We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxygen is a hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Save Saved
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oxygen is a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely place. Little bit confusing to find it and you definitely will need a 4x4 to drive up. Once you reached it is stunning. The staff is super nice and helpful, the pool area is breath taking, the villas are clean, comfy, large and luxurious. This is a perfect get away for couples/ honeymooners. As we were at Oxygen during the green season even during some rain in the afternoon the resort was so majestic and peaceful. We truly enjoyed our stay. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    35
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
245
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved this place. Beautiful vistas, loved the décor and of course the service was outstanding. Luis and Lena made sure everything was top-notch and up to par and then some!!
Great food and breakfast and the staff always had sincere smiles and really made us feel welcomed!!!
Can't wait to go back as we live here in Costa Rica and this place really stood out among the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here with huge expectations, being that my friend stayed here before! I'd have to say that this boutique hotel will always hold a special place in my heart! From the Balinese decor to the walk to our villa, there was so much to discover and adventure to be had. If you want a modern oasis but enjoy being immersed into nature, this is the place for you!

Lena one of the new managers there, helped us plan our trip to paradise with fluidity and ease. We exchanged emails for months and she was so patient with us. Everyone plays several roles at Oxygen, so I won't mention what they do individually but will refer to them as our new friends. Victor was a charming host who we talked with late into the night. Harold was very kind and attentive. Reyna was informative and always very helpful. Steven always checked on our safety and we enjoyed his company very much. From the groundskeeper to housekeeping, you were always greeted with a smile. Everyone seems light hearted and a lot of fun!

Tips I have for anybody reading my review is:

*there is no television, so bring a laptop if you get the urge to take a break from the beauty outside the glass house lol. I'm sure they did this on purpose, being that their intention is for you to relax from the hustle and bustle of your daily lives.

*there are no phones inside the room. If you don't mind the exercise, you have to walk to the front desk if you have any questions.

*Meals can get pricey but if you want quality with a bit of class, definitely dine here.

*They make great cocktails and can create whatever you like, so bottoms up!

*i would recommend renting a 4x4, if you are an experienced manual driver. Getting up there can be a bit challenging, but the scenic drive is nice. Hey you are in Costa Rica for a little adventure right?

*WIFI definitely works in the clubhouse but not always in your room, so get a good phone package. just in case.

*Literally 15/20 min. drive to so many beautiful beaches, ask them to help you with any tours!

Any changes I would make is a bigger flashlight in the room in case of a blackout, possibly a phone in the room (easier to order room service), lastly a revamp of the website and info booklet inside the room. Some tours aren't completely accurate and some meal options have changed.

Overall, our experience was wonderful! Oxygen is a secluded and very relaxed type of resort. Towards the end of our trip, it started to feel like home and we didn't want to leave! Oxygen is where we got engaged, so we will remember Costa Rica and this wonderful paradise forever! Pura Vida <3

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, never been in the area - Uvita - is great !!! very laid back, plenty of options of places to visit and hang out at least on the day time, all worked out just perfect, from the weather to the service, the new management and the staff really make you feel at home. Food was great ! Coffee the best !!! All in place, love the minimalistic tropical concept of the hotel. Luis the manager and Lena and all the guys at the front desk make sure you don't want to leave ... hard decision to hit the road back on last day ... Kudos !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting, great pool, nice rooms, some better than others. Second time attempting to write this review so will keep it to the point. On arrival the sea view room we booked for he entire stay was only available for two nights, staff were not trained to deal with our request to stay in our room and took days to discuss with a not so understanding manager. The same issue happened when our friends arrived a few days later, staff finally admitted this was a regular issue, we had to move rooms mid stay. Some of the staff were helpful during our stay but not trained to the standards expected for the prices charged. The food, it was so bad I got raw chicken in my salad on day one, the manager didn't realised how serious this was and was very patronising about the situation, I eventually got the meal I didn't eat for free... After much discussion! Due to the location of the hotel this is an issue as you have to travel for food. It was so bad they closed the restaurant on the last day of our stay, we did get a discount for all the issues but would rather have had a hassle free holiday with good food!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxygen M, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for staying with us at Oxygen this past March. We are incredibly disappointed that you received such terrible service in relation to your food. Please accept our most sincere apologies for this.

We agree that you should be able to have a hassle free holiday with good food. We hired two new wonderful managers and a new head chef this past June so issues like this should not happen ever again. We also have some new waiters on staff who are also excellent and well trained in fine dining environments.

Again, we would like to express our apologies about the food and the manager's reaction to the food. Please do contact us in advance if you return to Oxygen and we will definitely do something extra special for you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very clean, very charming, remote, in the jungle. Very nice staff, super helpful, totally bilingual in English but also very patient and happy to speak Spanish if you want to practise.
The food is also very good, quite pricy though. A bit of a disappointment to discover that breakfast is not included in the rate, and some dishes like French toasts are a bit smaller than the breakfast burrito.
We were there during the green season, and since it is a bit high up in the mountain, we did have quite a lot of rain everyday. So you have to take you car and go down to get more sun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we reached the small town of Uvita we had to transfer luggage over to a 4 wheel drive taxi because Oxygen jungle Villas is only accessible by 4 wheel drive or dirt bike. We arrived at the open air reception area next to an infinity pool that overlooked the town and Pacific Ocean. It was truly a beautiful sight. After checking in and having a complimentary tropical welcome drink, the staff took our bags and escorted us to our villa.

The room was an all glass villa that had an open air living area with wicker table and a couch overlooking the Pacific. There was no television, radio, or telephone which was just fine. It did have wifi so we had internet access. We had only been there a short time after settling in when I noticed movement in one of the trees. It was a Chestnut Mandibled Toucan. Then while my Wife was getting one of the cameras set up with a zoom lens another one came. We got very good pictures of them. We were lucky because not long after we had a monster thunder storm move in. It was actually quite refreshing after a day of travel to sit in the open air living area to feel the cool air as the storm raged on. As we were getting ready for dinner, one of the staff brought us a couple of umbrellas for when we walked up to dinner.

Dinner that night was very good yet quite pricey. The dining area was open air next to the infinity pool so the atmosphere was very tropical and inviting. They are trying a new menu and working out the kinks but it has a ways to go to meet the price. The staff is definitely seeking feedback and taking action to implement change. They are definitely headed in the right direction for 5 stars in our book. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

If you want a romantic place to stay in Costa Rica, this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.