We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, absolutely perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Luz de Luna
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Uvita | Costa Rica, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Uvita B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect, absolutely perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We got sick in Uvita and had to rest and heal for about two weeks... Not planed at all. At first we stayed at a hostel but it didn't fit our needs for a quite and peacefull place, we looked at other hotels to move and found this wonderfull hotel. The room, clean, comfy, quite and opens straight to the nice out door pool.
Patricia and Phelipe the owners treated us as we were family! Everything we needed was arranged imidietly and they kept asking for our health.
The location was perfect for us, its in a walking distance from the center ( where the doctors office :), and also a bit longer walking distance from the beach.
The last amazing thing about this place is the great italian restaurant they have. The best food ( and in 2 weeks in the same spot we tried most of it) in town, fresh, healthy and perfect service!
All we can say is that we would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we are ever back in Uvita, for sure we will be back in Luz de luna!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here this February and found it an oasis on our 4 month journey. It was clean and quiet with nice modernist design, very simple lines and good layout. The hostess and host were warm and accommodating. Nice balcony upstairs. The restaurant had some good dishes, and then breakfast included in the price was good.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs room because of more privacy, the view and and it was a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

They do need a sign for their hotel so it's easier to find, but what a great place. I can't wait to go back. Just being there on the patio I could bird-watch, take pictures of the gorgeous flowers in their lush garden, and then go down and order the pesto bruschetta, and just down the road 10 minutes is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. It's a small place and your worries can't follow you because there is no reason for worry there.

Room Tip: they don't have a fitness center or spa but their pool is very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andechs, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

To find it was our biggest problem, even there was many big signs. First we plan to stay just two days there, but because it was so nice ( friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms with AC, a small but very peacefull poolarea) we extend our stay. Philipe knows the area aound very good and give many advice where are nice things and places to visit. We spent a great time there, many thanks for these nice days.

Annette & Eddy from Germany ( Honda Tornado XR 250 :)) )

Room Tip: Rooms in first floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

i recently spent 4 days at the Envision festival in Uvita where camping was an option. I was volunteering and knew that I needed to be able to get a good night's sleep. Hotel Luz de Luna was one of hotels recommended by the festival folks. I am so glad we chose it! The rooms were clean, roomy, had AC and a wonderful shower. The restaurant was incredible! The room cost includes free breakfast which was the most amazing spread of yumminess you could ask for! The day after the festival we spend all day soaking in the beautiful pool and finally got to try the amazing pizza that they are known for. All-around perfect spot!

Room Tip: the hotel has two levels so if gong up and down the stairs is a problem i would request a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel Luz de Luna was a god send to our team during the week of the Envision festival. A sweet home away from home with the yummiest food and trustworthy hosts. Thank you Patricia and Felipe for taking such good care of us!! The restaurant was an extra bonus....incredible coffee and yummy food made with love. THANK YOU! Heather

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I just recently stayed at Luz de Luna and loved it. The owners, Felipe and Patricia are excellent hosts. They gave from their hearts in helping us arrange travel and made us the best breakfast every morning. If you are staying in this area of Costa Rica...this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: Uvita | Costa Rica, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.