We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place in Costa Rica and best vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho DiAndrew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho DiAndrew
Save
You added Rancho DiAndrew to your Saves list
4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most beautiful place in Costa Rica and best vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The Rancho DiAndrew is ca. 4 km from the beach a little bit in the hills surrounded by nature and so a perfectly place to relax, live in the day and to relive stress. For me it was Pura Vida.
During my 3 weeks vacation there I did waterfall tours was surfing and played softball.
The waterfall tours are a big experience for everybody (kids and adults) and they are very close to the Rancho DiAndrew. During the way to the watherfalls you can see a lot of animals very often monkeys.
Andrew knows a lot of places for surfers (beginners to profis) and you can learn it very fast if you do a surf lesson. In Uvita you can play softball every Saturday just for fun. Andrew is grilling his famous pork sandwiches and hotdogs.
The Rancho DiAndrew is something for people how love the nature and a very family atmosphere.
For me it was the best vacation for ever.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Superlatives understate the hospitality, comfort, beauty and pleasure that Rncho DiAndrew offers. Andrew, our host, made us feel as much at home as any close relative. The meals were "art", as one guest described breakfast; and art is deliscious. We had the good fortune,on very short notice, of staying in one of the cabinas overlooking the rainforest in view of the ocean and the "Whale's Tail". The elevated yurt-style tent was private and well protected, but provided an unrivaled view of the countryside. It was as spacious, yet cozier, than any hotel we had seen.
While we did not take advantage of the many specialty tours (waterfalls, nature hikes, surfing, night excursions...), the immediate grounds afforded countless opportunities to see and photograph amazing birds, butterflies, flowers and natural landscapes.
We visited seven cities in our jaunt across Costa Rica. We may have seen many fewer if Rancho Dindrew had been our first stop. If your visit is limited and you want to see 'essential Costa Rica', Rancho DiAndrew has it all: rainforest, mountains, beaches, wildlife and wonderful people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Rancho DiAndrew is a must visit destination if you are choosing the Uvita area. Your host Andrew know's how to make his guests feel right at home.
The home cooked meals look and taste like art. The accomodations are lovely, perfect really and affordable.
And the waterfall tours are unbelievably beautiful.
If you get the chance do drop in. We spent three day's and look forward to going back soon and staying much longer. Was hard to leave paradise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This place is located in the jungle and surrounded by many waterfalls. After visiting this guesthouse in the mountains you will not want to stay anywhere near the beach - the experience is just so much more rewarding. Andrew Mattison, who runs the place, cooks the best food in Costa Rica, and does the best waterfall and nature tours with his buddy biologist Ryan King.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our stay in one of the cabinas was better than any hotel could offer. The tent cabina was very spacious, clean and beautifully constructed. The platforms were spectacularly placed with private outdoor shower, private bathroom and terrace.

You would be hard pressed to find a view better than this. We woke up to an ocean view and a view of the Whale's Tail (a famous sandbar that whales migrate to annually that is just happened to be shaped like a whale's tail). All of this view from IN our bed!

Toucans, birds, monkeys and other wildlife were everywhere. It was a great place for hiking and visiting waterfalls. This is an ideal setting for a yoga retreat or group retreat as well as for anyone who enjoys all the nature Costa Rica has to offer.

Drew was an exceptional host was quick to offer anything to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. It was such a memorable experience that we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Rancho DiAndrew is tucked away just a few KM off the main road that runs along the coast through Uvita, Costa Rica.

This place is incredible! The views are absolutely amazing- sweeping vistas of the coast and whale tale sand bar beyond the beautiful rain forest from pretty much everywhere on the property.

The ample grounds are well groomed yet still are lush from being IN the rain forest. There's tons of native wildlife from monkeys to toucans. I spent hours lounging on a hammock just listening to the sounds of the rain forest!

I stayed in the house, though next time I'd love to do the cabinas. They are really comfortable and have their own outdoor bathroom with a private open shower that looks over the breathtaking coastal views! The backpacker's accommodations also look spiffy and are a great deal. There's access to an outdoor kitchen so if you're on a budget you can cook your own meals. Breakfast came with my accommodations and was totally delicious! Plus, the coffee- oh how I miss it.

The service was impeccable. The hosts really make you feel at home. They have surf boards and body boards to loan if you want to hit the beach. They also know the area incredibly well. Ryan the biologist leads night tours of the rain forest, and Andrew the host does waterfall tours of all the best hidden spots! They give you a really warm and welcome vibe. I highly recommend doing both.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's peaceful, beautiful, comfortable and surprisingly inexpensive, Rancho DiAndrew is the place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho DiAndrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho DiAndrew

Address: 4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rancho DiAndrew Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho DiAndrew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.