We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back to paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Caracoles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabuya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Caracoles
100 meters South Cabo Blanco Hotel | 3rd Entrance on Left Wooden Gate With Tiled Sign, Cabuya, Montezuma 61111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to get back to paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Thanksgiving week 2012. After looking at this rental for a year or so, we finally decided to book it. We could not have been more pleased with the experience. Fiona (owner) and Melissa (housekeeper) were more than helpful throughout the experience. The house is a stone's throw from the beach and is the perfect setting for a truly local experience. The home offers the feeling of seclusion, while being close enough to Montezuma to offer more of a tourist feel (if that's what you're into). We preferred the local vibe in Cabuya, a fishing village within walking distance of the house. Several restaurants and grocery stores are available here to accommodate most of your needs. We also rented an ATV for the week, which made travel along the gravel roads much easier. The house itself is made of local hardwoods and is surrounded by lush vegetation. There is a fire pit that can be used as a grill, several hammocks and a treehouse for the kids. We awoke each morning to the sound of waves and monkeys and were able to view the most amazing sunrises just a few feet from the house. As for things to do (if you can pull yourself away from the hammock) the options are numerous and quite affordable. We went into Cabo Blanco National Forest, swam in a nearby river, went fishing with Barnaby, a local fisherman just a couple of driveways from the house, zip lined, and traveled to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, which are surfing hot spots with amazing beaches just a few miles away. The locals are extremely nice and accommodating. We made several local friends during the stay that were very helpful and welcoming. Words can't express what an amazing trip this was. We will definitely be back to visit again. Thanks, Fiona for the opportunity to share in the Pura Vida lifestyle.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

It was a dream of a vacation and we found Los Caracoles to be a rustic and even primitive place of paradise near the cape of the Nicoya, Cabo Blanco Reserve and the island cemetery of Cabuya. The open air feel of the cabina made you at once feel in tune with the jungle and the dramatic changing tides of the sea.
We were lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the waves and surf and awoke each morning to bird calls and the howler monkeys nearby. We had an ocean view from the bedroom and the most comfortable bed in Costa Rica. The beach is steps away, the tide changes were incredible and the scenery rugged and beautiful. Sunrise is not to be missed.
We walked to and snorkeled out near the cemetery island with two of the three “companion” dogs that joined us at our cabina for the duration of our stay. It is not uncommon in Costa Rica for dogs to befriend you and serve as a guide, companion and guardian. This has been our experience on the Caribbean as well.
Fiona included a couple of bikes with our stay, making for an easy ride back and forth to Cabuya for groceries and a bite to eat, or to the Cabo Blanco Reserve a bit further down the road.
Melissa, the caretaker and her husband were available for a taxi ride if needed to Montezuma.
We prepared some great meals with local produce in our cabina kitchen and ate at the local Rest’s and rancho’s, when you could find them open and had some of the best food yet in Costa Rica. Also Marco at Hotel Celaje was a good one for some conversation and local information. A nice menu with daily specials and a couple of drinks at the hotel bar will get you an inviting and much needed cool dip in the pool.
The beach to Montezuma is only possible to walk at low tide, but is worth walking even a fair stretch if not all the way. If you are without car there is still much to do and see near Los Caracoles. Wildlife is abundant, the climate is wonderful, the accommodations are comfortable, the pace is slow and relaxing, food is great and souvinir’s are authentic and local.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We absolutely loved this place. Located along a quiet road within walking distance to Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve and close enough -- but not too close -- to the action in Montezuma. The rancho is simple but comfortable. Simple kitchen area and a "front room" that's open to nature on three sides with a roof over it to keep out the rain. You can enclose yourself inside four walls in the bedroom, but we left the trifold doors open all night and watched the sun rise over the ocean from the comfort of bed in the morning. Most afternoons we lounged on hammocks with a book, occasionally interrupting our reading to watch a friendly iguana rooting around the yard, a troop of howler monkeys eating flowers in one of trees in the yard, or simply to gaze at the ocean. There are literally scores of outside things to do within walking distance: swimming in the ocean; laying on the pebble & sand beach; hiking up the river and relaxing in natural whirlpools; hiking in Cabo Blanco; or walking out to Cabuya Island to snorkel off the shore or tour the cemetery. There are good, simple restaurants nearby for lunch or dinner, or for more elegant meals or nightlife you can easily get to Montezuma.

The rancho is clean and bright, and the caretaker provided helpful information about things to do in the area and how to arrange activities. The yard is well maintained and planted tastefully in native vegetation.

It can't be beat if what you want is simple but comfortable accomodations that bring the outdoors in, provide the opportunity to relax and decompress, and to experience some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010 via mobile

What a treasure of a place this is! Tucked away just off a palm fringed beach and set in a beautiful clearing beneath coconut trees you would never know it's there! Simply heaven. Just a stone's throw from Cabuya and a short bus ride or reasonable walk from the buzz of Montezuma you are surrounded by nature at its best. Howler monkeys in the trees, butterflies and beautiful birds make it a nature lovers paradise.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers,Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Had the best vacation ever! Felt very safe and secure with everything. Place even came with a dog that went with on walks down the beach! And made sure strangers didn't get too close. Butterflies and howler monkeys, lots of beautiful scenery. Recommend ATV rental in Mai paice? Caboya bakery is the best deal for meals. Better than cooking at home!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Caracoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Caracoles

Address: 100 meters South Cabo Blanco Hotel | 3rd Entrance on Left Wooden Gate With Tiled Sign, Cabuya, Montezuma 61111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Caracoles is a unique Estate Property situated directly on the Beach between the lively town of Montezuma, and the fishing village of Cabuya. Available for groups up to 10 Guests. The 3 bedroom Main House and the 1 bedroom Cabina are set in a Tropical Garden that insures Privacy. This amazing Property is close to everything while still feeling like it is a World away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Caracoles Costa Rica/Cabuya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Caracoles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Caracoles to your Saves list