We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Celaje to your Saves list
Hotel Celaje
| Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hotel Celaye is I think the most beautiful hotel around the area of Montezuma. The staff is very friendly. The food outstanding and the cabins romantic. It is my second time that I spend there. I now a litle bit Montezuma and for me it is the best hotel in the area.
I can advise it for everyone, people how are not agree with me do no nothing about traveling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    30
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

After a comprehensive trip around Costa Rica..the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica was Hotel Celaje....beachfront bungalows in a serene tropical setting on an unspolied beach...The cabins are within feet of the ocean and a sparkling swimming pool! We enjoyed just relaxing in the restaurant/bar area and were pleasantly surprised to have delicious European cuisine! The hosts were gracious and helpful and we look forward to returning to this quaint hotel and beautiful area! Robert and Mary Lowe

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We spent our honeymoon in hotel Celaje in Cabuya.
This little cozy hotel has everything tu ensure privacy in the middle
of nature and directly on a unspoiled beach.
The bungalows are spread over a tropical garden and kept extremely
clean.Hotel Celaje has a bar, a restaurant, a tropical swimmingpool
and the owners are all the time available.
We loved the quietness, back to nature and the fact that you have all
the privacy you need.
The little village Cabuya is only a walking distance away for local enjoyment.
Not one minute we regret to have spent our honeymoon in this hotel and
we certainly are coming back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magriet
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

we stayed 6 nights and we have a fantastic time.
hotel Celaje is a nice and quite place to stay, with a beautiful swimming pool and garden, the two store bungalows are very nice and clean.
the food is excellent.
the owners (Raghnilda and André) and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist with any of our needs.
we hope to return ant to stay more days.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Hotel Celaje is a nice, quite place to stay in Cabuya. The cabinas are very clean and the grounds are nicely maintained. It's right on the ocean, but the beach is rocky, so it's best to drive towards Montezuma if you're looking for a nice beach.
Hotel Celaje's downfall is it's owners. They are not friendly and if you ask them for anything - a drink from the bar, to put something in the safe, the wi-fi password, you feel like you've inconvenienced them in some way. The wi-fi signal didn't reach to our cabina, so you have sit in the restaurant or by the pool to use it and the owners may turn it off at night. Also, if you've rented a car, the parking area is a very tight squeeze if there are more than 3-4 cars.
The breakfast is included with the room is just coffee, toast, eggs, and fruit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is a nice quiet little hotel on the beach, where the owners make you really welcome and are willing to arrange any trip but never interfere with your enjoyment but are always on hand with helpful information.
Big two-store bungalows are kept very clean and we would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, young or old.
The food is excellent, we'd go back any time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We have wonderful memories of this small hotel near Montezuma. We stayed 4 nights and had a fantastic time and wished we had booked more nigths. The hotel has a beautiful setting, is well-maintained and kept very clean. The restaurant is serving 3 meals, european style, is very tasteful and certainly highly recommendable to try the flavour of home-cooking. The pool is the biggest attraction along the beautiful garden. The owners and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist with any of our needs. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celaje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.