We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Save Saved
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is hands down one of the best we've ever stayed in. The location is absolutely gorgeous, very secluded and private. The villas are cozy, beautiful, and very romantic. The staff is special, they really add to the overall experience. They're friendly and helpful. Very likable people. We enjoyed the surprise dinners every single time. You can tell they love what they do and it shows in what the put on your table and the way they present it. On top of that, the cook is an outstanding and appealing character. We loved everything about this place, especially the concept and honest philosophy around the whole experience: The absolute care for the environment, the spirituality infused in everything that sits in the property and everything they offer their guests. We fell in love with this place. We totally recommend it, without a doubt.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
At Oxygen, the atmosphere is always relaxed. There is no need for the hustle and bustle of many resorts. From the quiet, contemplative music floating around the pool, to the natural sounds of the jungle in the early morning into the evening, Oxygen is committed to having our guests relax, stress free, in the most positive manner possible. Please visit and experience a truly carefree vacation! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    36
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
251
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 after reading many great reviews. Our experience was a little different, not bad just not at the level we were expecting. While the Villa units themselves are nice, they lack in functionality and privacy. An all glass enclosure sounds great, not so much if everytime you want to use the shower, bathroom or walk around without full clothing you have to struggle with the multitude of blinds and screens. The reason being is that these units are all right next to each other with frequent traffic of people walking back and forth to their rooms. I felt this to be rather annoying, all of these units are semi-private. The pool is great, although I about burned the skin off the bottom of foot on the pool decking which was in bad shape and painted black. Just like a hot pad, ouch. Anyways we had great service and the one dinner we had in was very good. We had a couple lights out in our unit that were never repaired, even after multiple requests. I can see how people like this spot but to us, it just felt a little disconnected from Costa Rica in general. Up a gnarly dirt road which I usually find pretty fun, communting up and down got old in a hurry. The "ocean" view rooms do have views but you are so far from the ocean, the clouds seem closer and from our room (next to the pool) the available views are mostly of bushes. . The walk down to the river from the villas is very nice. A side note, the soda on the left hand side as you head up the dirt road is pretty good and cheap if you want a more authentic and inexpensive meal. All and all I would not tell people not to go here, but it just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best way to describe this place with a few words is paradise in the jungle near the ocean.

I am not sure where to start from, the vacation was supposed to be a birthday gift to my girlfriend and not only it was amazing but it surpassed my best expectations.

We rented a car from San Jose and drove down south. Nature is stunning along the way, all locals we met were very friendly and helpful. Driving up the little dusty road from Uvita with 4x4 makes it even more exciting and rewarding when some minutes later you discover this little oasis in the dark in the middle of nowhere and the clean perfect swimming pool with gorgeous open view of the area and the ocean. The villas are similarly gorgeous, we had one with an ocean view. There are a few villas in the jungle, not far from them along a short trail there is a small river passing through the private property where we went on day two during sunset. There is a naturally formed basin next to the tiny waterfall which is juts perfect for dipping in, cooling off and sort of breathing or feeling the jungle from within.

The villa was amazing, had a great view, very comfortable king size bed, fridge packed with drinks and snacks, perfectly cleaned every day by the friendly personnel. We loved the sounds of the jungle during the night and the clean air, it put us to sleep right away and we always woke up very fresh even after a few hours of sleep. When combined with rain it would probably make one of the best background music mp3s to listen to when trying to fall asleep in your big city apartment.

We did a few of the activities offered, horse riding on the beach - absolutely beautiful, the canopy tours - a lot of fun, we tried some of the restaurants in Ojochal - food was excellent with Citrus being our favorite.
We went to Ventanas beach one afternoon and ended up being the only people there, all of its beauty and wilderness for us, it was one of the most exciting and picturesque beaches we visited, looked like a setting out of one of the pirate movies.

We did spend a couple of days just relaxing at the villas, enjoying the swimming pool, the view, the sunset, the food and the outstanding service.

Perhaps the part I will always remember is the service, the great crew running the place which took excellent care of all small details and made us feel very special as if they were there only for us waiting all year to help us during our one week stay. Starting from Gabriel who is managing the place with an ease and a smile, made sure we had the best of everything and any problems were taken care of on the spot. Same goes to Marco, who welcomed us with a refreshing cocktail and treated us throughout with warmth and grace. Great thanks to the chef, he always checked on us, asked us if we have any special requests or intolerances. Food up there was with the best upscale restaurants in New York, lots of attention to detail, executed and delivered perfectly, it was hard to believe we are in the jungle and not in some Manhattan haute restaurant du jour.

Nothing but praise for everyone there, if I missed someone it is because I did not remember their name. They really went out of their way to make our short stay unforgettable, from washing our clothes and shoes, to cleaning our bathroom and fixing our car bumper which someone hit while we were parked. Also booking our activities in the last minute, making restaurant reservations, preparing special dinner in the last moment because of our gluten intolerance, offering discounts for extra nights we stayed because of the hurricane and cancelled flights and all the million other small things which are just too many to count and fit on a page.

But what was most important and touching was that all that was not executed because it was their job and they were paid to do it but because they really enjoyed it, were proud of their little oasis and all that it offered and really truly cared to ensure that our vacation was perfect. Which is what it was

Room Tip: All are great, it just depends if you prefer ocean view or jungle wilderness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Well, we are a little humbled by this review. Since we have been upgrading Oxygen,we have tried to take into account all of our guests needs and requests, along with friendly personal attention,and it seems to be working well. We are extremely proud of our little Paradise in the jungle and hope that everyone who visits has the same wonderful memories to take home with them! Thanks to you all! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed our 3 last days of our honeymoon at Oxigen. The perfect mix of style, beautiful view, really helpfull staff, good food, unique house...We weren't lucky with the wetter, quite a lot of rain, but our stay was still unforgettable. Everything what you see is well thought...100% stylefull.
We definitly recommend this place and make sure that you don't miss a nice cocktail and while you enjoy the beautiful the view in the pool.

John & Sharon
Bonaire

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Another Honeymoon couple! We are fast becoming THE resort on the Ballena Coast for couples searching for a secluded, exquisitely serviced, and undeniably beautiful location. The absence of crowds and the tropical setting are drawing guests worldwide. As word of Oxygen is circulating more and more, we are receiving inquiries from couples wishing to celebrate many of life's special events.Weddings,(of which we have the best wedding coordinator in Costa Rica,we think!), Honeymoons, renewed vows, birthdays, anniversaries and more! Please join us at Oxygen for your special day too! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is the perfect one if you're willing to rest and enjoy with your couple.
Located in the hill, this hotel offers a beautiful view on the pacific ocean.
Swimming in their pool is a unique experience. Looking at the see on the one side, and at the jungle on the other. AMAZING

Everyone took great care of us. If you go there, you'll find friendly people who'll do their best to satisfy all your needs and make you enjoy your stay.

Don't miss their restaurant ! The chef is one of a kind. His "surprise" menu will delight you! He's Italian and Argentinian and worked all over the world. His meals have various influences that you'll be able to trace in his excellent dishes.

Room Tip: We loved VILLA Number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It is gratifying to see the positive reviews we have been receiving! At Oxygen we have been working everyday to make sure the grounds are well kept, safe(which is a priority in a jungle setting), and beautiful. Now is planting time in the Green Season and our staff has been hard at work placing even more fruiting trees and flowering plants throughout the property. Much of the fresh fruit is used on various platings on our menu, which further contributes to the exceptional quality of our meals and the natural experience our guests are searching for. Come join us at Oxygen and we are sure you will have a memorable stay also! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 8 nights at Oxygen Jungle Villas for our honeymoon. We were blown away by the beauty of the property as well as the personal attention given by the staff. We didn't want a typical crowded resort experience for our honeymoon, and thankfully that is certainly not what Oxygen is about. The balance of attention and privacy is perfect - when we pulled up from an outing, someone was waiting with an umbrella if it was raining. The owners were visible in the Clubhouse and readily available to answer any questions about the area or the property. We had the surprise dinner our first night there and it was delicious - the chef did a wonderful job. After a few days of exploring the area, hiking, zip-lining, and horseback riding, we took a day to relax and enjoy the infinity pool. We could not have picked a more beautiful place on Earth to enjoy our honeymoon,and honestly, I feel that the price that we paid for our villa was a great value. Thank you Oxygen for making our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 3. This villa seemed to be the perfect option because we had both an ocean view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! As we move forward at Oxygen, we find more and more honeymooners choosing our hotel to spend a portion or most of their special time here.The privacy afforded, the quietude, the tranquil setting,the attention displayed by the staff, all contribute to a memorable stay during a memorable time. We hope to be able to serve more and more couples in the future searching for their own special time. Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all, this hotel is beautiful, that being said, it could be anywhere in the world which specifically was not something I consider a plus. Maybe we were spoiled by the locally owned hotels we stayed in before we got here... I don't know. In general, this hotel had a lot of hype to live up to, and not to be a downer, but it was underwhelming in almost all aspects.

The road there is pretty bad, as everyone says. But their directions are crystal clear, and we got there without any wrong turns or confusion and this was in the rain.

When we arrived the check in process was pretty slow (like 30 minutes slow) and the couple who arrived after us were taken to their room first, after a five hour drive I was a little irritable about that.

When we did get to the room it was lovely, not as private as we had hoped for though, because we could hear every word spoken by the couple in the villa next door... and I'm sure they heard us too, not a plus on a honeymoon :) and we did specifically mention that it was our honeymoon and we wanted something private in the reservation. On the plus side the view was great, and the deck area in front of the villa is a really awesome space to relax privately and just enjoy the sounds. I like that they use refillable shampoo and soap dispensers because I find it ironic that a lot of the "green hotels" still use disposable packaging for their biodegradable toiletries. The cleaning staff cleaned our room from top to bottom every day, but they never refilled the coffee or gave us more creamer when we ran out. I was bothered by the amount of birds that flew into the glass windows every morning. It was really loud, and it killed our mood when it happened. We told the front desk that they should put up those stickers (like everyone else does) but they said it didn’t work… really?

We decided to join Oxygen for their special dinner our second night, and I think this was the most disappointing meal we had in Costa Rica, not to mention insanely overpriced. I will note that I don’t eat seafood, which I told them beforehand. I think they took that to mean that I wanted an American style chicken dinner because what we got was: a starter of one tiny toast with a large bowl of spinach dip (think Costco style, but from scratch), breaded chicken with ketchup and fresh tomatoes on top, broiled potatoes and pumpkin, and a slice of cheesecake for dessert. I was soooooo disappointed. Especially since I speak fluent Spanish and that enabled us to have some fantastic meals at the local restaurants for a lot less than this one. Needless to say we did not join them for dinner again, even though we were asked every day. Instead we went down the hill to eat lunch, go to the beach, and then ordered some food to go on the way back up.

I think the best feature of this hotel is by far the pool. We made a point to swim there every day. The view is amazing, better than from the villas, and I recommend that you bring binoculars if you are going because you can see the whales from the pool with them.

Overall we probably won’t be recommending it or coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.