We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Save Saved
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“You should stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is incredible. I agree with the other reviewers -- the pictures cannot do this place justice. It is absolutely stunning. Here are the brief takeaways and things to know:

-The staff are really warm, friendly, and great at their jobs. The staff who really helped us have a great honeymoon were - Angelica who booked anything and everything we needed so quickly and efficiently. Raynor who did the exact same and was always kind and calm. Victor, Dariel, and Harold who were excellent servers and bartenders. Dariel makes the best pineapple juice we had in Uvita. And Victor and Dariel's caparihnas were truly incredible.

-We stayed in Villa #3 -- it is ocean view with the jungle around you. We thought it was the best villa from looking around the resort. We felt like we had a lot of privacy and where we perched gave us an unparalleled view.

-I would recommend renting a car. The road up is serious and you have to have four wheel drive. I was pretty scared driving down it the first time but after a couple times of mastering it you will be totally fine.

-The pool is stunning and the drinks are really good so it wouldn't be a bad idea to plan lots of days to just hang out and lounge while you're there.

-There are great beaches very close by -- most of them in the national park so it costs $6/day/person to access the whole park which includes 3 or 4 big beaches. The beaches are wild and beautiful and actually fairly diverse from one another -- at least the ones we surfed and hung out in.

-The food at the resort is really, really good. It is american pricing. The coconut crusted sea bass was my favorite thing that I ate. The guacamole was excellent. There is almost always a special and the chefs - Donald and Josue - seem to be up for anything (new ideas, changes, etc).

I cannot recommend this place enough. We would love to go back there again someday!

Room Tip: I think Villa #3 is the best likely followed by #1 and #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    35
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
245
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband David and I just checked out of Oxygen. We stayed 10 days, 9 nights for our honeymoon. It was everything we could have imagined! We stayed in an ocean villa (#7) and our view was beautiful! We had a pretty tree out front and we saw parrots, hummingbirds, toucans, and scarlet tanagers. We walked along their pathway down to their waterfall and saw monkeys, toads, lizards, salamanders, and a coatimundi! All of the employees were so friendly and helpful. Angelica & Raynor were incredibly helpful at the reception desk helping with taxis and booking excursions. Victor, Harold, and Dariel were wonderful at the restaurant and bar, pointing out wildlife and getting to know them! The food at the restaurant was delicious!!! Josue is an excellent cook and we loved his guacamole and fresh chips!!! Overall we had an amazing experience at Oxygen and can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for 2 and eventually stayed 4 days. What a beautiful place to stay. From your glass villa you can see tucans, hear monkeys and see other animals doing they're thing. The rooms are absolutely fabulous and you feel like you're on honeymoon. The main pool next to the restaurant is perfect for a dip and they serve a lot of cocktails who are made by Victor, he does an amazing job!

The food was not very good in the beginning but we had a very good talk with the new manager (who is very hands on! yes!!!) and even spoke to the chef that it would be great to have some beautiful local ingredients. They also thought the same about it and hopefully things will be changed. It's just not necessary to use European (fake mozzarella) or Asian things that are hard to get. Hope that the owners will also think about it that people would rather stay in the hotel for a Snapper bbq style dinner then the to difficult salad with ponzu-dressing (what wasn't ponzu). So, the last night we gave it a try again and the chef prepared us something he local he liked, it was AMAZING!!!! (i would recommend asking him to make something)

The only other thing. The tax and service fee on top of the breakfast/lunch/dinner menu is absurd. It is a little strange that they don't do anthing for breakfast (including). Not even a little bit of fruit.

Room Tip: Choose for a jungle villa's. Especially the one at the end is absolutely amazing with all the lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place, villas in perfect shape, great shower, the pool is stunning, food excellent and the staff, extremely friendly. They call you by your name and cater to your needs. I will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reached just in time for the most amazing sunset in most amazing surroundings. We were given a welcome cocktail, the best welcome drink we ever had. We stayed in a jungle villa since the ocean villas were all booked, but I don't regret a bit. The jungle villas had more privacy. Ours especially was all the way to the end so total privacy. The villa by itself was fantastic, all glass, complete jungle atmosphere with all luxuries.

We had breakfast there, was quite expensive for very small portions. I was hoping to have dinners there based on the many good reviews but didn't find much variety in it. However, there are very few restaurants in Uvita, and the considering the road to/from village to hotel is ridiculously bumpy and curvy, having meals at the restaurant may be worth it.

There is a trail to a small beautify waterfall from the hotel, the hike is absolutely rewarding!

Cons:
You do need a high clearance vehicle to get there, the road is pretty steep so a 4x4 vehicle is very much necessary. The 20 min ride up an down was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Jungle villas far from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is truly paradise! Stayed here for three nights just last week and wish I could go back. Pictures do not do this place justice. Your own private villa, a serene pool overlooking the forest and ocean, and personalized service where the staff makes it a point to get to know you and make anything you need available. We loved it! From the views, to the people, to the food. We enjoyed drinks on our patio, watching the toucans fly above us, waking up to the ocean everyday, and so much more. Yes, the road up is a bit challenging, but it is definitely worth it. We ventured into town for excursions on 2 out of the 3 days of our trip. We wish we had just one more day to enjoy the property itself. Especially the river and waterfall trails! If you have any doubt about staying here, erase it. Do it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in 1 of 12 villas in this great hotel/resort. Awesome glass villas offering privacy and serenity. Beautiful infinity edge pool with a great view of Uvita. Service was from Harold and the rest of the staff was great. Dinner at the restaurant was good, great atmosphere. From our room we were able to see lots of tucans! Pictures do not disappoint. I would recommend and go back.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view and order the house cocktail at the O2 bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.