We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Howler Monkey Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Howler Monkey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Howler Monkey Hotel
El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cabuya B&B and Inns
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best spot in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our second hotel we stayed at out of our six in Costa Rica and was the best! The cabana style rooms were amazing and really serene! The owner, Jim, is the man! He is a chill Irish dude who knows how to have a good time. When I go back to Costa Rica I will spend at least a week at the Howler Monkey with Jim. Montezuma and Cabuya were my favorite places in Costa Rica, mainly because the people are really friendly and the land is beautiful. Thanks Jim!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We are an aussie couple 50+ We are well travelled throughout Asia and can honestly say Howler monkey. Hotel and the affable host Jim provide the serenity and ambience for a beach side chill out. The town of cabuya definitely takes you over and you succumb to CR pace and peace. Local fish is exquisite from either of the fishery outlets. We purchased schnapper from familiar Bing, Yummy. The beauty of HM hotel is you get your own kitchen n fridge a luxury when ur on the road n sick of eating out. Montezuma looks ok but typical of young transient gringoes believing they are the first to discover the place, 2 hours in town was enough for us. So if you are looking for a tranquil place, no bells whistles and is environmentally friendly support young Jim and take home a beautiful memory rather than an exhorbitant credit card bill. Thankyou Jim may that 4 leaf clover fall from the mango tree and bless you as the land crabs do each morning and raise their claw and wish ya top er da morning. PURA VIDA TONY AND ROIE WOOLRICH, Melbourne Australia.

Room Tip: Cabins in front of pool looking out to the bay, mug beuno
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

On our trip we stayed at all different places from a tent on the beach, to oceanfront cabanas, and 5 star resort in the rainforest. Howler Monkey hotel was our favorite even when we were at the 5 star resort we wished we were back at Howler Monkey Hotel. I was between Cabo Blanco hike and Montezuma. We had such a good time eating at local sodas and hanging out at the hotel. The best night we had while in Costa Rica was sitting by the pool with Jim drinking and listening to all his stories. Dos Equis got it wrong Jim is the world's most interesting man. Thanks for the awesome stay Jim, next time we go to Costa Rica the Howler Monkey hotel will be a definite stop!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamtramck, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Ok, here's what happens, you wake up in your amazing little jungle hut and the first thing you see is the sunrise flooding in through the windows. It's an amazing feeling to wake up here and it just keeps getting better. Jim is a very charming host with a heart of gold who also has great stories. You will love his two side kicks, Sparky and Rosanna.
The ocean in front of the hotel during the day changes from a robin's egg blue around high tide to a darker shade when it recedes.
In addition to going a couple miles down the road to Cabo Blanco Park. Jim has 2 sea kayaks and snorkel gear included in hotel admission for you to use.
We had a riot paddling out to the cemetery island (it only takes about 15 minutes) and snorkeling at high tide. The water by the island is exceptionally clear for the area due to the rock seafloor. It's really beautiful. My boyfriend saw a parrot fish. I saw a yellow puffer and some other fish. Riding the waves back into shore was so much fun.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. The cabin in front of the pool has a beautiful view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Jim's cabins are a perfect spot to unwind and enjoy the sunset. From his beachfront property, I was lucky enough to catch the rising of a crimson full moon after the sun went down on a warm night in February. It was absolutely breathtaking. That night I went to sleep to the sound of waves crashing and crickets signing. Not only is the Howler Monkey Hotel a quiet oasis, but it's also in a central and convenient location to explore the Cobo Blanco National Park, Cemetery Island, Montezuma and Playa Carmen.

Jim was a great host. I arrived exhausted, from a 5 hour hike through Cobo Blanco, and Jim was there to greet me. Within seconds I was relaxing with a cold beer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for a couple of nights and I was so chilled that I stayed on a couple of extra nights while my bro head back to Bejuco. It was a good move to be a few km out of Montezuma but a nice cycle ride on Jims "top of the range" bikes ;) which took about half an hour. Remind him to give you lights though or bring a head torch for the ride back! The cemetery island is worth a walk out to and on Jim's recommendation, the waterfall, just a 15 min walk away, is a top way of spending the afternoon watching swimming lizards and bathing in the jacuzzi pools. The cabina kitchen is also a nice touch and with fresh fish coming in a few yards up the beach it's silly not to have a night off from eating out (although there are plenty of places to eat out locally and cheaper than anywhere else we had visited in Costa Rica).
We loved this place and Jim, Roxanna and Sparky have made themselves a little paradise here. Thanks so much for sharing it. We will be back! xx

Room Tip: The cabina by the pool has the best ocean view and comes with personal security by way of Sparky and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and two kids stayed here for a week at the end of June. We appreciated being a little removed from Montezuma. The town of Cabuya was more our speed. We watched the fishermen come in, played soccer with the kids on the local field, made friends with the old men at the local bar... all the small town experiences that would have been missed in Montezuma. However, it was only a ten minute drive to get to for the restaurants, surfing and so on.

The kitchen in the house was phenomenal and saved us a lot of money! It was great fun to try to cook local dishes. The pool was perfect, as it gets dark around 6pm, this gave the kids something to do until bed time.

Jim was great, offered a ton of great advice and tips. And the monkeys... the monkeys made our stay! They came by the dozens every single day. They often hung out for an hour or two! Very cool.

Room Tip: Ask for the house directly infront of the pool. It is really the only one with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya
Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located only a couple metres away from the beach and near the beautiful Cementry Island of Cabuya. There is a market and a few restaurants within short walking distance. We offer four Cabanas with oceanview, private bathrooms with hot water shower, private kitchen, fans and nice patios with hammocks. There is also a wheelchair accessable disability suite available with airconditioning and an on suite bathroom. All rooms are situated around the refreshing pool.For our guests we provide free wifi and a washing machine, snorkel gear, fishing poles, spear guns, kayaks, surfboard and bicycles. You can also rent quads from us for a discounted rate. Enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through our garden to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howler Monkey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.