We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postre Chilena! Best bakery on peninsula!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabuya Bakery and Cafe

Cabuya Bakery and Cafe
Main Road, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
506-2642-1184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Postre Chilena! Best bakery on peninsula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

They made the best cakes and the best smoothies. The casados with rice and beans and meat were so fresh. Liked the family out door setting and the ladies were very nice. Reasonably priced compared to other establishments in the area.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best meal in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This restaurant is one of those places that makes me wish I could add a bonus star and rate it a six. We stayed nearby and unfortunately didn't even visit this restaurant until the day we were leaving. Simply put, the lunch we had was the best meal of the trip. We didn't even order anything particularly exotic, it was simply obvious that the chef knows how to prepare food and does so with care and style. The smoothies were incredible and large, the chicken was moist on the inside with a light crispyness on the outside, even the basic rice and beans were perfectly done. I went out of my way to tell the chef how impressed I was. The service was also very good. We spent $80 for a family of four, but that included three bags of coffee we were bringing home as gifts ($30). Eating out in CR isn't cheap, we rarely spent less than $60 so for the quality, our $50 lunch was exceptional. If you're in Montezuma or Cabuya, this place is a must. Next time we visit, I probably won't eat anywhere else, even though there are some other good places around.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was a bit of a drive from Montezuma just for breakfast but it was worth it! We drove straight there along the gravel road and were treated to wonderful food. Three of us had the banana pancakes and smoothies which were amazing and my son had the gallo pinto which was wonderful. It is a small patio, friendly atmosphere surrounded by beautiful gardens. The experience was worth the drive and then on the way back to Montezuma we explored beautiful beaches, saw howler monkeys in the trees and enjoyed the scenery. What more could you ask for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bought some bakery items and got directions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We purchased some bakery items on our way to Santa Teresa. They were great!! The staff also offered to help us with directions. The place looked nice and clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We enjoyed the great variety of offerings, loved the clean fresh food, and wonderful service. The presentation of the meals was very creative and delicious to the eyes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabuya Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cabuya Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabuya Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.