We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 nights at oxygen - perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“9 nights at oxygen - perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I am writing this review on the last day of our 9-night honeymoon at Oxygen, from the porch of villa #3 while looking over the ocean and watching birds and animals in the jungle - I just heard a howler monkey in the distance. In short, the reviews that you may have already read on TripAdvisor about Oxygen Jungle Villa's wonderful staff, excellent service, beautiful setting, extraordinary four course dinners, and gorgeous bali-style grounds and modern glass villas are all accurate. I have travelled extensively, and have been fortunate to stay at some of the most highly regarded / rated properties in the world (i.e. one of my favorites is Singita Game Reserve in South Africa). Oxygen Jungle Villas is now near the top of my list.

Before booking at Oxygen, I had looked at some other resorts in Costa Rica. On-line one looked like it was in a remote jungle setting overlooking the ocean. Then after getting to Costa Rica we saw it when going to Manuel Antonio National Park - it was surrounded by other resorts and tourist-trap restaurants and shops. In contrast, Oxygen is in a very private setting truly surrounded by jungle. This may not be the ideal location for everyone, though. If you prefer to have American style bars and restaurants within walking distance of a hotel, want a vibrant night life, and want to be surrounded by people then you probably wouldn't enjoy Oxygen. This is an intimate, romantic, and peaceful resort.

One of the things that we really liked is the front porch of our villa with the oversized outdoor sofa (big enough for two reclining). It was a great private place to read, nap, enjoy coffee, or have champagne. When we wanted to be more social, we could walk about 25 yards to the pool area, where staff bring you water and offer drinks and you may meet and talk with other guests.

The short hike to the waterfall on the Oxygen property shouldn't be missed. You may see howler monkeys or coati along the way.

A trip to Oxygen can be a perfect blend of relaxation and adventure. Staff had excellent recommendations for tours and activities which they coordinated for us. Our favorite was a full-day trip to Corcovado National Park. After driving about an hour south to the tour company's location, you board a small boat which takes you down a river for a half hour or so, then you go out into the ocean for another 45 minutes or so, until you arrive at a ranger station only accessible by boat. From there we hiked with a naturalist for a few hours who pointed out howler monkeys, spider monkeys, an agouti (sp?), an ant eater, a variety of birds, a non-venomous snake, a poison dart frog, tracks of a Tapir, and much more. On our way back, when we got to the river we saw about a 10-ft crocodile, and the guide gave us a very informative tour of the mangroves and discussed these trees' fascinating mammalian-style method of reproducing.

Other activities we particularly enjoyed were a non-guided hike of Manuel Antonio National Park which was teeming with wildlife, a zip-line tour in Dominical at Hacienda Baru that included a surprising level of naturalist information not just the thrill of the ziplines (we learned all about leaf-cutter ants, saw two-toed and three toed sloths, etc.), and an ATV tour around the hills of Uvita that are inaccessible by car.

We come from a very food-focused city (Portland, Oregon) and eat at high quality restaurants probably far too much. I know that everyone has talked about how wonderful Oxygen's dinners are - but we couldn't agree more. The chef's meals rival the best in our city. I suspect it may be the best food in C.R.

One last thing. This is the rainy season in Costa Rica. While this may put some people off, we don't think it impacted our stay much. The mornings and most of the afternoons were rain-free allowing us to enjoy our adventures out, but come late afternoon (early afternoon on two days) we had rain (sometimes torrential). Yet, once the rain began we would enjoy time out on our covered deck reading and listening to the jungle sounds. Dining at Oxygen is outdoors, but under a covered area so it isn't an issue to enjoy dining al fresco despite the rain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    40
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
264
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Paradise here on earth is what we found at Oxygen Jungle Villas in Costa Rica!. This place is magical! Ed and Flora, the owners, along with the entire staff, treated us like royalty. The infinity pool is freshwater with no chlorine and a spectacular view of the pacific ocean. It is situated in the treetops - home to howler monkeys, birds, butterflies and more. Dinner is all inclusive at 29.00 per person. First class cuisine in a five star hotel. Coffee in room is delicious; there is also a refrigerator in every room. Situated on three acres there is a hiking trail to a private waterfall where you actually swim. The cost of a cab down the mountain is 10.00 one way. This was, by far, the Best of the Best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

It is so hard summing up my experience at this fantastic boutique hotel. The quality of the chic clubhouse, modern facilities, infinity pool, and Bali personal yoga studio, perfectly contrasted the serene rainforest. With ocean views, augmented by the sounds of the occasional Toucan, Howler monkey, and even a flock of parrots, I was in heaven. The food was every bit as exquisite as the resort. I've been traveling to Costa Rica for over 11 years and have stayed at dozens of hotels, and this is no doubt my #1 favorite!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed there about 5 days ago with my fiancé. Perfect stay. The view from the swimming pool is just stunning. Special thanks to the chef and his 5 courses-dinner. His potato puree is delicious. Rooms are very modern and confortables. We loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife and I just returned from four nights at Oxygen Jungle Villas. Let me first describe what Oxygen is not - Oxygen is not a resort for those who want to check-in to their hotel and never leave. Oxygen is an intimate, beautiful, relaxing, private hotel that serves as a great base for exploring the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. In addition to its outstanding physical attributes, the staff is outstanding. Edward and Flora and their team are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to offer great suggestions and accommodate any and all requests. We enthusiastically recommend Oxygen Jungle Villas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights in March. We were not 100% sure what to expect and ended up really enjoying this place. If you are looking for a large resort with enormous pools, multiple bars, and on the beach, this is not the place. If you really want to relax, this is the place. The Villa was very cool! Floor to ceiling glass with jungle all around you. Don't let the glass scare you as there are floor to ceiling shades as well. The main area is small and very nice. Infinity pool that looks a few miles to the ocean and an area to eat. I was skeptical, but the food was outstanding. Aside from breakfast and lunch, they offer a surprise dinner nightly for a really good price (Think it was around $25). We ended up eating there most nights as the dinners were so good!!!! The owners are as good as it gets. They were a great resource for things to do in the area. They are extremely helpful, but at the same time give you your space. If you are looking for a romantic type place without the distractions of TV and hundreds of guests, this is the place. I have recommended it to many already. It is not on the ocean, but is only a 15 minute drive.

P.S. When they say you need a 4wd vehicle, they mean it! We had 4wd drive Bego and it did just fine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I've travelled a fair amount - including a trip from Alaska to Argentina - and stayed in my fair share of hotels, so when I say that Oxygen Villas is the best I've been to you have some frame of reference.

We arrived after a lot of trouble at another Uvita hotel the previous evening, some issues with our reservation had led to us having to argue at check in AND check out in the humidity, so we drove up the trail to find Oxygen with some trepidation. When we arrived the experience could not have been more different, Edwin and his staff were waiting for us and everything was taken care of while we sat beside the pool drinking and cooling off.

The hotel was like a small part of Bali transplanted into the pristine pacific Costa Rican rainforest. Except that at Oxygen you can wake up at 6am and sit out front in the cool of the morning listening to Howler Monkeys woofing, and spot Toucans and Hummingbirds in the jungle. The layout of the hotel has been given a lot of thought and although the pool/restaurant area is only a few steps away, the rooms are very quiet and secluded. The excellent airconditioning was a big plus and you could shut the glass doors on the jungle and be nice and cool in a few minutes. We were booked in for two nights and immediately asked to extend our stay to three, this was taken care of by the staff without any fuss at all.

There is a small trail back into the rainforest and you can swim under a little waterfall, surrounded by noisy cicadas. Perfect for cooling off in the heat. My top tip :)

The food in the restaurant was delicious, and two nights we enjoyed the "surprise" menu for dinner. The chef is simply first class. I could easily recommend just staying there to eat...

But what makes this place is the staff. They were extremely polite and professional, and stayed out of your way unless you needed them. We were travelling with my parents-in-law (Bill and Linda say hi by the way, Edwin) and Edwin always took the time to talk, nothing was ever too much trouble. Not often hotel owners do that.

It's been several months since we stayed at Oxygen Jungle Villas but often when the family chat the talk strays back to our stay there. And we look forward to returning.

Fraser.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.