We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quality hasn't changed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda marvin

Soda marvin
Cabuya across the street from superdavid mercado, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 6 restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Restaurant details
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The quality hasn't changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were vacationing in Cabuya when Marvin's restaurant first opened 3-4 years ago. We returned to Cabuya this year and our first stop was at Marvin's for our now traditional Quesadia and Fahita. The presentation was still artful and the quality was unchanged. This year we also tried his garlic fish filet and it too was excellent. The only thing that changed were his 2 daughters who served as waitresses. They were two precocious kids back when and now they are teenagers. There are probably 2 other good restaurants in Cabuya but Marvin's is still hands down the best food for the best price. He needs to raise his prices!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    21
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in the Nicoya Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After some 15 visits over 23 days, I offer an unqualified excellent to this wonderful family restaurant. The level of sophistication of the menu and the meal presentation was far above expectation on every occasion. The fresh fish was always served just cooked and delicately seasoned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nothing special, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went to this soda based on reviews on TripAdvisor.
My husband ordered fish fajitas, and he enjoyed it, I ordered whole fish with salad, I was served big plate of salad with some fish. I guess the girl who took my order misunderstood me. I also ordered smoothie with mango and papaya when it arrived it was just papaya. I did not complain because the girl was unhappy to be taking our orders to begin with. The quality of food was good. Our bill came to 12 thousand colones which is a bit high for the stuff we ordered. I saw the daughter put some of the money inside her bra right in front of us. I was thinking she added extra amount to our total so she can pocket it to herself. How odd? Very strange. This put sour taste to my mouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Honestly this is the best food I had in Cabuya and all of Costa Rica! Wonderful owners, sweet and so gracious. I had so much wonderful food I took half of it home for the next meal! Check out the photo of what I had!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly family run restaurant with authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience, my favourite was the fish tacos. Small family run outdoor place, authentic tico experience. The family and owner were so friendly. The owner even gave us each a dish of his own ceviche, which I had never had before because I was afraid to eat it being raw fish and all, but it was fresh and flavourful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda marvin also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda marvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda marvin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.