We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be called delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho

El Rancho
Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“should be called delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This little outdoor restaurant gives you quite the bang for your buck! Large portions with smaller prices.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Standard AB Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved the food here. The owners put a lot of love into it and you can taste the freshness and quality. We were big fans of the burrito as well as the casado.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

simple little restaurant but great seafood and service!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LOVED this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We ended up eating at El Rancho several times during our stay in Cabuya this past March. It is a simple looking soda at an intersection in Cabuya, along a dirt road. The food was great, obviously very fresh ingredients, friendly staff, great service, and fun to sit outside and watch the world go by...albeit very slowly. We are going back to Cabuya this August and will definitely dine at El Rancho again.

Order the seafood soup! It was the most amazing seafood soup I have had in my life! I think the entire ocean was in it!! The good parts of the ocean that is! If you're in Cabuya, you MUST go to El Rancho.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Tico Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great food and service, resonably priced - one plate could feed two!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.