We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howler monkey adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Howler Monkey Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Howler Monkey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Howler Monkey Hotel
El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cabuya B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Howler monkey adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This a fab little hide away with everything you could need. We loved drifting off to sleep with the sound of the waves and being woken up by the monkeys in the morning. Being able to canoe to the cementry island and snorkel was a great experience. We were able to hire bikes to cycle into Montezuma or get the bus from the end of the street. Despite being a nice quiet area there are a few great restaurants and handy shop within distance of an easy walk
Jim is a great host and good fun...thanks! Sorry the review is a bit late.
Murphy from Scotland!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    2
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It is a very special place that is off the beaten track!! We loved staying in a quiet, peacefull place and to enjoy the incredible nature and coast there. We had so many animals passing by that it was actually better than any other place (even very expensive parks) to spot the wildlife! Great pool, hearty host and nice cabañas.
Explore if you wanna escape the tourist crowds ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was travelling with my roommate and we were stranded after we took the ferry crossing the Nicoya gulf.

Unfortunately it was the last boat so there were no more busses on the other side which means we were stranded. Luckily enough for us the owner of the hotel picked us up after we decided to hitchhike and he took us all the way to his hotel without charging anything extra.

Since we are students on a limited budget we got a cabana-cabin all for ourselves at a discounted price. The place is a bit far but we could use the bikes for free to peddle ourselves all the way to Montezuma. The starry night in Cabuya is absolutely amazing - something I hadn't seen in over a decade.

Yes there are lots of ants and mosquitoes (which drive me crazy) but it's the jungle so that is to be expected.

Owner was really friendly and helpful. Even though we didn't have any plans to stay there we are happy that we did. Good place to go for a weekend!

~Robert & Jesus

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a place that is highly recomendable for nature lovers that prefer a nice well equipped bungalow (with a beautiful view) to a tent.
The place is close to a lot of vegetation, as a consequence you will see monkeys playing directly from your balcony and if you turn your head you can watch the tide come and go.
We loved it there and can absolutely receommend it for the type of nature lover tourist.

Room Tip: One of the Bungalows which have direct view to the beach and the tree where all the monkey play!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

When we arrived we immediately knew we would not be staying at at the Howler Monkey. We paid cash in advance since credit cards are not accepted. Dumb move. Didn't get a refund. We still decided to leave. That was a good move. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
These people were looking for air conditioner,i dont advertise A.C.as you dont need it on the beach.When you have slotted windows plus doors plus big fan,the sea breeze does the rest.When i took there deposit i was between credit card machines plus banks and waiting on new credit card machine which i now have.I told thes people i would honor any other 2 days they would like to stay which is my policy.Best regards Jim O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and did not enjoy our stay. The sheets were dirty, our room was full of flies and Mosquitos (no wonder with wide open windows), the pool was dirty and the beach did not really exist. The owner somehow did not seem to care much about his guests or his "hotel".
It's a 10 minute drive to montezuma.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
The reason i stayed away from these people is because since they came they were fighting with each other so i made myself scarce.I have never given people dirty sheets,the pool is cleaned by my staff 5 or 6 times a day,between cleans you might get a leaf falling in.We have had no rain in 4 months and mosquitos need water to procreate,so no mosquitos.We are in the jungle so yes you might have a few insects,you need to close the windows when you have the lights on in the room.The beach did not exist,this reminds me of 2 men looking out of prison barrs,one saw mud the other stars.The beach has a beauty of it own.Regards Jim O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 and were very pleased. We showed up without a reservation and lucked out that they had a cabana open. I suggest calling ahead though. Everything was just as expected and reasonably priced. The owner greeted us and made us feel welcome and one of the workers shared fresh tuna caught that day. The cabanas were very clean and kept up with a stove and refrigerator in the kitchen and hot showers. The pool was very nice as well. Expect an early alarm clock from the rooster that lives next door. I also suggest you find out when low tide is so you can take a walk out to the island cemetery.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located only a couple metres away from the beach and near the beautiful Cementry Island of Cabuya. There is a market and a few restaurants within short walking distance. We offer four Cabanas with oceanview, private bathrooms with hot water shower, private kitchen, fans and nice patios with hammocks. There is also a wheelchair accessable disability suite available with airconditioning and an on suite bathroom. All rooms are situated around the refreshing pool.For our guests we provide free wifi and a washing machine, snorkel gear, fishing poles, spear guns, kayaks, surfboard and bicycles. You can also rent quads from us for a discounted rate. Enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through our garden to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howler Monkey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;