We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's part of the 'slow food' movement, and all the better for it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabuya Bakery and Cafe

Cabuya Bakery and Cafe
Main Road, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
506-2642-1184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's part of the 'slow food' movement, and all the better for it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've lived in this area for a few years now and always love going here. It's fun to take friends and see their faces when really great looking and tasting food, that's also really good value, is put in front of them. It's not what is expected. The menu is wide and varied, the ingredients are fresh. I want them to take a while to prepare it, I don't want it to be put in a microwave or reheated. I believe in the 'slow food' movement and want the freshness and quality that it brings. The last twice we have been a group of 12+. If you all order different things for lunch - sandwiches, full plates, smoothies etc. then your food is going to come out gradually. Sharing might be the way to go, splitting it up as it comes. This place is worth a stop and it's worth being a destination restaurant too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

oh, how i loved this place our hiking guide and driver took us to. what a lovely little spot, with chickens running around the backyard. everything on the menu sounded good, i loved my casados con pescado and pineapple passionfruit smoothie. very affordable, good portion sizes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in Montezuma for 8 days but visited Cabuya, Malpais, Santa Teresa, etc. and this was our favorite place to eat out of all the places in every town! We drove back to Cabuya two other times just to eat here! The prices are fantastic! $5 for the casados which were HUGE portions of fish with beans, rice, fried plantains, avocado, and wonderful veggie mix. The breakfasts were equally as good and their pankaces with bananas had us coming back! OH and the batidos!!! Fruit smoothies.....I couldn't get enough of the pineapple, mango, and lime! YUMMMM!!!!!! Oh, and they are so nice and friendly there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe is so charming and the service was great. Coffee was delicious and their smoothies are amazing!! They had good portions for the price and our breakfast was perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice location, breakfast and service. Overlooked a farm yard which gave it a country feeling. Also had excellent take out deserts

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabuya Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cabuya Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabuya Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.