We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Villas Indeed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxygen Jungle Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oxygen Jungle Villas to your Saves list
Oxygen Jungle Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jungle Villas Indeed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I'm going to go ahead and get this out of the way in case you are browsing for a review that will help you make your decision of where to go for your 1 of a kind honeymoon destination. After all you only get one so this one has to be perfect right? Well I am a huge fan of Oxygen Jungle villas. This is definetly everything my new wife and I had ever dreamed it would be. What will follow now is more praising of oxygen jungle villas, their staff and the beautiful place that is COSTA RICA. (Pura Vida!!)

Let me get important things out of the way. Some of these things might seem obvious but they took us off guard.

* To carry on a bag definetly costs money on spirit airlines. It's 30 dollars a bag.
* There is a 20 dollar fee that is like a tourism tax you get charged at your departure airport.
* Pretty much 1000 colones is 2 dollars, making 5000 colones 10 dollars.
* A GPS is definetly a fantastic investment.
* Be specific about the transmission of the car when renting it.
* Bring a poncho. It doesn't rain all the time but if or when it does remember this is the jungle.
* Don't buy a map at the airport they are wayy too expensive and your rental car company will give you one.

Now for Oxygen. We rented a car and drove from San Jose. Very easy drive with the GPS. Probably would be fine if you new the directions perfectly. But unless you are terribly afraid that paying for a GPS makes you less adventurous just pay for the ability to follow directions instead of having to use the extra brain power to remember. This is the 21st century. Technology is here to stay. You will also be impressed with it's ability to navigate you down dirt roads that would lead to nothing if you didn't have to climb first the steepest, most treaturous, unpaved road I have ever been on. (So Fun!) But that road which you will certainly get used to going up and down is the road to paradise!

When you feel like your 4x4 isn't going to take you any further keep going another 100 ft and turn right. You can catch a glips of the glass enclosed villas. Each is very secluded. I didn't hear or talk to one of my neighbors once in 7 days. While there are only 12 villas some of you might still be concerned with having to talk with strangers. Don't be concerned people are so occupied with the view and the food that they are thinking the same thing you are, "It's so nice to just be quite and enjoy where I am right now."

The main house is within walking distance from all villas. It has wifi that always works and can sometime be picked up in your villa. They serve a nice menu almost all day long but the wife and I ventured out often for lunch and dinner. Not because we didn't like Oxygen's food but they encourage you to try other places and do some activities in the nearby towns. I can still see the streets in my minds eye with Aldos the frozen coffee shop at the bottom of the hill and across the street the bank and the grocery store. Remember to ask also if the place you plan to venture out to takes credit card because a lot of places do. The staff is happy to find out information, make reservations, and inform you about local activities. David is a gem and all of the staff are polite and speak both english and spanish. Most of the costa rican's we ran into spoke just as much english as I speak spanish which is just enough to go anywhere and do anything. There is considerable to do from horseback riding, to zip lining, to eating out, beaches, surfing, hicking, and yes plenty of shopping.

The rooms are fantastic. The AC works excellent for those of you like me who like a steady chill. Double sinks, hot water, and a safe that can't be moved. There is also a philips dvd player that can play all of there very decent movie library. I'm a big movie buff so was loving the classic movies that can play in the background... Hey the bed is the focal point of the room and it doesn't make sense to sleep everytime you are in the villa. There is also a coffee maker and a fridge in the room.

The whole experience was amazing. We couldn't of asked for more. We had wanted a first class destination with good food, professional and personal staff, with beaches and an amazing view. I wish I could write more but it is so hard to put into words. I miss you Oxygen and you have no idea what an impact this beautiful experience has made on me and my wife. We feel encouraged and inspired. We can't wait to come back.

PS - When you go definetly definetly hit up La Tallengara for lunch, Exotica for dinner and Ados for the ice coffee and banana split.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view villa if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    49
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
297
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

From the moment we arrived, David (the manager) made us feel special. He brought us complimentary cocktails (very well received after our 3 hours drive from San Jose!) and took our luggage to our villa. While we had requested one with an ocean view, we ended up in Villa #12. This is the most remote one that they have.

At first, I wasn't thrilled with this but within the first hour that we rested on our porch, we heard rustling in the trees right outside! A band of monkeys was passing through making quite a ruckus! From that moment on, we figured we had the BEST villa there! The next morning, a pizote came to visit as well. This one seemed a bit more tame as when I clucked at him as he walked away, he did turn around. Guess he was used to seeing people.

The dinners here were as we had read, a 'surprise' to the guests. We were asked if we preferred vegetarian, etc. so they were accommodating to different dietary needs. Descriptors: Mouth watering, highly flavorful, enticing, etc. Just imagine the best meal you've ever had......this will rival it!

Be sure to take the river walk as well. It's an easily managed trail and ends up at a pleasant waterfall.

Cudos to the staff for making our stay one that we will always remember. David, your hospitality was much appreciated! Dallas (our waitress - I do hope we have her name right!) was so very personable as well; we enjoyed our conversations! To the owners: you chose well!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Loved the glass rooms. Loved the view from the check-in/pool/meal area. Very helpful staff (David was a huge help and so was the owner Ed). Love the nature (saw a whiteface monkey right outside of our villa and tons of birds and other smaller wildlife).

Wasnt too big on the food (very bland and overpriced. We ate dinner here once only). You also have to decide whether you want dinner at the hotel first thing in the am each day. I dont like committing myself to much on vaca. No room service (but this is a good thing bc it would attract animals for sure). Yoga room, but no yoga instructor. No wifi in room. Toilet starts to stink a bit in room after a few days.

Net result I would definitely stay here again and I would stay in villa #12. Definitelu most exclusive and "nature-lover" villa. But if you like to stay at a hotel and enjoy the hotel scene (food, drinks, yoga, massage, entertainment, etc...) this p,ace isnt for you. Ammenities are pretty bare bones, but their service, nature, proximity to everything, and room quality makes it all so worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your visit and taking the time to leave a wonderful review! We can’t express enough how important feedback is to all of us at Oxygen and how serious we take every single comment.

Most of your comments are directly linked to the Oxygen philosophy and we are happy to see them mentioned here so future guests may determine if Oxygen is exactly what they are looking for. Some comments we wish we’d heard while you were here: all plumbing should be -and normally is- unnoticeable in every single villa, no exceptions and any problem that may occur is usually a very easy fix.
We have a private yoga instructor on call for our guests; the hotel is very small and yoga is requested only occasionally, so we simply require some notice. The same goes for our massage services; we have excellent therapists on call and we have an extensive list of very popular treatments. We offer free Wi-Fi at the clubhouse/restaurant and poolside and we have two villas with free Wi-Fi for guests that really need constant access to internet.

At the O2 restaurant, we serve a daily changing 4 course surprise dinner with an additional amuse-bouche (taster) at 32 USD total. To guarantee the freshest possible produce (organic where possible), our Chef visits local markets every single day and sources exactly what he needs for just that night, carefully selecting the best available that day. Besides the guarantee for offering the freshest food, this method also means we do not waste any food. To make all this possible, we indeed request a reservation for the restaurant before 11am. Usually, all this results in fantastic dinners, which have been praised by many, so we are surprised and very sorry to hear your experience wasn't as it should be. During your next stay with us, we invite you to try our surprise menu again free of charge. We are extremely confident about the outcome.

We thank you again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Oxygen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Oxygen Jungle Villas was just what we needed to unwind and relax. The glass villas are comfortable but not as spacious as I had pictured. Also, there are many that are not very private, especially number 11 which is the first one on the jungle trail to the river. We had villa 7 which was nice because we could sit on our couch and and not see anyone else. The ocean was only visable if you stood up but I believe only four villas have full ocean views. What we enjoyed the most was the infinity pool which was gorgeous. The dinners were always delicious but the breakfast and lunch were nothing special. There are many activities that are available in the area and the staff is very helpful in explaining and setting up any tours you are interested in. We took the tour to Corcovado National Park and had a great day touring the mangroves and finding exotic animals such as red macaws, jesus christ lizards, and a sea turtle nesting. The walk to the river, on Oxygen's property, is a short hike through the rainforest. When you first get there it doesn't look like much but if you hike upsteam for about 15 minutes you will get to a bigger waterfall, and chances are good that you will be the only one there. The toucans visited every morning at about 6am-7am. A truely delightful experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! Just to make sure that everybody has the right idea about the size of our villas: all villas have a footprint of exactly 77 m2 (about 825 square feet), of which roughly half is covered outside area. The villas at Oxygen are very much an inside-outside experience. You will be able to enjoy the jungle sounds and gentle breeze from the covered wrap-around porch, while you are also able to retreat to the air conditioned comforts of your villa. We designed the villas so the large sofa and coffee table are situated outside, while bedroom and bathroom are inside the glass villa. With regards to privacy: all villas are detached and have several meters of lush garden between them, the jungle villas even more so than the ocean view ones. To avoid confusion: villa 11 is one of our most secluded villas, also mentioned in other reviews. There are of course one or two villas that are a little less private, but they are mostly appreciated by guests that wish to be closer to the clubhouse and pool. Side note: The toucans were joined by some very loud howler monkeys this morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Usually we only read the reviews and don’t write one, but after our incredible vacation at Oxygen, we want to make sure everybody knows about this place! Immediately after our arrival, the staff took care of us as if we were VIP’s and they kept doing that until the very last minute (thank you David, Dallas and Courtney!). It really felt like arriving in paradise, we just could not get enough of the spectacular view over the infinity pool, the ocean, the jungle and the gorgeous statues, hidden between the flowers and trees. We enjoyed this scenery also during breakfast en dinner, we just loved the four course surprise dinners, well done chef!

The villas in Bali style are beautiful, perfectly clean and private, with a very comfortable king-size bed and a wonderful sitting area. From our couch on the porch we did not just have a beautiful ocean view, we also saw toucans, hummingbirds and many other birds from nearby.

We have had a great mix of relaxing and off-site activities during our vacation, also thanks to the great tips we were given for the excursions we wanted to make.

Don’t forget to walk down the river trail, where you can see howler-monkeys if you are lucky, have a swim in the natural pool, sit next to the waterfall in the nice chairs or – to make it even more exciting, climb up the waterfall, all on the property of Oxygen.

The kind hospitality, the amazing scenery, the perfect villa, the surprise dinners to die for, the great value for money, this hotel is worth all 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This past week, my boyfriend and I had the pleasure of spending 4 amazing nights at this hotel. Our villa was outstanding: beautiful design and incredibly clean. There are no TVs or telephones in the room, which might not be what you're looking for. For us, however, it was perfect. We also loved how just outside the villa there was a little porch area with a couch. Great for having an afternoon snack or drink.

We stayed in villa #2, which was nice and secluded. We had great neighbors in villa #1 (apparently the family of the owners!), so it was a real pleasure having a mix of seclusion and friendly company nearby!

The pool area is enough to make your jaw drop to the floor. It's a beautiful infinity pool surrounded by cute lounge chairs and umbrellas. The fact that there are only a handful of guests at a time really adds to the experience: we never felt crowded at all, and we always had our choice of seating in the sun or the shade.

The food is another incredible aspect of this hotel. We particularly loved the surprise dinners. Not only was the food to die for, but the staff made sure our dietary restrictions were taken into consideration.

Speaking of the staff, what an approachable group of people! David in particular was amazing at making sure we were happy at all times (thanks, David!). We also experienced fabulous service from the other staff members. The owners of the hotel, Edwin and Flora, were present and ready to help with anything. Edwin helped us rearrange our outing schedule when one of our tours was inadvertently canceled by the operator, and Flora had been involved in ensuring we had transportation back to San Jose to catch our flight. Very quick responses to emails was greatly appreciated.

I'm sure I'm forgetting to touch on some aspects of our experience, but overall, this hotel was incredible. We would recommend it without a doubt. We saw some of the other hotels nearby, and I think I can permit myself to say that you'd really be quite silly to stay anywhere else in the area! :-)

Thank you for making this the perfect way to end our Costa Rican vacation!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I don't even know where to begin as far as my review of Oxygen. I've never had a more perfect vacation & we've been raving about it to anyone who will listen since we've been home. The owners (Flora & Edwin) & the staff (David, Dallas & Courtney), were AMAZING & thought of everything from start to finish. From the second we stepped foot on the property we were treated to the most hospitable experience either one of us has ever encountered & I can't wait to go back.
Our villa was exactly as we expected, a perfect size, very clean & even though they are all glass there is plenty of privacy. Little touches like a portable DVD player (which is also an IPod dock & CD player) & a reading light attached to the bed were very appreciated (they also have a library of about 100 DVD's for guests to borrow during their stay). There are only 12 villas on the property, and the staff really gets to know each guest - you don't even have to sign anything after meals or drinks by the pool - they know each & every person by name so they just add whatever you spend to your check, which you can look over before you pay at the end of your stay. I also loved getting out of the pool to a fresh glass of water with a cucumber slice in it waiting for me by my chair - EVERYTHING was thought of, and everything was done with a smile & a friendly conversation.
As for the reviews (very few) that I read with complaints about Oxygen, it is obvious to me that they never made their issues known to the staff. ANYTHING we needed or asked for was taken care of, and I witnessed the same thing being done for each & every guest - even things that weren't under Edwin, Flora or David's control! For instance, when we arrived at the San Jose airport, we were told by the rental car company who we had a reservation with (for 3 months) that they had no cars & they had no idea when they would have one for us. After waiting awhile we decided to take a taxi, which cost about as much as what our entire week of renting a car was supposed to cost us. David & Flora, who had nothing to do with the mix-up, obviously, kept calling until they found us a rental car which was brought to Oxygen for us - we did the paperwork while we were eating breakfast. That's just one example of them going above & beyond in trying to make each & every guest's experience the best that it could be.
As far as off-site activities go, we basically told them what we were looking to do & they set everything up for us & gave us little tips & places to stop for every excursion. Rather than try to get us to eat every meal at Oxygen, which would obviously be in their best interest, they suggested different lunch & dinner spots which were all amazing. It was hard to say no to dinner at Oxygen though, as the 4 course surprise meal every night was spectacular (and we are both food snobs).
I could go on & on forever about our experience at Oxygen but I'll stop here. Everyone should experience the hospitality & beauty of Oxygen Jungle Villas, it really is the vacation of a lifetime & I can't wait to go back. I can only hope that Edwin & Flora expand their "empire" in other places as we would definitely travel around the world just to see what other paradises they create.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
5.5 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
7.5 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
8.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxygen Jungle Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.