We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly service and good food, reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mabul Cafe

Mabul Cafe
Ocean Drive, Semporna, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Semporna
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very friendly service and good food, reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We've tried their Mabul Special and Sipidan Special. Both very yummy and price was reasonable. The owner / manager was very friendly and cheerful. Wifi was very good, and if you are not getting a good connection elsewhere in Semporna, I'd definitely suggest you to visit Mabul Cafe.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    11
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarawak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dont go if you're super hungry or super in rush”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

While the food is okay, time waiting is not. You could wait for ages before your food is served. Not unless you're in hurry, find elsewhere to dine.

However, its curry fish head and juices are to die for. Location is fine too. Price wise, affordable i can say..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shark fin!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I'll repeat what a previous reviewer wrote.. This place seems to serve shark fin soup, it's still on the menu!

It's a disgrace to serve that, don't support it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appalling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ordered salmon with fries, the fries came within about 10mins but an hour later I was still waiting for the salmon, despite having asked twice where it was & being told 'soon'. At this point I just paid for the fries & left. The table behind me had the same problem where by only half their meal ever turned up. Also I had to go to the counter to get the menu, order & pay, no table service at all for Westerners although the staff were more than happy to be attentive to the groups of locals. On the plus side the fruit juices were huge & cheap, so maybe just go here for a drink & eat elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“shark fin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

they serve shark fin soup at least they do have shark fin soup on the menu! Hopefully they will take it away!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabul Cafe also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Mabul Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabul Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.