We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Luna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family just returned home after two wonderful nights at Luz De Luna. This place looks quite new. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pool was lovely. The room had tons of natural light and was decorated very nicely, with a comfortable bed, TV and AC. The food at La Fogata was so good we ended up eating every meal there! Try the Pizza, Bruscheta, Salads, Chicken and Ribs. The breakfast included was delicious and plentiful with Gallo Pinto, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Pancakes, Coffee, Fruit and freshly squeezed Orange Juice. The staff were all very nice and helpful. It is located half way down the unpaved road to Playa Ballena. We visited 3 beaches in 1 day: Dominical (which has huge waves, good for advanced surfers), Hermosa (great waves for beginner/intermediate surfers, unlike the other Playa Hermosa up north) and Uvita (free admission to Playa Ballena Park after 4pm for sunset). We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Maybe don't get a room next to the terraces upstairs because groups can congregate there and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff were amazing!!! We were there for a wedding and a few days after and everything was outstanding. The food is crazy good and the rooms and pool are lovely! I recommend this place over and over again! Thanks Philipe and Patricia!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Amazing attention and rates!, its beautiful and close to the beach, surrounded with nature and really nice people.
They have the most delicious pizza and pasta in town, its a place where you can rest,have fun and create life memories with your friends and family in an atmosphere of peace with nature and just the right price. I fully recommend it :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we checked in we had 3 separate rooms and each one smelled horrible of mildew. The air conditioning helped to vent some of it out but 2 of the 3 rooms never really cleared. The rooms are nicely appointed but one of the doors didn't lock and there were no safes in the rooms. We felt safe enough because its pretty isolated. They claim its 1 kilometer to the beach but I'm pretty sure it's closer to 1 mile+. Not very convenient for going to the beach easily and quickly. Beware, the beach is beautiful but it is a national park so you have to pay $6 to enter unless its after 4pm and if it is high tide, there is not much beach to be on. The owners and staff of Luz de Luna are very nice and friendly and the restaurant was fantastic. Lovely balconies on the second floor and a cute and fun pool. I would stay someplace else if I return though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I came and stayed for 5 nights. It was great! The place is super clean, the staff and the owners are beyond friendly, and the food at the restaurant was excellent (and I'm a picky eater). It was nice to have the pool and the air conditioning as well. My only complaint would be that the bed was a bit hard, but for the price this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got sick in Uvita and had to rest and heal for about two weeks... Not planed at all. At first we stayed at a hostel but it didn't fit our needs for a quite and peacefull place, we looked at other hotels to move and found this wonderfull hotel. The room, clean, comfy, quite and opens straight to the nice out door pool.
Patricia and Phelipe the owners treated us as we were family! Everything we needed was arranged imidietly and they kept asking for our health.
The location was perfect for us, its in a walking distance from the center ( where the doctors office :), and also a bit longer walking distance from the beach.
The last amazing thing about this place is the great italian restaurant they have. The best food ( and in 2 weeks in the same spot we tried most of it) in town, fresh, healthy and perfect service!
All we can say is that we would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we are ever back in Uvita, for sure we will be back in Luz de luna!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here this February and found it an oasis on our 4 month journey. It was clean and quiet with nice modernist design, very simple lines and good layout. The hostess and host were warm and accommodating. Nice balcony upstairs. The restaurant had some good dishes, and then breakfast included in the price was good.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs room because of more privacy, the view and and it was a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: 200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.