We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning to Oxygen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Will not be returning to Oxygen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Oxygen was just not the place for us. After travelling in Costa Rica for 10 days, we arrived at Oxygen Jungle Villas. I think I had high expectations from the website and all of the great experiences I had on my trip previous to Oxygen.
Upon arrival we were shown our villa. Upon first entering it felt really cold. This is probably because the staff is wearing jeans and black t-shirts in the hot Costa Rican climate. We turned off the a/c and at that time I noticed a glade plug in. I unplugged it because of sensitivities to the chemical fragrence. Soon we realized that the glade plug in was there because the villa had a musty smell. We then turned on the dehumidifier to see if that would help. It did not.
The dinner menu is surprise, and I appreciate more choice. We ended up doing a lot of driving up and down the hill to go into Dominical to eat at the local places. I loved the Thai/Indian place cocount ginger, Morgan's Park, and the restruaunt at Cuna De Angel, just past Tikki Villas, the original Bali Style establishment in Uvita.
I did not feel that Oxygen was a great value for Costa Rica. I stayed at three other establishments, and all were less money, same level of service, and included breakfast.
As far as the cleanliness goes, the place was clean, but the only seats in our villa besides the bed was a couch with mold growing on the cusion.
We will not be returning to Oxygen on our next trip. The staff was great, but the downsides to my experience all outweigh the service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear you were not entirely pleased with your stay. It saddens us that, even though we truly go out of our way with every single guest, we have not been able to make your experience 5 star. We would have appreciated the chance to enhance your stay, however no concerns were expressed to our staff. Our 75 m2 private villas are normally considered fantastic value for money, not to mention the popularity of our daily changing 4-course surprise meals. Upon arrival of guests, we treat everyone to a welcome drink and a cold towel while we prepare their room; a service that is normally greatly appreciated. This includes handling all luggage, switching on lights and music, adding a fragrance to the room, and switching on the a/c to what is generally considered a comfortable cool temperature. Naturally, the a/c in the villas is there strictly for our guests’ pleasure – our staff is very comfortable wearing the outfits mentioned at any temperature. We then take our time to personally show all guests to their room, and explain everything inside the villa, including how the a/c is operated. If you think the room is too cold, simply pick up the remote and enter a slightly higher temperature. We do not recommend using the dehumidifier option as the a/c works much better in this tropical climate and will easily keep any rainforest dampness out. Please do consider the fact that we are in the middle of the jungle, at 300 meters altitude. Half of the villa space is outdoors. The large sofas we have in every villa are outside, on a covered porch area and needless to say there is a constant upkeep to protect our comfortable cushions against the influence of the surrounding rainforest. We change, clean and re-new covers of cushions constantly and in this case we seemed to have missed a spot, for which we sincerely apologize. What we would like to ask all our future guests is to please inform us about anything that is not 100% satisfactory in your villa. We will do anything to fix any problem you may have, or for instance explain the most effective use of the a/c further. In this case, the change of a simple pillow cover would have taken 10 minutes and could have avoided the frustration this guest had over it. We assure you there are much better picture opportunities at Oxygen Jungle Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    49
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
295
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The place is fabulous with a Capital "F"...... Flora & Edwin have thought of everything! The design of the entire property lends itself to your comfort and experience..... From the layout/privacy of your accommodations to the carefully cut path to the waterfalls! The meals are incredible---- the "surprise" dinners will far exceed your expectations. While every aspect of this boutique hotel spells professionalism, it also excels in making you feel like the property just wasn't complete until YOU arrive! As many other reviewers have indicated, the service here is unparalleled......the staff is quiet & unobtrusive, Yet EVER SO helpful when you need them! David, Vivian & Marcella extend the same strong service mentality you see from the owners!!! You really have a superb team there---thank you!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Each and everyone at oxygen was so kind, so professional and so welcoming.
We loved EVERY minute.

We would highlr recommend staying in lodge 11 or 12 if you want to experience seclusion and nature.
The food is of the highest quality and creativity.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Thank you Edwin, Flora, David, and other staff for making our stay one of the most memorable places we have ever been to! Your resort is absolutely beautiful and the separate all glass casitas made for a very unique experience, especially as the sun rose each morning and we opened our eyes to nature all around us!

Readers - If you are looking for a "off the beaten track" place to stay in the small town of Uvita, Costa Rica, this is it! You can either rent a 4x4 and drive the countryside yourself, or take taxis, which turn into tour guides by the driver who will stop at any given moment to show you monkeys, toucans, and other wildlife as he spots them while driving. Edwin and Flora will be happy to assist with travel arrangements wherever you want to go!!

Again, to Edwin and Flora....from the moment you came out to greet us as we arrived to the moment we had to leave, you all were nothing but fantastic. We felt catered to as if we were the only ones there and we so thank you for the wonderful memories we made!!

By the way....your chef is fantastic and if I had one suggesetion, it would be to introduce him each evening so everyone could meet him and praise his creative dishes! So delicious!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We went to OJV with high expectations. The road up to the villas was worse than we imagined. Only one trip a day, away from OJV, was all we could stand. Plus with rain, it just added more of an adventure than we really wanted!
The villas are unique & very cool. We felt they fell a little short though when it came to practicality & luxury. What I'm referring to are small details in the bathroom area. (minimal towels, poor lighting, no place for toiletries/soap in shower, mirror access, shower drain odor)
Dinner every night at the OJV restaurant was truly a highlight with a surprise 5-course meal. The food & service really was fabulous!!
We were disappointed we didn't get to utilize the pool due to weather, but the space looked very appeasing.
I'd recommend going to the waterfall & natural pool by the hotel. Again, not easy to get to(on foot), but it was fun swimming there!
Ed & Flora, the owners, were very knowledgeable & helpful in directing us to restaurants, beaches, & excursions!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and to provide us with feedback that will improve our hotel further. As a new hotel, constructive input from our guests is invaluable to us and we will continue to make improvements where we can, based on this input. You may be pleased to hear that we have acted upon your remarks to increase our guests comfort: we are currently adding an additional reading light to the 12 lights (with individual dimmers) already in the villas. We have completed installation of a corner shelf in the shower with enough space to hold your toiletries and soap and we are adding an additional full-size mirror to the villas. We always have additional towels available for guests needing extras. When it comes to the road and drainage, November was an extraordinary month in the history of Costa Rica with more rain than anybody in the country could deal with. A national disaster was declared and we were lucky enough to keep our road clear and all villas dry and operating. It was a challenging month for the entire country and without any doubt; you have seen our road at its worst. In the meantime, several road repairs have been done and although we are still on a bumpy 4x4 road, it will take no more than 10 minutes to get to and from the paved road in Uvita. We hope to welcome you back to Oxygen sometime soon so you can see the improvements on these details with your own eyes –and to take a dip in our pool in the sunshine (which has returned in full glory)! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We've been there for 4 days in December, and it's really a fantastic place! Fantastic view, beautiful pool, really nice people and outstanding villas (all 4 walls are in glass so you don't lost the view when inside).
One recommandation: please, have a 4x4 because the road to go there is really terrible during 2 miles (or you will have to spend some money on 4x4 taxis, which are available in town - but is Uvita really a "town"? It's such a small place...).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We just returned from a 9 night trip in Costa Rica for our honeymoon, spending 7 of those at Oxygen Jungle Villas in Villa #3 (the best in our opinion!). First and foremost, I don't see how you will find two owners that care more about your stay than Ed and Flora. They and their staff provided the best service we could've dreamed of. You truly feel like you are the only couple staying there and you have they and their staff's undivided attention. They set up all our tours on a moments notice (and great tours at that), provided excellent insight about the area, and outstanding recommendations for eating outside the onsight restaurant (which was also top notch!). The Villas are set-up superbly, each with excellent privacy and serenity. Nice front outside sitting area, glass enclosed main area with king bed (very comfortable - had the best sleep we've had in quite some time), spacious bath area (frosted glass surrounded), drapes can fully separate the inside from outside. Room service daily that leaves the villa just as you arrived. Beautiful grounds covered in different trees, plants, and unique flowers and includes a small preserve with stream and trails. Their "restaurant" area is set up next to the infinity pool and covered, including fans. It is a great spot to spend eating or even just having a drink overlooking the pacific ocean. We can't imagine having spent our honeymoon any other place, it was the perfect getaway for us to spend quality time together. The entrance road is a bit rough (not unlike all other roads off the main highway down there!) and gets a little steep in a spot or two, they recommend 4wd and so would I. One of the best things about the place is that we didn't have a TV!! We were able to realize how nice it is to COMPLETELY unwind and relax with no distractions. All of this, and it is one of the BEST DEALS you will find down there. The price is almost unbelievable. Thanks to Ed, Flora and the rest of the exceptional staff (especially David putting up with all my questions!) for an unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
5.5 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
7.5 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
8.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.