We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine going anywhere else in the region...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't imagine going anywhere else in the region...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We arrived in the first week of the rainy season for our pre-honeymoon. ( we were married on the 9th and arrived on the st to relax and get in the right mindset for our wedding.) After 30 solid hours of travel, the searing heat of the Pacific coast in May, and heavy traffic on unfamiliar roads, the staff at oxygen has us relaxed, refreshed and delighted within 15 minutes of our arrival. As you might imagine we were extra sensitive to the quality and beauty of the establishment as this was part of our honeymoon that we had been planning and saving for for over a year. Every single aspect of the resort met or exceeded our expectations.

The resort is run by Ed and Floortje, who must have six sigma black belts in management. Their incredibly professional yet friendly and relaxing interaction with clients extends down to every member of their staff. There wasn't a single representative of the establishment that didn't constantly strive to make us feel welcome and they all did their utmost to meet our every need.

Floortje, trained in architecture, designed the resort form the ground up and each piece of it is a unified part of a whole that effortlessly combines form and function. The care and detail goes down to the door hanging hardware and the in-pool speakers. ( I understand this last was Ed's personal passion.)

Many others have said it, but one of the shining jewels in their crown is their nightly surprise menu. It is advertised as a 4 course meal, but it's closer to 5 courses. In 7 nights that gave us 35 dishes, none of which were repeated twice. Ranging from the exotic to the familiar, each dish is prepared in a way you might never expect. And they're not kidding that each ingredient is bought and prepared freshly that very day. Every course was in fact a new adventure and a surprise delight. We met Chiba (SP?) The chef, and we can say without exaggeration that we will miss him wherever we travel.

If you even need to venture out of the resort, the nearby roads and hills conceal a surprising wealth of interesting experiences. Tours of every kind are available from scuba to ultra-light flights. Ed is always super helpful for booking, recommendations, and he has near savant skills at impromptu map making to help you get where you are going. You can drive in less than 30 minutes to a beautiful and deserted Uvita beach, or a lively and surf oriented Dominical.

And each night you come back from your adventures you can look forward to peach and magnificence in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    45
    29
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
280
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley AZ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I am happy to write about a tiny, and very special boutique hotel for my #300 contribution here!

I thought I might give some insight on some advice or tips for your travel to CR.

FYI: Uvita is a tiny “town”. Once you reach O2, you will be fairly isolated. (The rigorous, bumpy, dirt & rock trail up the mountain is about 15 minutes). It’s not very conducive to endure this bone-shattering drive too many times, as it takes away from the total relaxation you experience up here. It would highly suggest, to totally use the resort for which it has set out to accomplish: to inspire and create an atmosphere completely aimed at you, your comfort and to pamper and serve you. That said, drink it all in. enjoy it & experience the delights all within and around you.

We have travelled very extensively all over the world, from 5 star resorts, chain hotels, cabins, treehouses, bungalows, villas, beach, forest, lakes, mountains, tents, lodges, huts, suites, and the list goes on. Generally, we try to immerse ourselves into the surrounding culture & try to experience as much as we can about the local people, their food, and all that they have to offer. Usually, our “holiday” is not relaxing, but extremely adventurous, as we are so busy trying to experience everything to the fullest. Hence, if you do want an adventure holiday, (kayak, scuba, zip line, tours), I would suggest staying in a more convenient local establishment, which would enable you to reach the appropriate venues of choice, and be cheaper. This is a 1-of-a-kind indulgence boutique accommodation – plan to be there to enjoy it. That said, here’s my humble insight:

Either airport you may chose to land at are both about 1 hr away. Just before pulling off the main road, and onto the dirt road which leads up the mountain is a grocery store which is (surprisingly) well stocked. I would highly suggest obtaining items there, especially if you are staying 3+ days. (water !!, snacks, wine, beer, juice, crackers, nuts, fruit).

Everything can be taken care for you once you open your car door and step onto the property. As I said, welcome it all & embrace it. The bungalows are spacious and luxurious – totally awesome and completely suited to us. Huge king bed, fabby outdoor living room area (which we used every afternoon, especially if it was raining, to read quietly and have some wine & crackers), with amazing panoramic view, nice spacious bathroom, and we luved the little touches like the high-tech portable dvd/cd/ipod player (I so luv new techie toys! Gotta get me 1 of these!) which was really handy – and filled with soothing music if you don’t bring your own. When the sun goes down, and if you didn’t get up with the wildlife, you might want to watch a movie from the library – but I highly doubt it – it’s nice to breathe in the night sounds that envelope you. (1 night, it was thundering & lightening, and we fell asleep well into the wee hours on the outside sofa – was fantastic).

You will generally get woken up each and every morning by the howler monkeys around 4am. But take advantage of awakening early & experiencing the rest of the jungle sounds. Breakfast begins at 6:30 We found that after dinner, usually 9pm, everything is dark and quiet (ok, except all the frogs chirping), and with no tv, ect, it was time to take mother nature’s cue and retire.

The food is always unique, surprising, well presented, and very high quality. All the portions at dinner, (and there are usually several of them), are quite small, (a lot of times just a taste: 1 or 2 bites), while it was a fantastic & unique experience to the culinary delights, and I am certainly not a big eater (I like noshing) I did find myself wanting a bit more. I found that whenever I desired food, snacks, appies, or drinks, it was always available, and quite promptly.

It was always nice to enjoy a bottle of wine during dinner. If that sounds “too much” for you, (if you only consume 1 glass), they are more than happy to re-cork and store the bottle for you for your next session of enjoyment (or you can bring it back to your room). It was surprisingly refreshing to see they were reasonably priced, along with the other cocktails.

Don’t miss out on the beautiful little adventure through the property, and down to the swimming hole & dozens of little water falls. Don’t be surprised if you see monkeys in the trees, so bring your camera! There’s a tranquil little spot to read, have some champagne & dried fruit, or just zen out. Oh, there is also a little retreat room on the way that you can use for meditation or yoga.

In Closing, a big Congratulations and Kudos to Edwin & Flora for building their dream and allowing us to experience with them. You have created a beautiful slice of paradise, and we really appreciate how we were able to share in your vision of a gorgeous and completely unique stay in the jungle - you’ve created such a fantastic environment which is to be commended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Words can't begin to say how great of an experience we had at Oxygen. The most romantic, serene setting, Edwin and Flora have created such a beautiful atmosphere for us to enjoy. When I told them that I was proposing to my now fiance, they went above and beyond, setting up our cabina with candlelight, flowers, champagne, and music. It was so beautiful, it was impossible for her to say no! The 5 course dinners offered every night are amazing. I would have to say that I had one of the best meals of my life while staying there. The grounds are amazing, and the hike to the waterfall was so beautiful and private. The most romantic setting I could think of.
There are many luxury resorts, but what separates Oxygen from the rest is Flora and Edwin. They take pride in their resort, and they care so much about their guests having the most enjoyable experience ever. Highly, highly recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all and relax and enjoy this beautiful country.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed for 1 week at Oxygen and it was, without exaggerating, 7 days in paradise. The location is perfect, about a mile mountain up, in the jungle with a fantastic view on the rain forrest and the Pacific Ocean. They actually have their own piece of jungle where you can hike to the waterfall. The Dutch owners Edwin & Floor are very kind and do everything to make your stay comfortable. As we are Dutch as well, we had a very pleasant relation during the week. They give good advises about the hot spots in the neighbourhood and are helpful in reservations for car rental and daytrips. The villas are very luxurous and gives everything you wish on your holiday: privacy, a good bed and a very relaxing rain shower. Because the resort is situated in the middle of the jungle you can see and hear a lot of different birds and monkeys (white face and howlers). The sound of the howlers is an impressive experience! Unfortunately we didn't see any toucans which are frequently present according to Edwin. The food in Oxygen is excellent. They do have a fantastic chef who creates the most delicious dinners. Finally, the service of the other Oxygen crew members has been great. Now we are back home for four days and we still miss the relaxing atmosphere of Oxygen and high service level of the total crew. We definitely want to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Our trip to Costa Rica was plagued with problems, until we got to Oxygen. The minute we arrived we were greeted with welcome drinks and cool towels, and despite our travel issues, we were immediately relaxed. Edwin was extremely helpful and found a replacement rental car for us after our rental car agency in San Jose cancelled our reservation. The entire staff at Oxygen was the most friendly and helpful hotel staff we have ever met. They have excellent recommendations for local activities (including an ATV tour of the surrounding mountains, which we would highly recommend) that they book and plan for you. They gave perfect directions, and despite having no GPS system, we never got lost. Breakfast and lunch are a la carte, and we highly recommend having dinner at Oxygen at least once. They have a four course dinner that was delicious and inventive, with beautiful presentation. The villas are very pretty and comfortable. They have beautiful views of the ocean down the mountain since they have glass walls. Also, we were pleasantly surprised that the glass walls did not impede our privacy since there were blinds and curtains along the walls. The whole place was magical, even in the pouring rain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We booked Oxygen for two nights of our third Costa Rica vacation and then extended our stay to three nights. It is by far the most romantic, best food, best view, nicest proprietors of all of our travels. It is worth the more expensive prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Incredible. From the the moment you arrive, presented with a refreshing towel and a fruity drink, the experience is one of peace and tranquility. The hosts are perfectly attentive, never far away but never in your space unless invited. The food was always remarkable - each night the menu was a complete surprise. On arrivale, you are asked if there is anything you would prefer not to eat, and then each day the chef travels into the town and buys the ingredients for that nights meal, perfectly fresh. It's difficult to describe just how wonderful the flavours and presentation were - you simply have to experience it. The villas are Bali inspired modern, minimalist and very elegant. We would sit on the outdorrs sofa that each villa has and listen to the sounds of the jungle each night. Surprisingly there were very few mosquitos which is great. The air conditioning was very welcome though as the heat and humdity were inetense ! The ONLY minor, very minor, negative, there was no reading light over the bed or bedside lamp. We like to read in bed before sleeping but a mini flashlight resolved that little niggle. The infinity pool had divine views of the jungle and ocean. At the end of each day we would have a refreshing drink while lounging in the pool - cooling down and unwinding wondering what tonight's dinner would be. One last thing - I have to mention the approach road - Costa Rica at its finest ! When they say 4x4 is necessary, they mean it. Lots of fun !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Expedia, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.