in the infinity pool every night, with people from all over the world. Lots of fun. And Tomas will provide all the info. on everything, makes reservations and recommends . The breakfasts are great, which are included in the price. All the coffee you want, fruit. eggs, gallo pinto, great pancakes and bacon.You will need a 4x4! Monkeys, birds and small mammals were seen.

Room Tip: AC is a good thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Tiki Villas in late December; our first stop of a trip that went from Uvita to Carate on the Osa and then up to Monte Azul in San Isidro. Tiki Villa was a wonderful way to enter into our jungle vacation. We arrived up the steep driveway (4X4 only) after driving from San Jose.

We were met by owner Thomas by the bar in the beautiful and comfortable, open air patio and a couple of guests in the spacious and clean infinity pool, overlooking a vista of the rainforest and crashing Pacific. We soon found ourselves in the pool; watching sunset, sipping on our delicious (welcome) banana daiquiri, and meeting the other couples at the lodge. The pool and deck as it turned out was a comfortable space for meeting and chatting with Thomas and the other guests. There are only 5 well appointed casitas with fully opening sliding doors across from the bed with a full Pacific view… ahhhhh… comfortable king size bed and plenty of space. Both bathroom and main space were comfortable, modern and clean, there is a small kitchen area with sink and fridge. Although many reviewers have said the A/C is unnecessary, my wife and I were thankful for a respite form the heat and humidity. The fans were mostly adequate, but we were happy to have the air conditioning particularly when we shut the doors to discourage bugs.

We were tired and regretful that there was no dinner available; Thomas offered that we could order from a local restaurant and for a $10 delivery fee they would send the food to us, after considering our options we decided to do that (fantastic Caprese salad and decent pizza), we were prepared to eat out of take out containers, but Thomas set up a place setting with china, flatware, glasses and candles, so sweet and unexpected hospitality. Thomas did say that he will soon be offering dinner. When we returned to our room, unfortunately we found that the air conditioning drain was clogged, turns out hornets filled the drain tube with mud, the sheets were wet from the dripping through the mattress pad. Thomas to the rescue (I am sure he was tired and would prefer to not be dealing with this, but he had a smile on his face)! He handled it all graciously, got dry and clean bedding, changed out the wet and put on the dry, apologized relentlessly and assured us he would repair it and make it right (which he generously did at check out). We had a great sleep, a wonderful day at Playa Ventanas and a wonderful second night at the lodge. Breakfast was simple, but good, accommodations spacious clean and comfortable and Thomas’s willingness to deal with a problem head on was impressive. I highly recommend Tiki Villa Rainforest Lodge. Just a small note, so that you are not surprised, unlike deep in the jungle in Carate, you do hear occasional slight traffic from the road below. Turned out to be the perfect stopping point on our way to Osa Peninsula; it was about 3 ½ hours from here to Carate. Check out dinner at Exotica and Citrus in Ojachal and a great lunch spot at Villa Leonor at Ballena Beach Club.

Room Tip: We appreciated the room with A/C, although not essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this place in late December. What is written in the other reviews is all true, the best feature for me was the contact with nature but yet with all the comforts of a nice bathroom, walk in closet, small kitchenette, etc. The location is great, close to very vergin beaches and to my taste, the best water in Costa Rica (at least Pacific side, as i didn't make it to the Caribbean), amazing waves, and nature directly on the beach!
Service was excellent, Thomas and Cindy really help on every little issue or question you may have. The drinks are also amazing as was the breakfast in the morning.
If I will ever go back to Costa Rica one day, i'll make sure to visit this place and the Uvita area in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Address: 12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa near Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.