We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tico Food at a Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda marvin

Soda marvin
Cabuya across the street from superdavid mercado, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Restaurant details
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tico Food at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We found this place and the food was Great! Casadas, Tacos Fajitas and Hamburgesas! It is where the locals eat and you can see it cooked! We enjoyedit and would have gone back if it wasn't packed the next night!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I visit Cabuya at least once every year, and I can say without any doubt that soda Marvins is the best restaurant in the entire area. Marvin and his sweet wife and children are always very sweet and attentive. The food is simply fantastic! I can highly recommend the quesadilla with chicken. I am not the biggest fish lover, but rumors will have it that the freshly caught tuna dishes are to die for. All in all a fantastic restaurant and a great local homey atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in Cabuya for 2 months and dined out at every place possible in the Montezuma and Cabuya area, and Marvin's place is by far the best restaurant we visited. Marvin and his sweet wife and his lovely children offer a great local atmosphere. They are always welcoming and the food is excellent! We can highly recommend the freshly caught tuna dishes and the amazing chicken quesadillas. Also, the prices are very affordable :)
All in all a visit worth while!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, fantastic prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We ate there every single night from the moment Jim, the owner of the Howler Monkey Hotel recommended this place. We felt no need to try anything else. Night after night we had great food at very reasonable prices. And the service was really friendly, too. We even brought our own wine after they told us on the first night that they don't serve any. Last but not least--great atmosphere, with dining tables under a palm-thatched roof. Can't get much better than this if you are looking for an authentic, low-key experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The quality hasn't changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were vacationing in Cabuya when Marvin's restaurant first opened 3-4 years ago. We returned to Cabuya this year and our first stop was at Marvin's for our now traditional Quesadia and Fahita. The presentation was still artful and the quality was unchanged. This year we also tried his garlic fish filet and it too was excellent. The only thing that changed were his 2 daughters who served as waitresses. They were two precocious kids back when and now they are teenagers. There are probably 2 other good restaurants in Cabuya but Marvin's is still hands down the best food for the best price. He needs to raise his prices!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda marvin also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda marvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda marvin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.