We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice quiet little hotel on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Celaje to your Saves list
Hotel Celaje
| Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
belgium
1 review
“a nice quiet little hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is a nice quiet little hotel on the beach, where the owners make you really welcome and are willing to arrange any trip but never interfere with your enjoyment but are always on hand with helpful information.
Big two-store bungalows are kept very clean and we would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, young or old.
The food is excellent, we'd go back any time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
landen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We have wonderful memories of this small hotel near Montezuma. We stayed 4 nights and had a fantastic time and wished we had booked more nigths. The hotel has a beautiful setting, is well-maintained and kept very clean. The restaurant is serving 3 meals, european style, is very tasteful and certainly highly recommendable to try the flavour of home-cooking. The pool is the biggest attraction along the beautiful garden. The owners and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist with any of our needs. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

This is an excellent hotel for people looking for a relaxed laid-back holiday in a beautiful location. Gracious and friendly hosts, good food, nice pool, spacious, clean cabinas, great location surrounded by varied, interesting, abundant wildlife. We stayed for 11 nights and cannot recommend the place too highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We had booked 2 nights at hotel celaje and when we contacted them thru e-mail they quoted us a price of $72.00 per night. They were aware it was for 3 people. When we settled the bill on the day we left, Ragnhilda charged us $88.00. When I mentioned the previously quoted price of $72.00, she merely stated that she made a mistake and still charged us the $88.00 rate. Besides that we were charged an additional $12.00 for paying by credit card which was not mentioned previously. Additionally, she also charged us $4.00 for 2 glasses of juice which should have been included as a breakfast beverage ( nowhere else were we charged for juice in any of the 9 other Hotels we stayed in Costa Rica). She did send us an E-mail later offering a free night stay even though we preferred to just get a refund. All in all the owners are cold and unpersonable, especailly Ragnhilda. The breakfast was uninspiring, offering only one choice. Eggs, Fruit, one piece of Toast and stale Cornflakes.
The location is about 7km from towncenter and other Restaurants and somewhat isolated.
On a postive note, the place itself is charming. The cabinas are nice, spacious and clean and the grounds and pool are well maintaned.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

If you want to get away from the tourist centres along Costa Rica's Pacific coast and enjoy some quiet days in a beatiful environment, that's the place for you. The hotel consits of a number of nice and clean little cabinas in a beautiful garden with a swimming pool and direct access to the sea. In particular, we enjoyed the hammocs infront of the bungalows. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — hammocks, quiet location
  • Disliked — rocky beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Cute little bungalows and very friendly staff. We stayed three nights and had a very nice time. While the beach is rocky, the hotel location is central to the area activities, and the area is quiet at night. We liked it!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We spent 4 days at Hotel Celaje. The location was outstanding. The hotel itself very clean and very pleasant with th biggest pool in the area. The Belgian hosts were gracious, friendly and very helpful and there was a fun and comfortable atmosphere. A great choise of Belgian beer.
Highly recommended.

Patrick & Stefanie

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celaje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.