We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Inn Semporna

City Inn Semporna
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Inn Semporna to your Saves list
City Inn Semporna
Lot 2,Block K | Bangunan Hing Loong, Semporna 91307, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed there for one night. Aircon was loud and hardly working, dogs barking and the locals love to speed on the road just outside at 3am. Price is cheap but so is the whole hotel. Front desk however very friendly and willing to help. Also location is inconvenient as it takes 10 min walk to the dive centers. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

The hotel in general is quite good by the price, but the last day my mobile phone was stolen in my room, while I was outside. I suppose is my fault, because in the room a page say clearly that no valuables objects must be left inside... the most strange thing is that my Digital Reflex Camera (and my friend's camera too) were in the room too and it weren't stolen.
I ask in receptien, but they aswer me that they didn't know nothing about this.
The area of the hotel is just ten minutes from the recreational area to go for diving, but the way is horrible, with rats and people doesn't look very friendly. Very near from the hotel always had children looking for inside the rubbish. I think is better to stay in another places, and I think the best is Mabul Resort (Scuba Junkie, but not Scuba Junkie in Semporna, that everybody say that is nos a good place).

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Österreich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed in City Inn for two nights. Good thing was that the room was clean, airconditioned and that there was a hot shower. Bad thing was that it was very noisy. It was close to a karaoke bar, so you heard this guys all the time, you hear the road in the morning and the hotel staff is very loud when cleaning.
There was also quite cheap internet and you could buy cold drinks. The hotel is situated close to the bus station (5 min walk) but center is a bit farther away and for me confusing to find...
All in all we had a pleasant stay there, but we didn't like Semporna itself and we were very unhappy about the diveshop we booked our trip to Sipadan. We booked with Sipadan Scuba, and they just changed the destination after booking, so we couldn't go to Sipadan island for diving.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I were traveling with a friend and we ended up staying at this place 3 different times for one night each time. The staff let us check in early as long as the room was ready, which they always were. The hotel was a little older but it still felt clean.

The first night we had the quad room (80 ringgits per night) which was very spacious and the beds were comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and the rooms had a/c. There was a tv in the room and the bathroom was actually pretty good. The light did take a while to shine at full force though, it's like it had to warm up. The place was pretty quiet and it was up near the grocery store.

I stayed by myself one night in a double room (50 ringgits) and it wasn't as great as the larger rooms but still comfortable with a smaller air conditioner. There was a tv and the bed was good in that room.

We came back through for one more night and that time we had the triple room (70 ringgits) which was very similar to the quad. There was free wireless internet in the lobby and the computers that they had there weren't overly expensive anyways.

The town itself doesn't have a lot going on and if you don't have to stop over here, I wouldn't say that much would be missed. There are good eats at Lee's resthouse and the Sipadan Cafe. We came up to the City Inn the first time after a terrible experience at the Scuba Junkie hostel and we can't say enough how much the few extra ringgits are really worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised. RM50 for a very clean double room (top and bottom sheet) with air-con, attached bathroom with hot shower, TV, drinking water and shampoo. Internet downstairs reasonable speed RM3/hour. Away from the backpacker strip, but only 5 mins walk. Large supermarket 50m away. Bus and mini bus stations also very very close.
This was definitely the best place we stayed at in Sabah!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Was pleasantly surprised by City Inn. Was very clean - sheets smelt lovely. Room a bit dated but actually had a wardrobe! Air con, fan, TV, very comfortable bed. Complimentary drinking water, soap and shampoo sachets. Would definately stay here again. Excellent value at £9 for a double room

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I have been staying here for a 4 nights now, the staff are friendly and helpful, the place is very clean, rooms cleaned each day, clean towels & sheets,has AC & even TV, limited but Star Movies for the day you need a rest from diving. Shower ok not the best water pessure, hot & cold water, but want do you want for the price. Has internet access, only 10 mins from the dive shops. You can arrange long term accomodation for a real bargain, nightly it has been 50.00 MYR (15.3127 USD). No breakfast but there are heaps of cheap places around with both local & western food, 2 bakeries & great street stalls, bbq etc as well.
All in all you can't go wrong

  • Liked — Cleanliness & friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Walking up the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Inn Semporna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Semporna

Address: Lot 2,Block K | Bangunan Hing Loong, Semporna 91307, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City Inn Semporna - The best budget accommodation hotel room guesthouse located in the center of Semporna town, the gateway to Sipadan Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your City Inn Semporna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Semporna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Inn Semporna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.