We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the jungle...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in the jungle...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A few of the reviews I read prior to my booking complained that this place wasn't really a boutique hotel..After staying for 2 nights I would definitely disagree... There are only about 16 villas and we were lucky enough to stay in Villa #1 which we were told is the best villa on the property. Prior to our arrival, the owners had previously stayed for 2 weeks in the same one so I expected it to be luxurious. The concept of the glass encased, linen draped bed peering through the jungle in front of beautiful ocean views is a great one and I really wanted to give it 5 stars. The design is rustic combined with contemporary elements ( wood, stone and glass throughout) however the details made me feel like a refurbishing should be in the near future. It was indeed clean and the bathroom area has a cool contempo flair but I still couldn't give it 5 stars although it definitely has the potential to be a 5 star property. The day time waiter was awesome (Rainier sp?) but his evening replacement wasn't as attentive. It is indeed a really cool place to relax for a few days and with a little more attention to detail in service and design this place could REALLY rock! The management and staff were as friendly as ever and I would definitely recommend it as a relaxing jungle retreat if ever in Uvita!

Room Tip: Villa #1 or any with a ocean view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    47
    29
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
284
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one week at this amazing resort, and could not have been happier. The glass villas were spectacular. Yes, there was not much storage, but when you're staying in a room with 4 glass walls, closet space is not why you're there. We were lucky to secure a villa below the pool and guest house, which have the best ocean views. Our first villa was a bit musty and dank, but when we spoke to the front desk they quickly offered to move us. We ended up in Villa 6 which had a better view and was in great shape.

Perhaps the most fun part of staying at Oxygen was the trip up the mountain. It was a 10 minute drive from Uvita, and a nail biter. You definitely need a 4x4, but once you got used to it, it was a great laugh.

The restaurant was great, but a bit expensive. We generally chose to drive down into Uvita or Dominical or dinner, but had breakfast at Oxygen every morning. Drinks were great and reasonably priced.

Overall amenities were lovely. The guest house and pool were gorgeous, and the property waterfall was fun to swim in.

The staff were amazing. Such wonderful people who you enjoyed talking to, and who were so happy to help.

Oxygen is also centrally located, and a perfect base for activities. We drove into Quepos for ziplining, Dominical for dinner, drinks and beach, Uvita for dinner and ATV tours and were hoping to head south to Corcovado but decided to relax by the pool instead. Uvita is a bit south off the beaten trail, and the pace is calm and not very touristy. We strongly recommend the hour drive south to avoid the masses.

Room Tip: Not all ocean view villas have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Imagine a comfortable white bed in the center of a jewel-box glass house, where nobody can look in, but you look out onto jungle and ocean and blue sky in the daytime, and twinkling lights at night. After a long hot day at one of the utterly secluded beaches, you can lie in air conditioned comfort in bed in the late afternoon and watch the Toucans play while you find your energy for dinner.

Or maybe today you'd prefer to stay by the pool and have hand shaken cocktails while you lounge in the sun or the shade.

Uvita is generally not the most luxurious of destinations. There are not a dozen fine dining, white napkin restaurants to choose from. People come here for the unspoiled nature, fresh fish and ceviche, and outstanding weather. So to find a boutique luxury hotel that does offer fine dining, great service, comfort, friendliness, and privacy is a real treat. It's the best of both worlds. Enjoy the raw beauty of the coastline by day, and retreat to a luxury paradise at night. Yes, it's more expensive than the surrounding properties, but you absolutely get what you pay for.

Incidentally, I really enjoyed the three dinners I had there. They are a nice change from the local restaurants, which are also good, but not as attentive as I'm used to.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This is actually quite a tricky review to write.

I have seen some other negative reviews on here - please dont take these too seriously!! Someone compared this place to a hostel... they must be out of their minds! Its beautiful!!

I would recommend a 3 - 4 night stay here.

Positives:
Super helpful, relaxed and approachable staff. Not stuffy or rude. The manager is ALWAYS visible and available - and is always encouraging his staff. He is so helpful and a really good guy. Waiting staff in particular are excellent.

Rooms are gorgeous - just as shown on the website. We stayed in bungalow 1 - which was perfectly located. The views are stunning!! Decor is elegant, cool and classy.

location - goregous. Set in the middle of a the jungle, plunge pool with a view of the ocean - lots of wildlife, short walk to a water fall - bliss. It is 15 mins out of town - BUT - you can get a cab for $10 or take an hours walk down to the town and a cab back up. People have moaned about a really bumpy ride... so you need a 4x4 - but the road really isnt that bad!! Seen much worse!

value - this place is pricey - but - worth every penny. This place in the UK would cost serious money, so we felt it was appropriately priced.

communication - excellent. the hotel arranged our transfers, replied to emails promptly and sorted tours for us. I HIGHLY recommend the waterfall Rapelling with Carlos - this was one of our best days in costa rica!

Negatives:

Extras - for the price bracket and the boutique nature, I would expect a few little extras. I think bath robes should be in the rooms, a turn down service should be offered and there should be towels on the sun loungers. These are obviously very small points!

Food - in the whole - the food was excellent - however, it got a bit samey. I am vegetarian and had the same dish 3 nights running as there was not an alternative. Im sure if I spoke Spanish or had asked before hand they would have done something different - so I recommend checking before you stay.
I think it would be better to offer a choice of 2 or three items, that change every night.

Cocktail hour - this place would really benefit from a cocktail hour - where they offer some complimentary nibbles - and then you pay for your drinks. I think the setting is so beautiful it would make a great addition. I have seen this done at other hotels of this standard - and its a really good touch.

Overall - I would highly recommend this place. Please do not place weight on the negative reviews - the new manager is fantastic and is obviously turning this into a premier destination.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

While this is a nice place to stay, it is not a botique hotel and therefore is very overpriced. The positives; it has a nice view, the bed is comfortable, it has hot water and the staff are friendly. These things need improving if they want to be a true botique hotel and charge those prices; the room layout, the room amenities, the menu, the quality of the food, the quality of the grounds, the quality of the service. While the drive to the beach is about 20 minutes it would not be a big deal if the hotel was worth it yet this one is not.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

This is small hotel with around 13 rooms located high in the jungle hills with a stunning view of the Ocean. The rooms are individual bungalows which are all glass and have clean crisp feel to them, the beds are large and soft allowing for some great nights sleep listening to the noise of the jungle. There is no TV as some booking sites say but why would you want one?
The food in the hotel is very good with only Sabor Espanol beating it in Uvita (we tried several places).
We went for a relaxing week and this secluded hotel was perfect for that but we also ventured out to a few beaches but others at the hotel did much more as they offer the usual Costa Rican adventures of Canyoning, Zip Wires, horse riding and jungle tours but we settled for some massages in the hotel ($90 for 1hr deep tissue).
We had a fairly cheap 4x4 (Daihatsu Terios) which found the journey up and down the hill rather testing to say the least, I would advise upgrading as we started to dread the journey up and down to go out. We found that as the place is small we would have two of our three meals there and then head out for the other one as otherwise you could get cabin fever.
The staff were great and always looking to help.
Another tip is when you arrive drive all the way to the top, we stopped at the first parking space and then lugged the cases up the hill only to find a staff member was ready to collect them for us and take them to the room.
The hotel has its own waterfall, it's very nice but it's the only place we got bitten the whole time we were there, it was our own fault in the we didn't have any insect repellent on so if you go make sure you spray up. Oh and don't go in flip flops, another school boy error of mine.
The View is just amazing but be aware you won't won't anything less than factor 30, we were in March and it was seriously hot.
From San Jose it took us 4.5hrs to drive there but only 3.0 to get back, you have to be a little brave overtaking the lorries otherwise you can be stuck behind one for miles and miles.
Make sure you print out the instructions as the GPS some of the other people used only got them as far as Uvita and not the hotel.
The road leading up makes you think you are lost as its pretty shocking but when you arrive you will realise it's all worth it.
The manager seemed to be sprucing the place up again with new umbrellas and the like.
It's a lovely hotel in the jungle, you can lay on your lounger and listen to these amazing animals and see humming birds feeding from the flowers. Am writing this in the airport heading back to London very sad to be leaving.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We recently spent four amazing nights at Oxygen Jungle. From the moment we arrived, we knew we were in for a treat. The staff welcomed us with warm smiles AND a tropical cocktail! The glass villas are enchanting. Privacy was never a concern as the layout and lush foilage offer a sense of peace, solitude, and exotic tranquility. It felt like a location for a "Bachelor" episode. The pool / dining area is beautiful. The staff was professional, helpful, and friendly. Stepanie, Dariel, Harold, and the GM, Jorge, went above and beyond. From tips on local beaches to a help downloading a navigation app, they always made us feel that our Costa Rican experience was the most important thing. The food was amazing. We tried local restaurants for lunch a few times but were sorry we hadn't eaten at the resort. If you are considering a stay at Oxygen Jungel, do it - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.