We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights would have been perfect...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Three nights would have been perfect...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Of all the places we stayed on our trip to Costa Rica, I looked forward to staying at Oxygen most. The hosts, the setting, the food and the decor of the rooms and public areas were indeed truly lovely. However it is not an easy place to get to and from and may not suit everyone. I'm afraid the steep, bumpy drive put us off going out to eat, except for one of the evenings, and the pool/restaurant area communal area is a bit small so, as on a cruise ship, you have to get on with everyone. This meant we got a bit stir crazy by the end of the week and the novelty of the food wore off. Just three nights would have been perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
An average stay at Oxygen is 6 nights, because there is such a wide range of activities within short range, all easily accessible. National Parks Corcovado, Manuel Antonio and Caño Island are all daytrips from Oxygen. National Park Marino Ballena dictates the view from the resort and surf town Dominical and culinary town Ojochal are both within half an hour from the resort. We encourage people to enjoy everything Oxygen has to offer, but to certainly head out often and explore the surroundings. As we know the area extremely well, please allow us to assist you with your itinerary and daily planning. We are happy to, at no additional charge, arrange your tours or for example call a taxi to a nearby restaurant. Just let us know what would make your stay 5-star and we’ll arrange it!

As we are on a true jungle location (hence our name), our dirt road changes a little with the seasons: from smooth and comfortable right after we fix it, to bumpy and a little rough right before. The road has recently had its (annual) fix and is currently very easy to drive. The road is always safe (year round) and it has never taken anybody longer than 10 minutes to get down to the paved costal road (not counting stops for sloths crossing the road or other wildlife encounters!). The road up takes you away from the busy main road and into quiet and peaceful jungle territory, the reason for visiting Costa Rica’s Southern Zone for many in the first place and exactly the reason why we picked this spot for O2 –besides the amazing views and cool breezes.

Oxygen offers only 12 villas for a maximum of 2 (adults) per villa. Our clubhouse area is designed for this select number of visitors and all guests have private dining tables and sun lounges. There is no need to socialize if you choose not to (which is probably why we are a popular honeymoon location), but with so many like-minded people here there is often a fun vibe. All villas have a spacious private and covered terrace with a large couch and an in room entertainment system, so if you wish you can always retreat to the privacy of the villa.

We would like to take the opportunity to thank not just above, but all reviewers for their kind words and receiving 50 ‘excellent’ reviews in such short time after our opening. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    48
    29
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
286
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband (Mark) and I just got back after eloping in Costa Rica in May. In the middle of planning a local wedding we decided how different and exciting it would be to elope (just the 2 of us) than have a traditional ceremony. I did a ton of research on hotels and came across Oxygen Jungle Villas- we wanted a quiet peaceful getaway and this was absolutely what we were looking for. There was nothing but positive reviews, and the villas looked gorgeous online. We contacted Flora and Edwin about our plans and within a day found us a local wedding planner. In addition, they offered to plan and handle the entire wedding themselves with all of the accoutrements included, including taking pictures and video if we preferred. We decided on letting Oxygen make it happen for us – it was significantly less and we had confidence that they could make it happen in just 2 weeks.

We arrived at Oxygen the day before the wedding and were welcomed with their signature cocktail, and shown our room. Our ocean view villa was breathtaking! The sliding glass doors allowed us to still enjoy the outside when I needed a break from the heat while the sitting area outside our room offered Mark a perfect reading/relaxing area.

On the big day Flora and Edwin took care of everything-the lawyer performing the ceremony, flowers, champagne, selecting the beachfront location, a violinist, decorations-way more than either of us were expecting. Literally the only thing we had to do was show up. Before our arrival in Costa Rica Flora asked us to write “our story” which she revamped and made it into a beautiful addition to the wedding. After the ceremony the staff decorated our room with flowers and the most amazing tiramisu wedding cake, made especially for us by their fantastic chef. I mention this because it showed us how dedicated Flora, Edwin and the entire Oxygen staff was to making sure our experience at Oxygen was very special. I almost forgot to mention the following day we had a fabulous couple’s massage at their spa just before nightfall, a perfect prelude to dinner.

Apart from the amazing views, the awesome infinity pool and the sleek, modern deco, Oxygen offered one of the best, most interesting 4-course dinner that’s prepared specially every night. Being from Chicago which is known for its great restaurants, we are foodies, and were impressed. We never even thought about venturing out. The breakfast options were spectacular too (love the whole grain banana pancakes!).
Before leaving we were already talking about returning to Oxygen for our 1 year anniversary-hopefully we’ll celebrate with another fantastic tiramisu cake!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We found out about Oxygen through the Conde Nast Travel magazine because they were listed on their 2010 Hot List, and after going to their website, we knew right away that we wanted to go there to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Our expectations were beyond exceeded! The boutique-resort (as I like to call it) was absolutely perfect. When we arrived, we were so excited and our energy was high, but we quickly realized that we were in such a zen place, that we needed to take a minute to collect ourselves and relax! We were immediately greeted by the staff and were given a moist towel and welcome drink (alcohol optional.) While we were soaking it all in, Edwin had already taken our luggage down to our villa. We chatted with Alicia while we had our drink and then she took us down to Villa #4 (which I HIGHLY recommend by the way) We had an amazing view of the ocean while being surrounded by the beautiful jungle.

THE VILLAS: The villas are all absolutely amazing and beautiful. They are also surprisingly very private. Not only are there shades you can close on the inside of the floor to ceiling glass windows, there are also exterior shades giving you plenty of privacy from your neighbor. And it that wasn’t enough, there are strategically placed plants and trees on the outside of those to fill in all the gaps! The villas are beautifully decorated and the space is utilized extremely well. The front patio is perfect for resting and relaxing, not to mention gorgeous and the inside felt like a spa with a bed! The bed was so comfortable and we slept very well. There are double vanity sinks with plenty of shelf space below to put your things. The rain shower was wonderful. All the villas come with a portable dvd/cd player/iPod dock. We used this everyday to listen to music (they provide a soothing, relaxation cd) or watch a movie. (They have a library of dvds to borrow at the front desk.) The villa was very clean and cool- you can set the thermostat to your desired temperature.

THE SERVICE: We received impeccable service and individual attention from everyone on staff. In fact, we didn’t feel like we were at a hotel at all, but more staying at an amazing beach house with friends and family: Flora, Edwin, Alicia, Laura, & Linda. Everyone was so genuinely nice and helpful and they will go above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience you can have.

THE RESTAURANT/SPA: We ate every dinner and almost every other meal at the resort. They offer breakfast, lunch & dinner and have items to purchase for snacks as well. I’ll start with breakfast. The banana pancakes were hands down the best pancakes I have ever had. There were only a few options for lunch but they were all very good. Nice & light, which was nice since we were usually eating in our swimsuits! Dinner was wonderful. The chef has a 5-course “surprise” menu every night with fresh local ingredients. You literally don’t know what you’re going to eat until it is set in front of you! I think of the 4 nights we ate, there was only 1 course that we didn’t LOVE, everything else was absolutely delicious. We treated ourselves to a couples massage and they were great. There is not a “spa facility” per se, but it worked out quite nicely and if you want, you can have your massage on the front patio of your villa. Will probably do that next time!

THE SURROUNDINGS: I have never in my life seen anything more beautiful than this place. The best part about this whole place was just the natural beauty and wildlife. There were so many beautiful birds, flowers, trees, plants and views. Their private reserve is gorgeous. They have their very own trail to their private waterfall which, if you choose, you can climb up. The resort is not on the beach, but it has stunning beach views and the beach is just a short drive away. The wildlife that surrounds the villas is incomparable. We saw toucans, howler monkeys, hummingbirds, giant butterflies, and several other species of birds and lizards. Another plus about this place is that since it is so far up the mountain, the mosquitoes are practically non-existent. But don’t let that fool you; you will definitely need your bug spray if you venture down the hill! The pool is like nothing I've ever seen. It literally just blends in with the Pacific Ocean and is just stunning. The turquoise Balinese tile makes the water the most beautiful shade of blue. That surrounded by the mahogany-stained wood deck and bright white furniture are the perfect balance of beauty and contrast.

THE WARNINGS: I will admit the drive up the mountain the first time was a little intimidating, but after a few times we felt like pros! If you are looking for a place to go and “party” this is not the place for you. It’s not stuffy or boring by any means, it’s just not the style of the resort and we happened to find that VERY refreshing. If you are addicted to technology, you’ll have to get creative and settle for the free wi-fi, (bring your laptop, as far as I know there isn’t a computer for public use) or go elsewhere for television and cell phone service. There were some people that were able to use their cell phones, but you had to stand in a specific spot and there are no telephones in the rooms. (We used Skype to call home and check in with our kids.) While most people we came into contact with spoke English, I really wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish. So I recommend doing that if you can.

And the last, final warning that they really should post somewhere is the probability that you will most likely get depressed upon departure because it is such an incredible place and you won’t want to leave. :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We arrived in the darkness of the early evening and it felt like driving into a dream .. when we woke up the next morning the dream turned out to be real! What a wonderful place owners Floor and Edwin created here! Be sure to taste the great food, take a dip in the beautiful pool, watch the birds from your private terrace and take a walk to the waterfall on the property!! Hard to leave?! Definitely!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Oxygen was the most wonderful place in the world -- truly paradise. I'd never been anywhere like it before. My husband and I spent our honeymoon here, and we extended our stay an extra night. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Edwin and Flora are so great-- I really enjoyed talking to them. They are passionate about what they do, and they went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. You can relax by the pool or be adventurous (we tried zip-lining and surfing). It was so peaceful and beautiful by the pool. The room was clean and comfortable. I slept SO well here. The food is incredible. We ate here all 6 nights of our stay. We met some really nice couples. There's a beautiful path to a waterfall and a little yoga hut where we went to practice yoga and enjoy the sounds of nature. I had the best massage I've ever had here. This is a place where you can relax, unwind and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I just returned home this evening from a 6 day stay at OJV celebrating our honeymoon. We both felt compelled to post a review expressing our truly amazing experience! The location, in and of itself, is a little slice of heaven that is one of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen. You get to experience the beauty of both jungle and ocean views with a very zen-like feel. The villas are so romantic and peaceful and surrounded by lush landscape with a variety of hummingbirds and butterflies. The food was superb. We had the 4 course meals every night and never ventured elsewhere for dinner as the food was delectable and impossible to beat. Most impressive to us, however, was the hospitality of the staff and owners. Edwin was the most gracious host our entire stay and really made our trip memorable. He personalized our trip with maps and tours that were specific to our interests. It truly was one of the best customer service experiences we've ever had. If Costa Rica is on your list of travels, you must stay at OJV's. This is truly an experience of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Floor & Edwin are the perfect host for a perfect stay. We stayed for two nights in Vila 1 nice surrounding sounds and shots. After a week in Corcovado we went back because we couldn't resist it...

Don't hesitate this is a place you have to visit. Not only the Hotel concept but also the amazing food.

We definitely go back soon...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.