We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Save Saved
You added TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spectacular Season Saving
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

to get to the hotel you need a 4WD! once you get there it is stunning. you will be welcomed by the nicest owner tomas and the best cocktail you have ever had. the lodges are unlike other hotelrooms very private, very clean and very special! from your private balkony you have an overview over the pool area to the great ocean. we loved it and we would ALWAYS come back! thank you tomas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
151
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After a five-night stay in mid-November, we can assure you that all of the positive things other reviewers have said about TikiVillas and its proprietors are absolutely true. As you can see from the online pictures, the property is beautiful, from the buildings to the landscaping to the setting (you’ll love the outdoor shower). The breakfasts are freshly prepared and delicious. And Thomas and Cindy are wonderful hosts. They are always available and happy to assist you in any way. In fact, it is their quiet attentiveness to guests’ needs that makes TikiVillas stand out from other such properties. To give a couple of examples, on the first or second evening of our stay it started to rain right before we headed out to dinner. We had brought one small umbrella with us, but it really wasn’t suitable for two adults to share. When we opened our villa door to walk down to our car, there was a large umbrella propped up against the wall waiting for us. On another evening, the whole region had a power outage as we were driving back from dinner. The power had literally been out for only a couple of minutes when we got out of our car at TikiVillas, and Thomas was already present with a flashlight to light our way up the steps.

Another very nice aspect of TikiVillas is its location. Although Uvita is a very small town, it has several good casual dining options and a decent grocery store. It is along a nice stretch of coastline with various beaches and preserves within a short distance to the north and south, along with excellent dining options in the town of Ojochal, a very easy 20-minute drive south of TikiVillas. The town of Dominical is about 15 minutes to the north, and there are several outdoor recreation outfitters there, along with more restaurant options.

There are just two things of which you should be aware if you are going to enjoy a stay at TikiVillas. The first is that you will want to rent a vehicle so that you can drive to the various beaches, preserves, and restaurants. And as many reviewers have made clear, it absolutely has to be a 4x4 both for TikiVillas’ steep driveway and for the many unpaved local roads. Second, it is a tropical setting, so it will be warm and humid by day; you will hear the sounds of rainforest critters during the night and early morning; and there will be an assortment of small insects and lizards around, a few of which are bound to find their way into your villa. The good news is that it really does cool down to very comfortable temperatures at night, so we were fine without A/C (and almost no local hotels or restaurants have it), and there were no mosquitoes or other biting insects around. As long as you are cognizant of and comfortable with the ecological realities of this part of Costa Rica, you will definitely enjoy the tropical luxury you will find at TikiVillas.

As a final note, Thomas and Cindy will give you all the input you want about the local sights, activities, and restaurants. Some of the things we would highly recommend include waterfall rappelling with Costa Canyoning, exploring the beaches at Playa Ventanas and Playa Uvita/Marina Ballena Park, and eating at Mamma e Papa, Exotica, and La Fogata. We also recommend hanging out at TikiVillas’ infinity pool with banana and pina coladas. We look forward to being there again the next time we visit Costa Rica, and we hope we will have a chance to return Thomas’s hospitality the next time he is in The Woodlands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for part of our honeymoon, and it was amazing!! We decided on staying here because we read awesome reviews and they were 100% accurate! The rooms were beautiful, and we loved having a king size bed! The bathroom was nice, and the outdoor shower was really cool. We had an A/C room, but we really didn't need it too much, just for a few hours at night.

We had the place to ourselves every night we were there except our first night, and the other couple that was there was also on their honeymoon, so we got to make new friends. The grounds are just beautiful and the views are stunning. Seeing monkeys and toucans from our porch or while swimming in the AWESOME pool was just so cool!

Even though we went during the slowest time of the year for them, Thomas and Cindy were so accommodating and friendly. They truly made our time there special, from the delicious banana coladas to arranging dinner to be delivered to the fantastic breakfast. Thomas would gauge what kind of activities we were into and gave us great recommendations of beaches to go explore. He was very pleasant to talk to. Thomas also lit all the candles every night and created a wonderful atmosphere which was just so romantic for me and my husband! It rained every day we were there but we wouldn't have changed a thing, it was nice to just hang out in our room or out by the pool and just enjoy the scenery.

We would definitely recommend TikiVillas to anyone looking to stay in the Dominical/Uvita area. It is a great couples' escape for sure!!

Room Tip: A/C Unit room is nice to have because the humidity is insane and you are free to turn the unit on/of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at TikiVillas in Uvita for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We chose TikiVillas mainly because of all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. And I have to say we were in no way disppointed. The room was great (we stayed in Villa#1). We kept the room opened up almost the entire time. The only time we would close it down was around 5:30 or 6am when the sun would start to come up.
Some of our favorite things about TikiVillas were the great breakfasts (definitely order the Gallo Pinto and the pancakes), their banana coladas, and the infinity pool.
Thomas and Cindy are more than happy to give recommendations for restaurants and things to do. They'll even call and make the reservations for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #1. I would think any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Every good thing you have read about TikiVillas on TripAdvisor is true! My wife and I spent 3 nights there in September and couldn't have asked for a better stay. The rooms are spacious, relaxing and comfortable and I loved getting to watch tucans in the trees from the balcony. The pool is as picturesque as any pool could be - only made better by the fresh banana coladas offered by Thomas. Breakfast was a refreshing delight each morning.

What really stands out about TikiVillas is the casual, yet attentive service of Thomas and Cindy! They were helpful from the moment I submitted a reservation request online and fulfilled every possible need / request we had during our stay. Thomas was a delight to spend time with and was always helpful with advice on directions, super market, restaurants, and activities. I can't thank him enough for the hospitality he showed us. We are excited to return as soon as possible!

I could go on, but most of what I would say is already here from other reviewers...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Seriously, I don't know if there is much I can add to the glowing reviews of TikiVillas but I'll try.

Arriving, we were a little intimidated by the steep driveway. But, our little rental 4x4 made it up easily and we were rewarded with beautiful views of the rainforest and ocean. The welcome banana coladas didn't hurt either :)

The location of TikiVillas is perfect if you're looking for access to activities without being on top of all the other tourists. It's a five minute drive to Uvita, where there are a bunch of restaurants, two supermarkets, several banks (with ATM access) and several activities. It's about 15-20 minutes from Dominical, where there is a ton more to see, do and eat. Also, very close are the Hacienda Baru Nature Refuge and the Marina Ballena Park (Whale's Tail).

The accommodations were beautiful: clean, elegant decor with enough amenities to make the stay super comfortable. We had an AC in our room but didn't turn it on; the fan and breezes from the huge open walls were enough for us. The small kitchen had everything we needed for in between meals: a fridge for cold drinks, a coffee maker w/ coffee for pre-breakfast (we woke up with the sunrise every morning) and cups/plates/etc. for snacks and leftovers.

And, speaking of food, the breakfasts were awesome! Plates of fresh fruit, warm bread and the choice of several breakfast meals. We mostly stuck to the Gallo Pinto, which gave us enough energy for all our activities and easily kept us going to lunch. We also tried the pancakes, which were amazing... we even drizzled them with the provided honey, something I'd never seen before, and plan on having them that way at home from now on.

Finally, a reiview of TikiVillas wouldn't be complete without mentioning the amazing hospitality of Thomas and Cindy. They were so helpful with setting up our tours, making sure we knew where we were going, giving advice on restaurants, pointing out animals around the resort and talking about the area in general. Plus, Thomas can make some seriously good drinks. We stopped by the main house several times for a nighttime beverage - more banana coladas and pina coladas. The perfect end to a day in the rainforest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There really is not enough to describe how fantastic our stay was last January. This place is a five star hotel at a really amazing price. I combed tripadvisor endlessly looking for a place to honeymoon in Costa Rica. When I found Tikivillas, it looked almost too good to be true (you hear nightmare stories about hotels with good reviews written by management etc). But it honestly outdid our expectations.

The amazing:

1. The food/cocktails. Skip the "American" fare and go straight for the Costa Rican breakfast - you will not be disappointed. My husband and I tried to recreate the meal ourselves when we got home, but it's impossible. It's too good. Also the banana daquiri is officially my new favorite drink - and the bananas are picked onsite! Incredible. No, there is no on-site restaurant, but I think it's better that way. And the wonderful owners will even pick your meal up from one of the nearby eateries. Interestingly, the best food we ate was one incredible French restaurant (ask the owner - and make a reservation) and a low-key Italian place with amazing pizza. We also tried a nearby restaurant with really good ceviche.

2. Rooms. Don't bother with A/C, you won't need it - really cools off in the evening. Your room honestly opens up to the jungle and ocean and is incredibly private. You feel like you're the only ones staying there. Bugs were a non-issue at night with the bug lamp reading lights, and any little critters that managed to get in were shooed off the next morning by the great cleaning staff. It's a true tree-house experience and we loved every second. The view is honestly worth the trip. And you seriously wake up to howler monkeys each morning. We were also able to buy soup and sandwich materials at the local store and saved money on lunches.

3. Amenities. Breakfast, welcome cocktails, infinity pool, and free wifi in the lodge. Every detail was meticulously clean and wonderfully welcoming. The owners truly bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable and happy, without being intrusive. The jungle inhabitants are also happy to smile for the camera - we saw monkeys, rare creatures, and toucans right from the lodge. Also, the owners will happily call and reserve any activities you want to do. I recommend the zip lines, and definitely take the day trip to Corcovado. Incredible! We also did a lovely sunset sail and snorkel in Manuel Antonio (while we loved the drive and the activities, we were so happy we weren't staying in that crowded city!).

Things to Note:
- While you are not on the beach, the beach trail is a fun little hike through the jungle and the beach is pristine, quiet, and wonderful. Not a party beach at all - many local families, lots of surf and sunshine.
-Mid-day is HOT. If we didn't have an activity planned, we usually wandered up to the room for a siesta around mid-day or lounged by the pool in the shade with a much-welcomed cocktail.
-if you're looking for a party scene, this is not your hotel and probably not your part of Costa Rica. We loved the other guests, but it is definitely a serene escape.
-The drive is long and windy, get 4WD, but completely worthwhile. Having a car also made the trip much less stressful and gave us so much freedom.
-And just so it doesn't appear that I'm sugar-coating everything, I did find one large bug in our room one night. I'm sort of bug-a-phobic and it freaked me out but certainly did not deter us from sleeping with the shutters wide open. And the little guy was mercifully gone the next morning. I mean, you're in the jungle with open windows so critters were bound to get in. But nothing ever bit us in the night. I suppose you could entirely avoid that by staying in the A/C unit villas, but you miss out on the breathtaking beauty every evening, not to mention the wild animals waking you in the morning.

I honestly can't say enough good things. I'm a busy lawyer who's constantly fretting about work, and this place was the perfect escape. We completely relaxed and never wanted to leave. I can't wait to have the time to go back!

Room Tip: Each room has the same private and beautiful view of the ocean. They are all amazing. We stayed at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge

Address: 12Km South of Dominical, Finca Achiote, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa near Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.