We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to rest and enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Save Saved
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is the perfect one if you're willing to rest and enjoy with your couple.
Located in the hill, this hotel offers a beautiful view on the pacific ocean.
Swimming in their pool is a unique experience. Looking at the see on the one side, and at the jungle on the other. AMAZING

Everyone took great care of us. If you go there, you'll find friendly people who'll do their best to satisfy all your needs and make you enjoy your stay.

Don't miss their restaurant ! The chef is one of a kind. His "surprise" menu will delight you! He's Italian and Argentinian and worked all over the world. His meals have various influences that you'll be able to trace in his excellent dishes.

Room Tip: We loved VILLA Number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It is gratifying to see the positive reviews we have been receiving! At Oxygen we have been working everyday to make sure the grounds are well kept, safe(which is a priority in a jungle setting), and beautiful. Now is planting time in the Green Season and our staff has been hard at work placing even more fruiting trees and flowering plants throughout the property. Much of the fresh fruit is used on various platings on our menu, which further contributes to the exceptional quality of our meals and the natural experience our guests are searching for. Come join us at Oxygen and we are sure you will have a memorable stay also! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
231
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 8 nights at Oxygen Jungle Villas for our honeymoon. We were blown away by the beauty of the property as well as the personal attention given by the staff. We didn't want a typical crowded resort experience for our honeymoon, and thankfully that is certainly not what Oxygen is about. The balance of attention and privacy is perfect - when we pulled up from an outing, someone was waiting with an umbrella if it was raining. The owners were visible in the Clubhouse and readily available to answer any questions about the area or the property. We had the surprise dinner our first night there and it was delicious - the chef did a wonderful job. After a few days of exploring the area, hiking, zip-lining, and horseback riding, we took a day to relax and enjoy the infinity pool. We could not have picked a more beautiful place on Earth to enjoy our honeymoon,and honestly, I feel that the price that we paid for our villa was a great value. Thank you Oxygen for making our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 3. This villa seemed to be the perfect option because we had both an ocean view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! As we move forward at Oxygen, we find more and more honeymooners choosing our hotel to spend a portion or most of their special time here.The privacy afforded, the quietude, the tranquil setting,the attention displayed by the staff, all contribute to a memorable stay during a memorable time. We hope to be able to serve more and more couples in the future searching for their own special time. Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all, this hotel is beautiful, that being said, it could be anywhere in the world which specifically was not something I consider a plus. Maybe we were spoiled by the locally owned hotels we stayed in before we got here... I don't know. In general, this hotel had a lot of hype to live up to, and not to be a downer, but it was underwhelming in almost all aspects.

The road there is pretty bad, as everyone says. But their directions are crystal clear, and we got there without any wrong turns or confusion and this was in the rain.

When we arrived the check in process was pretty slow (like 30 minutes slow) and the couple who arrived after us were taken to their room first, after a five hour drive I was a little irritable about that.

When we did get to the room it was lovely, not as private as we had hoped for though, because we could hear every word spoken by the couple in the villa next door... and I'm sure they heard us too, not a plus on a honeymoon :) and we did specifically mention that it was our honeymoon and we wanted something private in the reservation. On the plus side the view was great, and the deck area in front of the villa is a really awesome space to relax privately and just enjoy the sounds. I like that they use refillable shampoo and soap dispensers because I find it ironic that a lot of the "green hotels" still use disposable packaging for their biodegradable toiletries. The cleaning staff cleaned our room from top to bottom every day, but they never refilled the coffee or gave us more creamer when we ran out. I was bothered by the amount of birds that flew into the glass windows every morning. It was really loud, and it killed our mood when it happened. We told the front desk that they should put up those stickers (like everyone else does) but they said it didn’t work… really?

We decided to join Oxygen for their special dinner our second night, and I think this was the most disappointing meal we had in Costa Rica, not to mention insanely overpriced. I will note that I don’t eat seafood, which I told them beforehand. I think they took that to mean that I wanted an American style chicken dinner because what we got was: a starter of one tiny toast with a large bowl of spinach dip (think Costco style, but from scratch), breaded chicken with ketchup and fresh tomatoes on top, broiled potatoes and pumpkin, and a slice of cheesecake for dessert. I was soooooo disappointed. Especially since I speak fluent Spanish and that enabled us to have some fantastic meals at the local restaurants for a lot less than this one. Needless to say we did not join them for dinner again, even though we were asked every day. Instead we went down the hill to eat lunch, go to the beach, and then ordered some food to go on the way back up.

I think the best feature of this hotel is by far the pool. We made a point to swim there every day. The view is amazing, better than from the villas, and I recommend that you bring binoculars if you are going because you can see the whales from the pool with them.

Overall we probably won’t be recommending it or coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all let us state that we had a very enjoyable stay,. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Sadly we only saw the Manager once during our 5 night stay and that was was off the property,
when he almost lectured us how busy he was.
Collectively, my wife and I have had almost 100 years in the hospitality industry and as owners that would greatly concern us, and as a guest its the last thing I would want to hear.
Oxygen is an interesting cross between a 'villa' and small hotel. Basically each unit is one glass enclosed room with a ensuite toilet, shower, twin hand wash basin and mini bar. There is also an open but covered terrace with sofa and table. We very much enjoyed 'Villa' 6 with its Trumpet Tree which attracted an amazing variety of bird life.
We arrived off the American Airlines flight into SJO at around 11.30am and after collecting a hire car it was virtually impossible to get to Oxygen before dark. We reached Uvita around 6pm in pouring rain and frankly the directions given on Oxygen's website or via email were grossly inadequate. Even the local Police Station (2 kilometres away) didn't know where the property was. More signage or better directions are essential to avoid a first negative impression.
We checked-in and took the option offered of having dinner on our terrace. The fixed 3 course dinner (no choice) was US$42 plus tax and service. When it arrived the cream based soup had seperated and was luke warm. Main course was meat and far too undercooked for me to find it edible. Dessert was one scoup of ice cream and three small pieces of fruit and delivered with the main course. Even if the main course was palatible, you would have had to eat dessert prior to the main course before the ice cream melted.
Therefore a single edible course cost US$42 plus tax and service. There are no phones in the room, so it wasn't as if you could report the problem easily.
As a result, sadly, we did not try dinner on any other evening. If the ONLY dining option is a fixed three course menu, then my suggestion would be to post the menu at breakfast time to give guests the option to eat onsite that night. The isolated location of Oxygen and the very limited choice of desirable restaurants in the area, perhaps gives a captive audience but I am sure guests would appreciate all possible options.
One of the staff recommended La Parcela, a restaurant just south of nearby Dominical Playa and as a lunchtime spot, while the food is locally above average, the view is spectacular.
The open room terrace for us was the most appealing aspect of Oxygen and I would suggest management consider overhead roof fans. Meanwhile, as a guest, we would advise that you pack a couple of Citreonella candles to deter the bugs.
Overall an outstanding spot which just needs the little things to make it perfect, like flowers on the tables and pillows and a little more thought about dinner. Breakfast and Lunch snacks were affordable and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you think the views are beautiful...wait until you meet the staff. Their hospitality truly comes from their hearts and souls! Marco, Jason, Gabrielle, Lupe, each were so attentive, caring, genuine! They made our stay unforgettable! Don't get me wrong, the villas, the infinity pool and the views are all spectacular but their staff brings Oxygen to life! When our vacation ended, we were refreshed, re-energized and ready to conquer the world again! Thank you Oxygen for an unforgettable vacation!! We WILL be back!! Lesa & Alberto Tollinchi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the glowing review. As you experienced, we at Oxygen are more of a family working together than just a group of employees. We are all knowledgeable about each and every aspect of the hospitality we wish to show our guests. We truly enjoy our work and try to emulate the true feeling of "Pura Vida" We hope to see you soon and often! Team Oxygen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon at Oxygen Jungle Villas and it was incredibly memorable. We stayed in Villa #3 and it was perfect. Villa #3 was slightly isolated from the others and had an incredible view. Being from the city, we typically enjoy visiting places with night life, shopping and dining options, but found this rainforest hideaway to be relaxing. Be prepared to turn the lights out at 9pm and call it an early night - not much to when it gets dark out, but perfect for vacation. Our favorite thing about the property was their food. When we first arrived we mentioned the foods that we do not care for/allergic to and they were taken into account for each meal. We had breakfast and surprise dinner every night and cannot say enough about dinner! "Absolutely, positively amazing" to quote my husband. The food ranged from shrimp to scallops to steak. We also signed up for the couple's massage which was so relaxing because it was indoors during a rainstorm, so you could hear the rain against the roof. The massage itself was average, but definitely relaxing. One day, we tried to hike to the waterfall, but it was probably more for intermediate hikers. We were a little apprehensive to go there as it seemed further than described in reviews. The hotel helped book our off road four wheel tour and our whale watching tour. The off road tour was gorgeous and well worth the money. The whale watching tour was just ok - a little disorganized - no whales, but dolphins. As you drive along the highway, be sure to try the Ceviche on the side of the road - Delish! We can't stop dreaming about it. Also for lunch, try tilapia and veggies at the soda on the left just as you turn off the main road to head up to Oxygen. Thank you for an amazing honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review! At Oxygen we always ask that guests express their personal needs for cuisine and we strive to fulfill these requests while keeping with the quality of the food they have come to expect.Our Spa treatments are available any time you wish. Early morning Energy Work to sunset Couples Massage in your private villa, The sounds of the jungle seem to enhance every experience at Oxygen.We feel wonderful we were able to make your special time a little more special and we hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huson Valley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wow, we rolled up just at dusk from a 5 hour cab ride from the airport. It was drizzling, the subdued dining room lights were on, Morchiba was playing on the sound system, a Hindu deity by a forever pool greets us, as well as Marco with some delicious tropical drink. The next 3 days where a dream. The private bungalow was beautiful, private and unique. The food is great as well as the service. Don't miss the waterfall on the property or a dip in the forever pool.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doung_Wodja, Team Oxygen at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are so happy that we were able to assist in making your honeymoon special. The privacy and seclusion are two of the many factors that draw couples to Oxygen. We are constantly searching for new ways to elevate the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, including selecting soothing music poolside as to facillitate your enjoyment of the natural beauty that is Oxygen. We hope to receive you as guests once again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica’s South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 one-bedroom villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.