We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Oase” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Luz de Luna
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Uvita | Costa Rica, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Uvita B&B and Inns
Andechs, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Smooth Oase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

To find it was our biggest problem, even there was many big signs. First we plan to stay just two days there, but because it was so nice ( friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms with AC, a small but very peacefull poolarea) we extend our stay. Philipe knows the area aound very good and give many advice where are nice things and places to visit. We spent a great time there, many thanks for these nice days.

Annette & Eddy from Germany ( Honda Tornado XR 250 :)) )

Room Tip: Rooms in first floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

i recently spent 4 days at the Envision festival in Uvita where camping was an option. I was volunteering and knew that I needed to be able to get a good night's sleep. Hotel Luz de Luna was one of hotels recommended by the festival folks. I am so glad we chose it! The rooms were clean, roomy, had AC and a wonderful shower. The restaurant was incredible! The room cost includes free breakfast which was the most amazing spread of yumminess you could ask for! The day after the festival we spend all day soaking in the beautiful pool and finally got to try the amazing pizza that they are known for. All-around perfect spot!

Room Tip: the hotel has two levels so if gong up and down the stairs is a problem i would request a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel Luz de Luna was a god send to our team during the week of the Envision festival. A sweet home away from home with the yummiest food and trustworthy hosts. Thank you Patricia and Felipe for taking such good care of us!! The restaurant was an extra bonus....incredible coffee and yummy food made with love. THANK YOU! Heather

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I just recently stayed at Luz de Luna and loved it. The owners, Felipe and Patricia are excellent hosts. They gave from their hearts in helping us arrange travel and made us the best breakfast every morning. If you are staying in this area of Costa Rica...this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

If you are coming to Uvita, whale, dolphin, caverns, or business, mi case. This small hotel will be all you need, try their pizza!!! And enjoy. Jaime Diaz March 9, 2012

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at Luz de Luna Hotel during the Envision Festival in Uvita. It is hard to express in words how wonderful the experience was in every way. The hosts, Felipe and Patricia, are completely dedicated to assuring that every guest is completely happy. We were treated like royalty. Felipe and Patricia went out of their way to show us local sites and make us feel like welcome family at the hotel Accomodations were comfortable, clean, and in top working condition Newly remodeled, the rooms are lovely, and the bathrooms very comfortable. Wifi and air conditioners work perfectly, and the pool with wet bar was lovely. The grounds were beautiful and very secure. Safety is so important when traveling! The breakfasts, which were included in the price, were extraordinary. I have stayed at many hotels, but have never had breakfast of the quality they serve. Fresh fruit, a huge variety of grilled vegetables, avocados, eggs, rice and beans, bacon, potatoes, excellent bread, cheeses, were served every morning. The meal was so satisfying we didn't have to eat again till dinner! And the Fogata Restaurant on site had fantastic food and service. The chicken asada was roasted at the wood fire rotisserie every day. Bruchetta and Pizza was better than any I have tasted in California. All in all, Luz de Luna offers some of the best hospitality, caring, service, and spirit we have ever experienced during a hotel stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was in Uvita for nearly a week performing for the Envision Festival. Felipe, Patricia and their staff genuinely were my saving grace. They treated us like family with such love and care including smiles, hugs and real concern for our needs. They shared everything with us. Felipe even came to get us one day when we were running late! And breakfast was beyond delicious with grilled vegetables, fresh fruit and eggs. We stayed in the Casita and had our own kitchen, but the food was so delicious in the restaurant, we preferred to eat there. Thank you Luz de Luna!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: Uvita | Costa Rica, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.