We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic, romantic, beautiful, peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Epic, romantic, beautiful, peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Come snuggle and get away from it all. This is a quaint modern boutique hotel that forces you to stay in the moment and enjoy the serenity. There is no wifi internet in the rooms which is great for romance. The small open lobby does have wifi, a wonderful view and right next to the amazing infinity pool that exhales upon an endless view to the ocean and the surrounding forrest. At night for $30 a person you are offered a prefix menu which uses only local fresh produce and meats to create their dining experience.
things to note:
The road up is long and rocky - during rainy season you will need a 4x4. small cars can make it up during dry season but you will be taking a risk- drive slow.

There is nothing once you are up there, so bring any items that you feel you might want (sunscreen, snacks, beverages, etc) the nearest convenient store is down the hill 30 min

You need to tell the staff in the a.m. if you want diner, since they buy everything the day of

Not a good place to come if you need to stay connected to the internet. It's more of get away from it all place

there is a WONDERFUL hike to a small waterfall

Room Tip: ask for a room with views to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    49
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
294
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent our last two nights in Costa Rica at Oxygen and it was a great. Pampered from the moment we arrived. The cabina was excellent, an oasis in itself. They were few people when we were there and perhaps that heightened the experience. We enjoyed the spa treatment together. On our last evening we dined onsite and there was no disappointment. Well thought out and prepared meal selection from the chef. Let's just say it is very close to the websites depiction all around. A youthful staff that were most helpful.

Room Tip: All the cabinas/rooms are the same design. I would suggest that you see the room to decide whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel is soo beautiful... It brings you nothing but serenity, peace, and happiness. When we arrived we were greated by Huib whom was pleasant and inviting, we were served Oxygens signature cocktail next to the infinity pool. Wow! What a view, after your first sip of this delicious drink and the moment you get lost in the scenery it's tough to realize whether your dreaming or not... Our luggage was taken to our villa by the staff! A great plus :) and then we were escorted to the villa. The villa is modern and chiq and the walls all of glass, we felt as if we were in our personal fish bowl with a stunning view on all sides.

Dinner was always an amazing surprise, experience, and tottaly worth doing! It was a delightful taste and treat with a zen surrounding each time.

Make an effort to do the river trail hike, you become your personal guide and embrace all the nature the jungles have to offer, we hiked down the rocks and took a dip in the natural pool of the stream it is incredible!!!

Any tour accommodations were very simple to have made by the staff there, Diego was a delight, very helpful and knowledgeable.

Huib the owner gave us such wonderful hospitality that we felt we where family rather then just guest.

We loved and enjoyed our stay at O2 and can,t wait to be back!

Let love rule,
Justin and Marcella

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on our recent trip to Costa Rica. We stayed in 5 hotels and this was our favorite. We regret that we did not stay longer. The owner and manager of the hotel were present during our visit and were very accommodating. The Oxygen signature cocktail we received upon arrival was delicious along the surprise 5 course dinner. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The oxygen jungle resort was exquisite. High on the mountain side overlooking the ocean and surrounding area you could not ask for a better view...from your villa made out of glass with rich woods, stone, and a patio with a sofa. We stayed in villa 1 and 2 which we next to the lodge. The staff are outstanding. They are kind, helpful, extremely accommodating and knowledgable about the options to visitors. Don't miss diner. The chefs choice meal never gets old and is a nice end to the day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon as our first hotel of 4 in Costa Rica. The town of Uvita is quiet and small which was a great place to start off. The people are extremely nice especially here on the Pacific. There are plenty of things to do and not too many tourists to keep you from enjoying them! Oxygen itself is something that you will never experience somewhere else. The staff is 5 star, helping you when you need, and leaving you at peace with your beautiful surroundings when you don't. The rooms are all glass so you feel like you are sleeping in the open but have the privacy to enjoy the environment without distractions! The dinner is something that is worth trying, a bit expensive but the environment and the food is worth the few extra $ a night or two. Oxygen is all about peaceful relaxation and that is exactly what we needed right after the wedding. Out of the four places we stayed in Costa Rica we certainly enjoyed them all but this one particularly we will be back to. Remember to get directions the ride up the mountain can be a little to interesting if you don't know where you going....but don't worry the trek up the mountain is worth it when you arrive! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Half of the rooms are Ocean Views half are Jungle Views, ours was 6 easy to get to and views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband & I spent 8 nights here for our honeymoon - and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and romantic place to stay.

We loved the room, it was a beautiful structure and had very relaxing vibe. We had a view of the jungle, ocean, and best of all the sunset and sunrise. We also really enjoyed the modern bathroom and shower. We had no issues with the toilets, like some of the older reviews mentioned - they were completely normal, modern dual flush units. Bungalow #3 was by far the best, because it was the most private and had the best view. However, we tried to request a specific room, which was unsuccessful, and we ended up with #8, which was nice, however it was the least private and right next to the drive into the resort.

The property is amazing, set in the jungle, high in a mountain. Yes, it is a 8+ minute drive up a winding dirt road. We took a taxi up the first time, which is a great way to learn directions to the resort. We had 4x4 rental dropped off at Oxygen, and used it the rest of our time there, without any problems getting up the mountain or getting around town. I definitely recommend renting a car to get around Uvita and adjacent towns - there's a lot to do and see outside of Oxygen.

The drinks and food was terrific and fresh, as other reviews mentioned. We tried breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoyed each and every meal. All of the food is affordable, except dinner, around $36/person, and is only available as a 4-5 course meal. We wish they would've offered a main entree only option, because most nights 4-5 courses is just too much food.

Do make sure to explore the property. There is a small trail past the yoga hut that leads to a gorgeous waterfall and natural pool. It's a fun hike and a nice private area to swim and explore.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. There are only about 4-5 front of house employees, who are there all the time, so you will get to know them fairly well. They were helpful with booking excursions, spa treatments and suggestions for things to do and places to eat in and around Uvita.

Room Tip: ocean facing is better than jungle, #3 is by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
5.5 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
7.5 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
8.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.