We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Celaje to your Saves list
Hotel Celaje
| Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The sort of place that is too good to share - but I had to. 7 simple A-frame, well equipped and comfortable lodges set in a mini nature reserve with a restaurant, pool and secluded beach. The hotel is run by a Dutch couple who are very sociable, efficient and of course speak better english than most british. The animation team consists of the two canine pets Lucky and Kardoes (after whom the restaurant is named). Food is excellent, not complicated and includes a few Dutch specialities. You can walk along the beach to the strung out village (excellent bakery/cafe) or to the river for a swim or even swim from the beach. It's a good hike/short bus trip to Costa Rica's first nature reserve with it's monkeys, butterflies and birds. Lots of low key things to do - or just hang out by the pool, entertain the dogs and watch the wildlife. You could even join the Yoga
group that meets at the hotel. Bliss.....

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were staying in Montezuma and stopped at Celaje for lunch. We found the female owner who was working the restaurant to be *so friendly* so I'm baffled at the people who described the owners as cold and aloof. She made us a wonderful lunch, and invited us to have a swim in the pool, she said it was the slow season in Costa Rica (late November/Early December) so she was glad to have some extra people around. We enjoyed lunch and a swim in the pool, she had the cutest little dog who we played ball with. We enjoyed our time there so much we came back the next day for dessert, drinks and another swim. The place seemed so laid back, relaxed and friendly. I'd love to go back and stay there someday!

Again: I did not stay at the hotel, just used the pool, and had lunch/drinks/dessert. But our experience of that was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent Hospitality! The owners came to Costa Rica on vacation, fell in love w/ the area and decided to purchase & run this place. They are wonderful people who are very welcoming and speak English, Spanish & Dutch. Great Food! They have a wide variety to choose from on their menu, as well as a continental breakfast! All the food is fresh and cooked to perfection. Also, if you go fishing and catch anything, they will prepare and cook it to your liking! One evening, a guest had caught Ahi and we had excellent sushi!! Perfect Location & Beautiful little Bungalow!! The bungalows are very beautiful and unique, made with lots of raw wood and natural materials and decorated w/ local items from nature and the beach! Hotel Celaje is located just outside of one of the larger little towns were you can find local art/artists, shopping, excursions, restaurants and more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow, this place is cool. Its like the raw Costa Rica from years ago. Clean cabinas and uniquely decorated. (Down side: dark, no mosquito net in ours). Beach is not swimmable at times, but get a kayak and have fun. The island with the cemetery is so worth it. Take hammocks and have the island to yourself. The restaurant at Celaje is fantastic. Breakfast was delicious. The fish and the steak were the best. It's true...we live in Costa Rica and we had the BEST steak at Celaje. Head up to Montezuma and hike to the waterfall. Wonderful. Head over to Mal Pais and see the Pacific surf. Perfect for families would like to be off the beaten path. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Super relaxing. Beautiful cabins, Beautiful grounds. Great food. What more do you want. This is also a bit of the beaten track just after you leave all the tourist noise behind. Added fun for us was that the owners turned out to be Dutch, as we are formerly from the Netherlands we really liked that. The nearby park is a bit more relaxing as well, not as many tourist but lots of monkeys.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and we didn't use room service, but trip advisor doesn't allow me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I needed to relax so decided to spend our 3 week holiday here at the Celaje in Cabuya, a small sleepy fishing village in Costa Rica. Cabuya is a 15 minute bus ride
(7 kilometres) from Montezua which has a large variety of activities, shopping, restaurants and sand beaches.

First I will start with what we loved, our bungalow was very private and cleaned everyday by the discreet cleaning staff. The upstairs bedroom was very roomy and had an overhead fan, hardwood floors and comfortable mattresses with great bedding. Downstairs had a small fridge for our cold beverages and the owners thoughfully supplied us with a coffee maker as we were early risers and long staying guests. In the front of the cabin was a private porch, with nice hammock and chairs and table to enjoy the view of the ocean.

Breakfast was plentiful and hot, serving eggs, pancakes, fruit, gallo pinto, juice and coffee. It was served under the large rancho with a lovely view of the pool and beach. It was buffet style so you could enjoy it at your own pace.

The pool is partially shaded and in the heat of the day was still cool and refreshing, ideal for those hot Costa Rican afternoons. The grounds were kept to high standards with the daily work of Ciego, who raked and watered to create a lovely tropical environnment. There were a variety of chairs and loungers to relax on while chatting to other guests or just reading, enjoying the free internet or sunning by the pool.

Meals were reasonably priced and the fish with the mustard sauce was one of our favourites. Great hamburgers and fries, beef tenderloin was delicious and the beer was always cold. The service was great, always a smile!

The owners, Marco and Carola along with all the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and part of the Celaje family and we will treasure our memories of this relaxing holiday.

Now for the negative, the day the that we had to leave and return to the frozen north:(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved the grounds. We loved the pool (although it needs a thorough cleaning-the water is not clear, algae). We loved the breakfast, it was excellent. The bungalows were cute and private. We liked the hammock, swinging chair and outdoor table and clothesline. We liked the location - easy access to Montezuma and Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area. The bungalows were clean.

We hated the pillows (bring your own, seriously). We found the owners to be a bit on the cool side, not unfriendly, but not warm or inviting. The bungalows back right up to the road, as other reviewers have mentioned, can be loud.

I would probably give this place 3 stars if there seemed to be better options around, but there didn't seem to be much competition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celaje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.