We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great pizza and terrific owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Coyote

Cafe Coyote
Cabuya | Centro america, Cabuya, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
26420354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great pizza and terrific owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Jenny is a very good cook. Every meal is gourmet. Be sure to enjoy her amazing beans and creative salad as your meal warm up! Her homemade wood fired pizza is also very good. Our children claimed that it was the best pizza they had every had! The family is also wonderful, offering you a mini-Spanish lesson and great area info!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shapleigh, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

What's not to like? Best Pizza and drinks! The owner Jenny is charming! Off the beaten path less than half a mile from Super David and our house! Go there you will not regret!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and helpful info from the owners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at a nearby house that Jenny manages, and we ate at the cafe twice, and picked up pizza once. All simple and delicious local cuisine. Jenny, her husband Pollo, and their children are friendly, helpful and full of good information about the area. They can help you arrange tours or rides to nearby towns or the beaches across the peninsula. They arranged a great price on a ride to Playa Carmen for us. Pollo and their son Andres were actually the drivers of our pre-arranged trip back to the Tambor airport (which we actually made through another company - see my "Note" immediately following) and they graciously stopped in Montezuma for us to check it out for a half an hour, and then also in Cobano for us to buy coffee and even came in to help us pick it out. Note: their shuttle company is Tropical Tours Shuttle and is NOT affiliated at all with "The" Costa Rica Shuttle (not to be confused with Costa Rica Shuttle). "The" Costa Rica Shuttle is an unauthorized broker who takes your reservation and money and then arranges your shuttle with real, local companies for a large surcharge that you don't even realize you are paying. If you want to get a ride from Tambor to Cabuya, arrange it through Tropical Tours directly for $55 each way, or plan to pay $75 each way through "The" Costa Rica Shuttle, and if he can't find a company with room in the vehicle that day, you are out of luck and $75!!! Anyway, Jenny also manages houses in Cabuya, including the Neil House (Casa Neil), which is next to Mar Paraiso Fishing Tours. This is a great cafe, off the beaten path, run by an honest, hard working family. Give it a try!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pizza. Breakfast, and Info Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Cabuya. We started off the morning after we arrived at Coyote Cafe. It was an excellent choice. Even though the power was out every where, Jenny was still able to prepare an amazing breakfast. One night we even got pizza to go and ate it by moonlight on the beach. Great pizza at a good price. Jenny is knowledgeable about everything in the area and can arrange tours, transport, rentals, etc. If you are going to Cabuya you should stop by Coyote Cafe to eat or just to talk with Jenny, both will prove to be great experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Jenny is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've been back here on 3 separate occasions. The coffee is delicious. It's always peaceful and relaxed. Jenny is one of the most genuine restaurant owners you will ever encounter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coyote also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Coyote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Coyote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.