We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Walk.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla de Cabuya

Isla de Cabuya
Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Cabuya
Attraction Details
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great walk across to the island when the tide is out. Remember to wear sensible shoes! The cemetery is interesting to wAlk around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Standard AB Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Highly recommended to go to this beautiful cemetery. The walk out is beautiful and hot. The view from the island is breathtaking and we just loved the feel of this very special place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting side trip, good for snorkeling and fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent a few hours fishing all around the island and spent a few minutes walking through the cemetary (it's very small). At low tide you can walk out to the island from shore. I caught a small snapper fishing, but wished I would have brought my snorkel gear as the water was very clear and calm on the side closest to Cabuya. The island is pretty small, so unless you plan on fishing or snorkeling, you won't need much time to explore it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Watch the sea part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

To get to the island, drive south from Montezuma. In the town of Cabuya, turn left after the bakery on the left, and drive down to the beach. At low tide (approximately 12:30-1:00 p.m. in early July 2012), you can walk out to the island, which was used by indigenous people for burials, and is still used for that purpose today. We saw plenty of vultures, but I didn't think the tide pools on the island were all that good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla de Cabuya also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Isla de Cabuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla de Cabuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.