We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute pictures but not a great place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Luna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute pictures but not a great place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we checked in we had 3 separate rooms and each one smelled horrible of mildew. The air conditioning helped to vent some of it out but 2 of the 3 rooms never really cleared. The rooms are nicely appointed but one of the doors didn't lock and there were no safes in the rooms. We felt safe enough because its pretty isolated. They claim its 1 kilometer to the beach but I'm pretty sure it's closer to 1 mile+. Not very convenient for going to the beach easily and quickly. Beware, the beach is beautiful but it is a national park so you have to pay $6 to enter unless its after 4pm and if it is high tide, there is not much beach to be on. The owners and staff of Luz de Luna are very nice and friendly and the restaurant was fantastic. Lovely balconies on the second floor and a cute and fun pool. I would stay someplace else if I return though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I came and stayed for 5 nights. It was great! The place is super clean, the staff and the owners are beyond friendly, and the food at the restaurant was excellent (and I'm a picky eater). It was nice to have the pool and the air conditioning as well. My only complaint would be that the bed was a bit hard, but for the price this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got sick in Uvita and had to rest and heal for about two weeks... Not planed at all. At first we stayed at a hostel but it didn't fit our needs for a quite and peacefull place, we looked at other hotels to move and found this wonderfull hotel. The room, clean, comfy, quite and opens straight to the nice out door pool.
Patricia and Phelipe the owners treated us as we were family! Everything we needed was arranged imidietly and they kept asking for our health.
The location was perfect for us, its in a walking distance from the center ( where the doctors office :), and also a bit longer walking distance from the beach.
The last amazing thing about this place is the great italian restaurant they have. The best food ( and in 2 weeks in the same spot we tried most of it) in town, fresh, healthy and perfect service!
All we can say is that we would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we are ever back in Uvita, for sure we will be back in Luz de luna!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here this February and found it an oasis on our 4 month journey. It was clean and quiet with nice modernist design, very simple lines and good layout. The hostess and host were warm and accommodating. Nice balcony upstairs. The restaurant had some good dishes, and then breakfast included in the price was good.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs room because of more privacy, the view and and it was a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

They do need a sign for their hotel so it's easier to find, but what a great place. I can't wait to go back. Just being there on the patio I could bird-watch, take pictures of the gorgeous flowers in their lush garden, and then go down and order the pesto bruschetta, and just down the road 10 minutes is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. It's a small place and your worries can't follow you because there is no reason for worry there.

Room Tip: they don't have a fitness center or spa but their pool is very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andechs, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

To find it was our biggest problem, even there was many big signs. First we plan to stay just two days there, but because it was so nice ( friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms with AC, a small but very peacefull poolarea) we extend our stay. Philipe knows the area aound very good and give many advice where are nice things and places to visit. We spent a great time there, many thanks for these nice days.

Annette & Eddy from Germany ( Honda Tornado XR 250 :)) )

Room Tip: Rooms in first floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

i recently spent 4 days at the Envision festival in Uvita where camping was an option. I was volunteering and knew that I needed to be able to get a good night's sleep. Hotel Luz de Luna was one of hotels recommended by the festival folks. I am so glad we chose it! The rooms were clean, roomy, had AC and a wonderful shower. The restaurant was incredible! The room cost includes free breakfast which was the most amazing spread of yumminess you could ask for! The day after the festival we spend all day soaking in the beautiful pool and finally got to try the amazing pizza that they are known for. All-around perfect spot!

Room Tip: the hotel has two levels so if gong up and down the stairs is a problem i would request a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
2.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
9.3 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#10 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: 200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.