We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Save Saved
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved this villa styled resort and would recommend to anyone! We got a jungle view villa and it was amazing, a beautiful glass box in the jungle was a perfect way to start any day (minus the few little critters). The staff is very knowledgable about the area and helped us plan our days, tours and gave us directions around the area. We became very close with everyone and learned about their interesting stories! The bartender, Victor, will lighten up anyone's day, he is just wonderful! Not to mention his fun attitude and always making sure you are doing alright. We also met Roy who planned out our days perfectly and took good care of us! Very fun people to get to know.

We met many couples through our week and some ended up being on the tours with us, it was great and fun to talk about it when we all returned!

Overall, staying here completed a great experience for our time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
231
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This resort is under new management and I must say, they are definitely on the right track. We arrived from our flight in San Jose by rental car. If you are visiting Costa Rica, I highly recommend a rental car 4x4. It gives you pure freedom. When we pulled up (and I mean up because you have to 4x4 up the mountain on a beautiful drive), we were met by Reiner, who warmly welcomed us and grabbed our bags. After introducing us to the resort, we were given a welcome drink by Victor. Victor then escorted us to our jungle villa. Everything looks just as it did on the website. The villa was awesome! So was the pool. The food was simply amazing. Understand, this is a luxury resort, so you are going to pay a premium for services and food but you will be happy with your return on investment! We ate every nite at the resort and could not get enough of it! They have their own waterfall on property which was fun to hike to and play in the falls. Just astounding.

On a more personal note, Victor and Harold make this place. I would return simply because they are there. They took care of every single little detail. They work VERY VERY hard and earn their pay. My wife and I are most appreciative of their level of attention.

This is NOT a family resort. Do not bring your kids because I chose this place as a more romantic setting. Kids kill that so come without them! If any of you reading this want to ask me more info about this place, I will be glad to help. I plan to go back again very soon!

Room Tip: Choose ocean view over jungle view if you love the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4-5 days, it’s a great spot but make sure you have SUV to make it up the hill which was part of the fun. This is a place to rest, not to party. The little villas are very nice aside for some minor issues with water leaking from the shower. Very different, BALI style type of housing, it is was we wanted and what we got. We also had breakfast and dinner several times and the food was great.

Make sure you go for a swim at the natural fall on your way up the hill. The water is fantastic, great way to freshen up after a day in the ocean

The beaches around the hotel are nice (just not the Caribbean blue and light sand), we went in April, not many people which was fun but also the kind where you must bring food and enough towels to sit as the sand is quite dark and not as easily cleaned off clothes etc.
We did an excursion to Cano island with Gurrion tour, the guides were great and must say we never saw so much wild life in the ocean on the way there…whales, dolphins, turtles..it was great and so was the visit on the island. Overall, it’s a nice way to spend a day and very close to the hotel.

Finally, in our stress to leave for the airport, we didn’t notice the hotel charged us for breakfast when it was supposed to be included in our package. Our travel agent had a hard time to reach them and once she did, they refused to correct the situation. It’s very unfortunate to see a premium priced hotel act this way after we also did our best to encourage their restaurant during our stay as this is a very small capacity hotel, we felt bad to just go eat out every night. I’m hoping they will read this and perhaps reconsider their stance on this situation. This is why we are also rating the service as average, the people were great besides for this issue (VG-Excellent)

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view but jungle seemed also nice, just not the same to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxygen M, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind words about Oxygen.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not refunded for your breakfasts and apologize for this. Please do give us a call back and we will gladly refund you the charge for your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place was very beautiful and felt very special. The rooms are glass cabins set in the rainforest., really unique. Architectural Digest-worthy. They were private and clean, super stylish. They helped us to coordinate daily activities too which was appreciated because many of the locals do not speak great English. The only reason I didn't give it a five star was the food options at the hotel are just ok. Nice food but could not eat here every day, three times a day. Pool and grounds were gorgeous.

Room Tip: We LOVED our ocean view, next to main building so view was as good as pool pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here in March and fell deeply, madly in love. With the sights and sounds of the jungle surrounding the villa, the ocean view each morning, and peaceful jungle sounds each night. The villas are uniquely designed to bring you as close to nature as possible while providing organic luxury. The staff were friendly and helpful even though we visited during a transition.

The food was good not great and new chef taking over. But we did not travel to CR to eat only at Oxygen or to sit by the infinity pool reading kindles all day. We wanted to explore the local restaurants, surf and zipline.

We loved relaxing on the porch of our villa each night, listening to jungle sounds. The coffee was tremendous. The bed was incredibly comfortable and enveloping each night. In short, the setting was amazingly romantic and was the perfect backdrop for exploring my soul mate. Will always love this place for what it is and for the incredible memories it made possible.

A word of caution to those driving to Uvita from San Jose: quickest way, route 27, is closed to traffic heading toward the coast on Sundays until 7 pm or so. Will take you 6-8 hours to drive thru mountain towns etc to get to Uvita.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited Oxygen for a second time in March 2013. I had to come back to Costa Rica for some business and decided to extend my stay by a couple of days to go back to Oxygen because I had such a wonderful stay there the first time.

Everything was as good as described in my first review. I did notice though that a "do not disturb" sign still has not been implemented, this is something that I really appreciate because there are days where I prefer my room not to be made up and like the convenience of a "do not disturb" sign.

During my 3 night stay the new chef (Robert I think?) started. I had the pleasure of being able to taste a variety of food from him and was incredibly happy with his food - it was fresh, full of flavour and was served in a perfect portion size. Simply put, the new chef's food was deeeeeelicious!

I can't wait for my 3rd visit to Oxygen!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have wanted to go to Costa Rica for quite some time. We knew of all the adventuring we could do in-country, but we were really looking for just a quiet place we could relax for a week for our belated honeymoon to "get away from it all." Thus, being at Oxygen was just that for us; it was like one long, wonderful Saturday and we had love, laughter and fun here that gave us memories that will last us a lifetime.

Location: It is remote, small and located on a beautiful hillside in the Uvita area, so there are not too many guests, city noises, etc. The only thing one may here is the humming of the birds and short bursts of quiet rainfall. On the other hand, for those wishing to be in the midst of all the action, it is only a couple hour drive from Corcovado National Park (we went there via boat and loved the experience seeing dolphins, three different types of monkeys, tropical frogs, bats, anteaters, macaws, among other animals) and a twenty minute drive from Parque Nacional Marino Ballena (a beautiful, deserted private beach as part of the national park where one may do whale watching activities though we didn't see any because it's not the right time of year). We didn't rent a car and took leisurely walks to the village for a meal and to wander everyday, as well as using a taxi service to get back up the hill to the hotel (we walked a couple times up the hill and it was comparable to the Day 1 trek that I did as part of a five day trek up Kilimanjaro; if you decide to hike up it, be advised that it is steep and bring water! It's exhilarating and great exercise). We also did a couple dinners out using a taxi service, as well as watching a futbol game at the local indoor soccer complex. The hotel also arranged a taxi service for us to and from the airport. In the future, we would probably rent a car here, but as it was our honeymoon, we wanted a very hassle-free trip so driving was out of the question this time.

Room: Our room was impeccably cleaned everyday. We had an oceanview villa (the ocean appears far away but visible) and were able to revel in the sounds of tropical birds and animals. The power went out once but was back on very quickly, which I was quite surprised at, because in other foreign countries where I've visited or lived it takes nearly quadruple the amount of time for the power to be renewed. We ordered room service once and it was delivered in a timely manner when we had asked for it. The villas are very spacious and private and it was the perfect place for us to enjoy ourselves for our honeymoon as we spent almost half of our time in the room, itself. Improvements could be made by each room offering complimentary bathrobes, as well as luggage racks. Additionally, a wider selection of DVDs and some boardgames (Scrabble, Monopoly, etc.) would be nice to offer at reception as complementary forms of entertainment.

Food: The food was excellent but a bit overpriced for dinner options. We were there for a week and ate all but two dinners at the hotel. We ate lunch there twice and a few breakfasts, as well. As we were there for a week, we had tried all the dinner options by mid-week and were not allowed to order off the lunch-menu for dinner. As my husband used to work in a restaurant, he understood the complexities of not having food prepped, etc., but all we wanted was an avocado sandwich. Friends that we met there were offered a pizza one evening that was not on the menu as they had arrived too late for lunch and the power was off; they graciously shared the pizza with us. If delicious options like these had been offered on an extended stay menu, we probably would have chosen to eat at the hotel every night. Improvements: an extended stay menu could be offered to guests that are there for more than just a few nights that also offers some "lighter" options, such as sandwiches, pastas, etc. that do not require extensive ingredients, re-brand filet mignon as sirloin steak as it was overpriced and did not appear to be a cut of filet mignon (although it was still tasty). The chef explained to us that this was due to the availability of USDA quality meat in-country, which we realize was not his fault, but it should not be priced or branded as filet mignon, and finally, offer other sides with main dinner courses beside fruit for the price of the course (ingredient list does not need to be extensive, could be as simple as pureed potatoes or rice, just a little something more substantive than fruit to accompany fish, shrimp, etc.).

Staff service: The main staff (Mayra, the other woman that worked at reception, Roy, Victor, Chef Robert) and cleaning staff were excellent. When you arrive at the pool, you will never have an empty water glass as Mayra was always there with a smile on her face to fill it up with the cucumber-infused water. Fresh towels were also always supplied by Mayra, Victor, and Roy at the pool everyday. Victor makes the best top-shelf margarita we've ever had, as well as giving friendly advice on local attractions such as National Parks, beaches, restaurants, etc. He is a great up-seller when it comes to drinks. If you order a mixed drink, for example, he'll always offer top-shelf liquor or regular, but is not pushy about it. He always approaches up-selling in a friendly, professional manner. Roy also was instrumental in ensuring we had a wonderful stay. He suggested seeing a soccer game if we liked futbol at the local indoor soccer complex; we went and it was one of the highlights for us. He also let us use his personal cell phone to arrange our hotel stay in San Jose for our last night in-country as we did not have a local cell phone number or credit to use. Finally, the new manager gave us a lift to the beach when he heard us inquiring at the front desk about calling a taxi as he was also on his way to town. This extra gesture was very nice and certainly not expected. We learned that most of the staff was new, which was surprising, because the service was flawless and smooth the entire week we were there. Most importantly, the way in which the staff worked together and the manner in which they treated us with pleasant attitudes, warm smiles, and attending to our every need made the trip memorable and what it was. Improvements: activities staff could offer in the local area could be so much more than what is already offered!! The chef, for example, could offer a cooking class. I inquired about this; I would have loved to learn some of the local Costa Rican dishes and sauces that accompanied the food and would have been willing to pay for an hour-long session. Other activities that could have enriched our stay in the local area would have been a tour of the soccer complex and meet and greet with some teams (proceeds could go to the local team or soccer complex) and/or tour of the local school (proceeds could go to improvements needed at the school). The community in Uvita is small and everyone there is friendly. It has so much to offer and the staff could ensure guests have a chance, if desired, to see more of this beautiful community in ways that would promote sustainable tourism.

Overall environment at the hotel: The hotel was maintained very well, as the linens in the room, pool, and dining area were always impeccably clean, there were never empty glasses or plates left in the dining area, the pathways were swept clear of leaves and debris everyday, and the pool was free of bugs, leaves, etc. The Balinese statues were beautiful aesthetically, and music playing in the pool area was never too loud and always relaxing. Improvements: a couple times staff could be heard joking and talking loudly in the kitchen area; we were at the pool almost everyday all day so I realize that this is an unacceptable expectation for colleagues not to laugh, joke, communicate etc. Thus, while this was not a problem for us, other guests might complain about the noise-level when they are spending time by the pool so perhaps keep conversations to a minimum in the kitchen area. Additionally, we noticed the owner on his computer in guest areas, as well. While this did not necessarily bother us, it could bother other people so perhaps laptop use could be limited to private staff areas.

Final summary: In all, we had an excellent stay in Costa Rica (we stayed the ENTIRE week at Oxygen, unlike many other travelers who bounce around the country for adventure and sight-seeing purposes) due to the hospitality, high-quality service, cleanliness, and location of Oxygen Jungle Villas. Thank you for making our honeymoon one to remember.

Room Tip: The oceanview villa that we had seemed very secluded and private if you're looking for a seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.